We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marcel at Gramercy
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$162
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of $186/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$139
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$197
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$207
$200
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Bentley Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$215
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$189
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$139
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (3,579)
Filter reviews
3,579 results
Traveler rating
1,738
1,129
400
180
132
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,738
1,129
400
180
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest loungefloor loungenew yorkmadison square parktenth floorthe empire state buildingroof terraceboutique hotelfree coffeean upgradebigger roomrooms are smallfew blockscontinental breakfaststreet noisecorner roomaround the corner
Filter
Updating list...
2,214 - 2,219 of 3,579 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

It's not a place I'd have picked through choice, but we got a great deal on Hotwire for this room.

The exterior of the hotel is understated, no big hotel sign, and the lobby is retro / gauchy. One of the mirrors by the elevator was smashed when we were there

We were on the 2nd floor, right by the elevator. The street noise wasn't too bad. The bedroom was very small, no cupboard for luggage. Precious space was taken up by a rack of candy and chips for sale at a big mark up, as well as a tiny botttle of water with a $5 price tag. No mini bar. The bed was soft but comfy and the room was clean. Older flatscreen TV with cable and an iPod docking station that we couldn't get to work.

The bathroom was a decent size relative to the room, and it actually had a tub. No complaints there.

I think the rooms are of different sizes, so you could ask what is available when you check in. The higher floors are preferable if you are sensitive to street noise.

There was no restaurant or facilities like a gym or pool - although they have a deal where you can use nearby New York Sports Clubs for $10. Plenty of restaurants nearby, some with delivery options. Bagel Express, Dunkin Donuts, 7-11, liquor store, and Duane Reade all within a couple of blocks. Curry Hill, with around 25 Indian restaurants, is just a short walk up Lex.

Best thing about this hotel is the roof deck, which has a fantastic view of the Empire State Building. Shame there are no heat lamps, it would be a great place to hang out year-round if it were warmer.

I saw the breakfast - definitely not worth it, unless you want to splurge and enjoy the view. It works out around $15 with tax and there's nothing cooked.

No coffee or tea maker in the room but there is a Kirurg machine upstairs. You can make coffee and take it to your room.

They have a wine reception each evening from 5-7pm with free wine. It's a good way to meet other guests but we didn't care for the wine.

Basically this is a solid 3 star hotel, which appears to model itself on a Kimpton, but with smaller rooms. The area is a great plus - this is real New York, not the tourist hell that is Times Square. But it's a short walk or train ride to everywhere, including the East River Ferry on 34th St. A good place to stay if you're not planning on spending a lot of time in the hotel.

Room Tip: probably rooms on 25th St are quieter than those on 3rd
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry2837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Deary Harry2837,

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property! Our rooms do vary greatly in size based on the type of room booked. We agree that our location is fantastic and we love of our 10th floor lounge as well. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

...in a good way. Clean, efficient.compact. Room and bathroom were small, but not too small. Shower was of French variety. I had no problem with noise, but they supply you with earplugs just in case. Great location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BorgoBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear BorgoBear,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you sharing your thoughts! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel. The staff were so serviceminded and helpful! (Danny and Chris) We got upgraded to a better room at arrival as we stayed 5 nigths. We also got free wifi in the hotel. The area was so nice and it is a short walk to union square, greenwich village and a lot of nice restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Mette S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your kind words! We think our staff is pretty awesome as well and appreciate your recognition! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Manhattan hotels are always going to be a mixed bag. Either you pay through the nose for a truly excellent stay or you go down the price chain and try to find a place that doesn't trade off too many amenities to keep costs down. The Marcel was definitely a move down the price chain for me, and while I had a decent stay, I think I'll choose somewhere else next time.

First, the positives. I was in Manhattan for work, and the location was very good. A short walk to the 6 subway, which takes you both down to Wall Street or up to the Upper East Side. Also, close to Penn Station for those who arrive to Manhattan via Amtrak. Another plus was the lobby's decor. Felt like a hip boutique hotel right in the heart of Manhattan.

The biggest plus was the service. Front desk always friendly and charming, and doormen went out of their way to be helpful, taking my bags, flagging down taxis, etc. I asked for help at all hours of the day and night (arrived very late on the night of my arrival, for instance) so was able to see several different shifts in action. All were universally excellent.

A close runner-up in the plus column was the price. When I booked, it was relatively cheap and I felt I got a pretty good deal compared to other hotels in the area.

Still, there were enough niggling problems that will probably have me trying someplace else next time. As others have mentioned, the street noise is pretty bad, particularly if your room looks out onto 7th Avenue, which mine did. The hotel even provides earplugs...never a good sign when you walk into your room.

More problematically, although the decor gave the room the veneer of style, it was clear there had not been the kind of extensive renovations needed to make the hotel a repeat visit for me. The bathroom in particular had old-ish fittings which were in need of a thorough upgrade. Everything was in working order, but for a hotel attempting to sell itself as a modern, hip place to stay, it was a significant disappointment.

All in all, some very strong postiives but enough rough edges to make me think twice about coming back. If the price is right (as it was when I stayed) it's worth considering, but I think I'd try elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms looking out over 7th Avenue. 24th Street is much quieter, and traffic noise can be an issue.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CapitalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear CapitalTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your commentary. Unfortunately there is not much we can do regarding NYC traffic though we do try our best to make sure all of our guests enjoy their stay. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The staff was quite friendly and the room was nice, albeit small. The location is relatively quite area, but noise from the street was still audible. Although my experience could have been better, it is still a good value for NYC and I would stay here again on a future trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Todd J,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post about your experience! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews