We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marcel at Gamercy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #167 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Lynchburg, Virginia, Usa
1 review
“Marcel at Gamercy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Overall good bargain for NY stay. Room was very warm. We had to keep the window open the entire time. Staff very helpful!
Internet was an extra charge and no coffee in room or front lobby.
Location was great

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor!

I am so glad to hear that your team was helpful to you, I am sorry that you were unable to take advantage of our complimentary coffee in our guest lounge.

We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,225
    949
    341
    159
    122
See reviews for
433
1,116
248
545
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Our wedding weekend at the Marcel was wonderful. We had an excellent group rate, and thank Yogini and Jae in group reservations for all their help. Between the two families we had 14 rooms and we were all highly satisfied. The rooms were pleasant and the staff most helpful. We made very good use of the guest lounge and found the hotel to be well located. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor! We enjoyed hosting your wedding party and we hope that we made your wedding weekend a bit more special!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience!

We hope to see you soon and once again Congratulations!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Loved the Marcel, the staff were super helpful with everything from booking cars and tickets to confirming reservations for us. The location was also really good, we basically walked to midtown Manhattan most days and enjoyed the variety of cafes and restaurants on the way. The subway is also about 5 minutes away which is a bonus if you want to avoid walking too much. The room was great, a bit small but we weren't expecting anything big in New York. The bathroom was clean and the shower was amazing, not sure why other people had problems with the hot water, ours was powerful and a great temperature. The air conditioner/heater could get a bit noisy at times of the night but that's probably the only negative I could find (and this didn't affect my sleep at all, but it did my boyfriend a little bit)
I would happily stay at the Marcel again and would recommend it to anyone I know!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yocosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your experience on TripAdvisor! We appreciate you taking the time to post your review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope that we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is not the place for a quiet nights sleep. The windows were terrible in that all the sound and most of the wind got through. There was a cold breeze and loud noises all night. We complained and were moved to another room with identical windows. The internal room we then got was much quiter but tiny compared to the high price we paid. Even that room had a small window in the corner which gave a cold breeze.

The location is good but the area is without character or anything of perticular interest.

The staff are helpful and gave us good service.

There must be better alternatives at this price, even in Midtown!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank osloaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, I am very pleased to learn that our staff was accommodating to you.

Please accept my apology for the inconveniences you experienced while staying with us.

Please always ensure to make us aware and we will do our best to resolve any challenges you have during your stay.

Thank you again for your feedback!

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purchase, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

When we arrived we had to search the lobby twice for a bellman to help us park our car. Then we discovered that our room's air handler was broken ( no air flow, no cooling) and it was not fixed for our entire weekend stay. The only way we got moving or cool air was by opening the window - not my first choice on a busy NY street. The final straw was management's complete inability to understand or fix the problem. We will never stay at the Marcel again - there are far better choices in the City.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

I just held a wedding weekend in NYC and a large number of our guests stayed here. Jae in group reservations was amazing. The location is perfect (great breakfast place around the corner) - it is close to everything. We reserved the Junior Suite and it was everything we needed.The bathroom is a little small but that would be my only negative. Upon arrival, the hotel had sent up complimentary cupcakes and red wine. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms are bigger then others so ask when you are making your reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KO2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!

We are so pleased to have contributed to your fantastic wedding weekend!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback.

Congratulations, once again and we hope to see again soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palisades
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

should include breakfast, bed was broken down in room 401.xxxxxxxxxx. I am upset I am upset I am upset Iam upset I am upset and tired and upset and angry and do not want to write anymore but want you to get it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor!

I am very disappointed to learn of the challenges you experienced while staying with us. Please accept my sincere apology for the issues you encountered.

I would love to discuss the matter more, please contact me at nsullivan@amsterdamhospitality.com.

Thank you again

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,677 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#250 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,327 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Property: The Marcel at Gramercy
Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in New York City
#123 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#141 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our perfect location in historic Gramercy District offers easy access to public transportation and major airports. Within arms reach are the hip neighborhoods of the East Village and Lower East Side, Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Baruch College, the Empire State and Flatiron buildings, and Union Square. Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and Chelsea areas are just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing