We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean , helpful staff, modern, nice balcony lounge , overall great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #160 of 468 Hotels in New York City
2 reviews
“Very clean , helpful staff, modern, nice balcony lounge , overall great experience!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel on hotel tonight app, definitely will use it again. The staff was extremely helpful and professional for a hotel of this size. The rooms were immaculate, and the upstairs business/ guest lounge was very refreshing for being in the city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adkfoodchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Adkfoodchic,

Thanks so much for such a lovely review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will book directly with us in the future! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,314
    1,002
    356
    162
    125
See reviews for
473
1,167
259
578
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Booked through Jetsetter for four nights. I read a lot of the reviews before confirming and have to say we were satisfied with the hotel, the service and the location. We arrived at the hotel early and the room was not ready but we knew we risked that. We were told we were given a room on a high floor as requested and that we were upgraded. We left our luggage amd was told we would be called when the room was ready.

Our stay was good. The room was a decent size (for Manhattan), clean and we had a great view of the Empire State Building from our room. The staff was nice and helpful.

Yes, there was some street noise at night (sirens) but that is New York and nothing the hotel has control over.

Overall no complaints and satisified with what we got for the money spent.

Helpful?
Thank LookingForAnOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear LookingForAnOdyssey,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at the Marcel for 10 nights in August while on business in Manhattan. The rooms were average size for a manhattan hotel. The modern design motif was kitschy and fun. I stayed in 3 different rooms over 3 weeks. The first was on the 3rd floor facing 3rd avenue. Street noise was unbearable. 3rd avenue is a 2 way street and was constantly trafficked by garbage trucks and ambulances. Request a higher floor (above 6) or an interior room.

The 2nd room was on the 5th floor facing 3rd avenue. Still noisy, but better. This room required that you place your keycard in a slot on the wall for anything electric to work in the room, including the air conditioner. My first night I didn't check in until after 9:00 at night, the room was 80 degrees and the AC was struggling to lower it. Luckily, I had 2 keycards, so I left one in the slot and lowered the thermostat to 68. I went out to get a bite to eat and when I returned an hour later, it was still 78 degrees and humid. Sometime overnight it got as low as 70, but never got to the set 68. The bathroom was weird in this room as well. It had a half glass wall for the shower and in order to get in and out of the tub you had to step into a 12 inch space between the toilet and the tub. Very awkward.

Overall, the rooms were pretty clean. Not spotless, but clean. The linens were crisp. The towels were soft and white.

The 3rd room was the best. It was on the 10th floor, interior, not facing any street. Stone quiet and huge.
My main complaint about this hotel is lack of a fitness center. You can pay $10 as a guest at NYHRC about a block away.
3rd ave. has many restaurants and bars to hang out in, as does 23rd street. Overall it's a pretty fantastic location. It's close to Midtown, Gramercy, the Village, and the Flatiron/Chelsea sections
of Manhattan and would make a great base for tourists.

Room Tip: Request interior rooms or higher floors if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StoneSouped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear StoneSouped,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your feedback! We strive to make each guests' experience better than the last and hope that you will stay with us again in the future to see our continued improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our six-night stay on the 6th floor (room 604 facing 3rd Avenue) was outstanding. Everything and everyone there accomodated our needs perfectly. Street noise was non-problematic. Modern motif throughout was refreshing with an overall elegant ambiance. Rooftop lounge area, including free wine/snacks, was finished nicely with plenty of comfortable seating and skyline views, including that of the Empire State Building and surrounding area. Will definitely return in the future!

Room Tip: A room with a king-sized bed should be spacious enough for two people (considering NY standards).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blink101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Blink101,

Thank you! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with others. We think we're in a pretty great location as well and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was thrilled with the location of his hotel. My daughter's dorm is so close I can see her building's front door from the front door of The Marcel. I couldn't have asked for more! The room was plenty big and very clean. I like the contemporary decor and fresh feeling from the moment you walk through the doors. The staff was very friendly and helpful and it's such a nice touch to have a lounge area available with computers, coffee, and tea all day. I loved our view of the Empire State Building. I will not stay anywhere else now!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear sdshopper,

Thank you so much for such a great review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are thrilled that our location is so accommodating to your needs! We look forward to seeing you often in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville,NewYork
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our daughter booked us a room for two nights as a gift for our 40th anniversary. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Our room was small but very efficent as well as being clean and comfortable with everything you would need for an enjoyable stay. The location was very conveinent to everything. Thank you for making a special occasion memorable. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnC419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear JohnC419,

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary and appreciate your daughter choosing us to help you celebrate! We hope the Marcel will become a home away from home for you - both for special occasions and everyday visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We hit the jackpot with this hotel! It was clean and close to the Metro and the bus. We loved the 10th floor both inside and out. The view of NYC was amazing...Empire State building and the Chrysler building. It was so nice to have coffee/tea, water available all day. The lounge was spacious and the computers were always available.
The staff were efficient and friendly. There was never a question they could not answer. We were sent on our way with friendly smile and greeted each evening when we arrived back at the hotel. The staff seemed to be magic, if we requested ice...it was there before we hung up the phone. Very accommodating. Well Done! This hotel will be our choice should be return to New York. Thanks for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: High rooms have great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winston52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear winston52,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we think our staff is pretty incredible as well! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#32 of 468 in New York City
649 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#140 of 468 in New York City
4,969 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#49 of 468 in New York City
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#247 of 468 in New York City
3,529 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#88 of 468 in New York City
1,418 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#78 of 468 in New York City
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Property: The Marcel at Gramercy
Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Business Hotel in New York City
#121 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#140 Family Hotel in New York City
#142 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our perfect location in historic Gramercy District offers easy access to public transportation and major airports. Within arms reach are the hip neighborhoods of the East Village and Lower East Side, Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Baruch College, the Empire State and Flatiron buildings, and Union Square. Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and Chelsea areas are just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing