We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but small room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #136 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed here in November 2013 and thought that the service was great, the room was nice and clean and the location was very good but the room was very small. The receptionists were keen to help to recommend local places for breakfast and dinner. It's a short walk to Union Square and even shorter to the nearest subway station

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you so much for posting a review of your recent stay at The Marcel!

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do have many different room types and sizes-please always inform us if unhappy with the size of your room and we will do our best to accommodate!

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon!

Thanks again for taking the time to share you experience with us!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,844 - 1,850 of 3,163 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

I always stay at the Marcel because my son lives on the same block. Such a great location for me! Lots of restaurants nearby that are really nice, but not so posh as to be unwelcoming.
This time I happened to get a much smaller room than previous stays at the Marcel. The rooms are not standardized in size or shape. Wish I'd been assertive about asking for a different room, for a 3-night stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room 309 (and presumably the -09 room on other floors too). Hotel Marcel's own website sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you so much for posting your experience on TripAdvisor!

I am disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay due to the size of the room. We do offer many different room sizes for every budget and recommend reserving a room one category up for future stays.

Thank you for staying with us once again and we hope to see you soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Hi all

I found a great rate on ratestogo.com and booked this hotel for our trip. We arrived around 9pm, and checked in within a few minutes. The clerk was lovely and very helpful, we were hungry and the recommended a great selection of takeaways that would deliver or we could walk to.

Our room was on the 3rd floor, no view but it was very clean and modern. The bathroom had a bathe with shower over, lovely toiletries and was very clean.

The bed was a little smaller than what im used to but was still fine and very comfortable.

Rooms were cleaned every morning. The lobby and front of the hotel are very welcoming and I can't fault the staff nor the rooms, it was a lovely hotel.

The location is good too, a 5-8 minute walk from the subway and plenty of shops restaurants and bars around.

You can get a great breakfast at the Lyric Diner, a 5 minute walk away.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

Rosie

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review!

We appreciate you taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Another great trip to the city. The front desk staff, Lindsay & Brittany and Danny are so great, and helpful. I look forward to returning every year. This is definetly my hotel of choice. I love the location and walking is easy to wherever I want to go.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MN0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor!

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the great service from our team. Thank you for mentioning our teammembers, we will be sure they are aware of your wonderful comments.

We appreciate you taking the time to share you experience and we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

The room is small, good location, the reception was nice, overall not bad, maybe overrated...
The place is clean, good amenities in the bathroom, although there is no window.
The place is a bit formal, very dark. The stay would have been good if the room had not been soooo small, no place to hang clothes and i could not move without hitting the edge of the bed

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank isablubelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay on TripAdvisor!

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay but disappointed that you found our rooms to be too small. We do offer a variety of room size choices for every budget. It is important to us that our guests' are comfortable so always inform us of any challenges while staying with us and we will do our very best to accommodate!

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I feel like I'm becoming a bit of an ad man for the Marcel. We've stayed here for the same couple of weeks on a number of occasions now, I think that says it all.

We arrived on August 25th after flying in from Chicago. After landing at La Guardia, I was immediately in a foul mood as my luggage was still in Chicago. I was so annoyed on the taxi on the way in that I didn't take anything in, how immature. We pull up to the Marcel and head for reception.

Immediately Lynsey from the hotel changes my mood. We had been given a complimentary upgrade and she promised to do whatever she could in terms of my missing luggage. Customer service that is way above and beyond and is the main reason we come back here every year.

From the doormen to the front of house staff, to the janitors to the maids, no one has anything but a smile on your face and are always asking after you. Not to put any visitors off but that doesn't always happen in Scotland.

The room was great, as always. The bed is comfortable, the shower and bath is more than adequate and nothing is too much trouble for the staff should you need anything.

There is an HSBC across the road, a Duane Reade around the corner and there are a couple of lovely little delis nearby. For great food, drinks and service, check out Banc, six blocks up on 30th and 3rd. Have the jalapeño margarita and tell them that Sam sent you.

It was with a heavy heart we left but we'll return next year, that's for sure.

Just last month for the first time, someone that I recommended the hotel to, booked it. My Dad and his wife stayed there and were equally blown away by the customer service and all round experience that they had. It was their first time in New York and so I thought I'd call the hotel and pay for a bottle of wine to be delivered to the room, I wanted them to know that we were thinking of them. I called, explaining that I'd just returned home from the hotel recently and what it was that I wanted to do.

I was told the hotel were taking no money from me and that wine would be in their room that evening for their return. How box office is that?

Kindness and gestures like that blow me away and you'll forgive me if the next review of mine you see after a New York stay is that of The Marcel at Gramercy.

Book it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor not facing Third. You'll still be able to see the Empire State...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamMAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your loyalty to us and for always sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!

I am very pleased to hear that your stays keep getting better and we are very proud of the consistent personalized service our team offers our guests.

I am also glad to hear that your parents enjoyed their stay as well, thank you for recommending us!

We hope we are able to welcome you back once again very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I would give this hotel and Excellent rating, but I reserve that for grand 5 star hotels that live up to their reputation. That said, this hotel delivered more than expected for a European style boutique hotel. The decor is glamorous and contemporary. You will "feel like you're in New York." There is no restaurant, but with the incredible location and delivery options, that doesn't matter here one bit. It was my first time staying in this neighborhood, and now I prefer it to the others I have gotten to know. There is, however, a lovely guest lounge on the tenth floor with a simple help yourself breakfast and an office lounge as well. This space opens up to an amazing rooftop deck with, planters, lounge chairs and incredible views of the surrounding Cityscape, including the Empire State building. The perfect place to unwind at night with a glass of wine after a busy day in the city. Best of all, was the hotel's customer service. I have stayed in a lot of NYC hotels and I lived in Manhattan for five years, so I have a pretty good grasp on what is the "norm"...the staff at The Marcel is by far the friendliest and most accommodating of any hotel I have stayed. Especially the front desk manager, Lindsay.

Room Tip: A couple tips: the smaller rooms are small, the larger rooms are quite roomy. So opt for a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leure82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you so much for posting such a delightful review!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#42 of 469 in New York City
698 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#59 of 469 in New York City
2,382 reviews
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#243 of 469 in New York City
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#88 of 469 in New York City
1,462 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#41 of 469 in New York City
542 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#221 of 469 in New York City
3,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#136 Family Hotel in New York City
#139 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $153 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the historic and exclusive Gramercy Park, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel is far enough away from the bustle of Midtown Manhattan, but within walking distance to many of NYC’s most exciting neighborhoods. Take a break and stroll through our nearby neighborhoods; Gramercy Park, East Village, Chelsea, and SoHo. Find boutique amenities throughout each of the 136 guest rooms at this Manhattan hotel. The hotel features a 10th floor business lounge with free WiFi, TV, coffee and tea service along with a rooftop terrace with lounge chairs for relaxing and sun bathing while basking in the view of the Empire State Building. Whether your stay is for business or leisure, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel offers everything you’ll need for an enjoyable stay in Manhattan. Come stay with us while you discover all that NYC has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing