We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, awesome service, fantastic room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #160 of 468 Hotels in New York City
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Perfect location, awesome service, fantastic room!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was thrilled with the location of his hotel. My daughter's dorm is so close I can see her building's front door from the front door of The Marcel. I couldn't have asked for more! The room was plenty big and very clean. I like the contemporary decor and fresh feeling from the moment you walk through the doors. The staff was very friendly and helpful and it's such a nice touch to have a lounge area available with computers, coffee, and tea all day. I loved our view of the Empire State Building. I will not stay anywhere else now!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear sdshopper,

Thank you so much for such a great review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are thrilled that our location is so accommodating to your needs! We look forward to seeing you often in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,314
    1,002
    356
    162
    125
See reviews for
473
1,167
259
578
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville,NewYork
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our daughter booked us a room for two nights as a gift for our 40th anniversary. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Our room was small but very efficent as well as being clean and comfortable with everything you would need for an enjoyable stay. The location was very conveinent to everything. Thank you for making a special occasion memorable. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnC419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear JohnC419,

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary and appreciate your daughter choosing us to help you celebrate! We hope the Marcel will become a home away from home for you - both for special occasions and everyday visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We hit the jackpot with this hotel! It was clean and close to the Metro and the bus. We loved the 10th floor both inside and out. The view of NYC was amazing...Empire State building and the Chrysler building. It was so nice to have coffee/tea, water available all day. The lounge was spacious and the computers were always available.
The staff were efficient and friendly. There was never a question they could not answer. We were sent on our way with friendly smile and greeted each evening when we arrived back at the hotel. The staff seemed to be magic, if we requested ice...it was there before we hung up the phone. Very accommodating. Well Done! This hotel will be our choice should be return to New York. Thanks for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: High rooms have great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winston52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear winston52,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we think our staff is pretty incredible as well! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Loved this hotel. It was so close to everything. I will without a doubt be visiting NYC again soon and there is not a doubt in my mind where I will stay. The Marcel boasts such an amazing NYC view from the 10th floor balcony. The rooms were cozy but very comfortable as were the beds.

I loved this hotel !! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you to the wonderful staff for being so helpful and so incredibly friendly. You helped make my trip home one that I will definitely remember.

LQ

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsLQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear MsLQ,

Wow! Such high praise! We appreciate you taking the time to post on our property and are so grateful for all of your kind words! We strive to ensure that our guests have a great experience and are so happy that this was achieved for your stay! Please remember that we will match any rate found online before you book again - we can't wait to see you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Booked this hotel through our travel agency in Germany. We got a queen room on the 6th floor (room 610) facing 24 th St (noise level was ok). We asked the concierge for a garage and he gave us a voucher for one down the street ($ 25 per day). Unfortunately, the garage had no space left. So we parked our car in the garage across the street to the hotel entrance (also $ 25 per day and it was perfectly fine). The decor of the hotel and the rooms were modern. The room size was adequate and the room as well as the whole hotel were very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. 10th floor provides a free business center, a balcony with a nice view over Manhattan, free wine tastings some evenings during the week (we haven't tried out) and breakfast. But breakfast is not worth the extra charge (approx. $ 13). Instead we enjoyed breakfast outside the hotel. The hotel's location is perfect for a stay in NYC, next subway is nearby on 23rd St.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruentje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear bruentje,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your kind words! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Booked this hotel thru Jetsetter. Price for the location and quality of hotel made it a good value.
I booked a deluxe suite and got room 904 with a terrific view of the Empire State building. For NY, room was adequate size (about 200 sq. ft.). Decor was modern--bed was firm which I like because my back can be a problem. The had free wine on the 10th floor rooftop from 5-7PM--Mon-Fri which was very enjoyable--also free NY Times were available.
This is definitely not a hotel for those who what things like a bar, restaurant, etc. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 904--good view of Empire State building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmahler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear dmahler,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is our 2nd stay at The Marcel, and we will stay again. Our daughter is a student at NYU and happens to live within blocks of this location. The convience of the location is outstanding. Our first stay was earlier this year and we had no issues at all....this stay was again good....but...our room was on the 4th floor facing 3rd Ave. I didn't realize this would be an issue until the first night. I could hear people talking on the street( and yes the window was closed)!!! I'm not sure why hotels in NYC don't use double pane windows on rooms facing busy streets. I understand that it's part of the experience, but I literally could hear people talking as they walked by...by the way, on our first visit we were on the 9th floor facing 24th street. I'll definitely ask for a higher floor and room facing 24th St. the next time we stay here.

The neighborhood is great, good places to eat...we've had dinner and breakfast at the Bluebell Cafe' which is at 3rd and 23rd, drinks and lunch at Fitzgearld's(3rd and 25th)....and if you want to walk a little 5 Napkin Burgers at 3rd and 14th is excellent as well.

Cab from here to Time Square/Broadway is around $10-$11 one way. The subway is on 23rd, a little bit of a walk but not too bad.

Oh, and if you are new to the City....make sure that you go up to the 10th floor balcony and take in the views....great view of the Empire State bulding and Freedom Tower from there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Byron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Byron S,

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property! We are happy to hear that you choose to stay with us while visiting your daughter and we are disappointed to hear that this was not such a good experience! We take all of our critiques very seriously and are doing everything we can to make sure that each experience is better than the last so please make sure to contact us directly before your next stay so that we can make sure everything is to your satisfaction! The best email address is MarcelRes@AmsterdamHospitality.com Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#32 of 468 in New York City
649 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#140 of 468 in New York City
4,972 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#49 of 468 in New York City
2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#247 of 468 in New York City
3,526 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#88 of 468 in New York City
1,418 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#78 of 468 in New York City
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Property: The Marcel at Gramercy
Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Business Hotel in New York City
#121 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#140 Family Hotel in New York City
#142 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our perfect location in historic Gramercy District offers easy access to public transportation and major airports. Within arms reach are the hip neighborhoods of the East Village and Lower East Side, Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Baruch College, the Empire State and Flatiron buildings, and Union Square. Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and Chelsea areas are just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing