We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Marcel at Gramercy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #186 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marcel at Gramercy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Pleasant stay. This is our third stay at the Gramercy and will return. Staff very helpful and friendly. Great value for NYC. Our son lives in the area and this is the best hotel we have found for quality and price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Roland G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,116
    905
    329
    154
    121
See reviews for
396
1,061
230
508
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We are frequent travelers to NYC as well as all over the world. I classify this as a boutique hotel with fewer rooms and fewer amenities than a larger chain. The room was comfortable, bright, clean and everything was as pictured in the photos. The staff was helpful and the location was excellent for us. Approximately 2 blocks from Gramercy Park, walking distance to Union Square and NYU/Washington Square. HIghly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great location. Great food and bars blocks away. I would stay here again. Rooms are small but you only sleep there. City noise can be an issue but earplugs provided. Guest lounge was very homey feeling and had a great view of the Empire State building!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had a decent stay at The Marcel for a quick weekend trip. It was very expensive for what you get, but all hotels in the heart of Manhattan were very pricey (more so than normal) that weekend for whatever reason, so relatively speaking it was one of the better priced ones. Every time we are in Manhattan we try to stay in a new area and check it out. I really like the location of this hotel. Not far from the subway, and in an area that has a lot to offer yet isn't very touristy. I loved it that we were within walking distance of the Union Square Greenmarket and Madison Square Park. The hotel is just off 3rd Avenue, which has many bars and restaurants.The hotel itself has sort of modern/boutique decor. The common areas are very nice. One of the best parts was the roof top lounge with good views. The room was comfortable enough, but as other reviewers have said, pretty small. We knew that going in though so we were prepared. It was clean, had a decent shower, a comfortable bed, and importantly, no street noise that we could hear, so we were able to sleep in. We had no problems with the staff, they were very nice and accomodating. We tried to check in early but the room wasn't ready. Since we didn't arrange that prior, it was not a problem, we were just hoping to get lucky. We dropped off our bags and went out exploring. They took our cell phone # and called us as soon as the room was ready. All in all it was a good stay, I would stay again if the price isn't too painful (you never know with Manhattan).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenC-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narberth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Rooms were unbearably hot and dry with no way to regulate temp. Worst night sleep of my life. Pull out bed for the kids had springs digging in to your back. Very expensive. Would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

Please accept my sincere apology for any discomfort you and you family experienced while staying with us.

If you would like to discuss further please feel free to contact me at nsullivan@amsterdamhospitality.com


Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is an excellent hotel, quiet with an outgoing, relaxed, friendly staff. The rooms are comfortable, attractive and stylish if lacking storage space for unloading clothing from suitcases. The lounge is very comfortable and pleasant and the breakfast sufficient and made especially pleasant by the surroundings. Only blip is not being able to make tea or coffee in the room after 10:30 PM when the lounge closes. But overall this hotel has the ambience of a much more expensive hotel at a reasonable price for New York City.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox, Oregon
Level Contributor
213 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We love the Gramercy Park location of this hotel-- close to restaurants, shopping, public transportation.

The hotel itself is very nice and well kept. We both liked the style and decor utilized throughout, and staff was quite friendly and helpful.

Our room, however attractive and efficient, really was quite small. We were able to get by, but it was a tight fit. Also, our room was right next to the elevator which was quite noisy at times. Next time we'll stay in a different room.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevator rooms! We were in 610, and wish we'd been in another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate the time you took to inform us of your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#246 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,107 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#62 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#156 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,284 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#71 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#182 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Property: The Marcel at Gramercy
Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in New York City
#130 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#141 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our perfect location in historic Gramercy District offers easy access to public transportation and major airports. Within arms reach are the hip neighborhoods of the East Village and Lower East Side, Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Baruch College, the Empire State and Flatiron buildings, and Union Square. Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and Chelsea areas are just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing