We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring ear plugs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #196 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Bring ear plugs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel room was nice and clean. The bed could have been bigger, but it was still comfortable. Make sure your room is at least on the 5th floor as the street outside is very busy and loud. The rather old a/c was also making a lot of noise, without our ear plugs we would not have been able to sleep.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aennikae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Aennikae,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and agree that NYC traffic is definitely something that one has to get used to! We are working on improving the noise level in our guest rooms. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    854
    312
    138
    118
See reviews for
357
979
218
479
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I've just come back from spending a week at this hotel and I have to say te overall experience was not great.

I ended up staying in two rooms while I was there and have stayed in many other hotels in the area to benchmark against.

My first struggle was trying to get on the WiFi which I had paid extra for. This was seemingly impossible from my room so I had to go up to the lounge to access it. During my whole week stay I didn't once gain access to the WiFi from either room I was in although I was faithfully assured it was working over and over again.

The rooms were functional but tiny. No full length mirrors which is always a bug bare. Bathrooms were badly designed with toilets behind the door, making everything awkward. One of my bathrooms had a cracked sink. However the main problem with these rooms was the level of noise. I have stayed in New York many times before and never needed to complain about the noise as I am a relatively heavy sleeper. However the first room I was in was right by what seemed to be a large extractor fan on the outside of the building which was incredibly noisy even with the window shut and kept whirring all night, that coupled with the noisiest air conditioning unit I've experienced in a room meant I had very little sleep the first few nights. I eventually went and asked to be moved, which they did without any complaints, however the room I was moved to had exactly the same problems...I ended up sleeping with ear plugs and no air conditioning on - it was boiling!

Breakfast is a complete waste of $12 so I definitely wouldn't recommend that.

The staff were helpful but the whole atmosphere of the hotel was odd. Shiny PVC looking furniture in reception and dancy pop music playing, coupled with some slightly creepy lift music. Receptionists were not wearing uniform (which I don't have a problem with) but with the look the hotel was going for (smartly dressed doormen etc.) it felt like maybe they should.

I had a cab booked by the receptionist back to the airport on my final day and this was another terrible experience. The cab driver and the doorman proceeded to have an argument about how much the cab should be whilst I was sat in the back waiting to leave. They agreed on $72 and I had been assured before I left that I could pay by card. However once we left he said I couldn't as he would have to pay a lot in rates so I had to get the cash out. He then told me the cab would be $85!? I tried to argue but his English was only a few words so I left it. I'm sure this was the cab companies fault rather than the hotel but it reflected badly on them for using them. I would have been better off flagging one down on the street.

One good thing I should say about the hotel is that it was very clean. It was just a shame the decor and slightly worn furniture made it seem less so. I was given an extra hour free of charge before I needed to check out on my final day which was lovely and really appreciated. Oh and the roof terrace is great, definitely my favourite part!

Overall I would not stay here again but I would say that if you need a couple of nights to rest your head then it's clean and the beds are comfortable just don't expect anything that refined!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fkhterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear fkhterry,

I'm very sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience during your trip! We appreciate your feedback and will absolutely be using some of your suggestions as we continue to improve. We have already rewired the access points for the wifi to improve the speed and are working on different ways to keep the outside noise level down. Hopefully you will chose to give us a second chance so that you can see all of our improvements and we can change your opinion! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel was much better than anticipated. First time user of Expedia in finding an affordable NYC hotel, I expected small but "good enough". They surprised me with much better than average attention to service and fabulous beds.
The rooms are small, but really well appointed; lovely attention to details such as excellent pillows, excellent supplies in the bathrooms and excellent towels. The guest lounge is an explosion of light on the 10th floor, with a huge terrace attached. Breakfast is very simple, but always good fresh fruit. I just wish there was better bread available in a place where fantastic bakeries abound.
I love the afternoon complimentary wine gatherings they offer to their guests. Such a nice way to mingle.
When I had a repeated problem with WIFI reception in my room, they offered to relocate me to another room with better reception, which I accepted. (Higher floor) No questions asked.
As the other reviews state, access to public transportation is easy; three blocks away from Madison Square park.
Things I did not like: the lighting, or the lack thereof. The first rooms did not have good lighting, especially in the bathroom. I also did not like the dim bedside lights.
The second room, although a more beautiful room, had no bedside lamp, and only one ceiling lamp that gave off so little light that sorting through clothes was difficult.
Will I come back? Absolutely! I'll just make sure to bring a Coleman lantern....

Room Tip: If you want a brighter room, ask for one overlooking the streets, even though they are a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Gabriele F,

Thank you for taking the time to review! We are so happy to hear that you found us on Expedia and hope you will book directly with us in the future (we will match any legitimate rate found online)! We have just rewired the entire hotel to improve our wifi service and have switched to new light bulbs to improve the brightness in our rooms. We hope you will be back again soon to see the improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

As a first timer in New York I wasn't quite prepared for how busy this amazing city was going to be. Needless to say, I loved the atmosphere of Times Square, but was extremely grateful to have this boutique hotel to come back to in an evening. Its location was perfect for us, fairly quiet (well as quiet as an area in Manhattan can be I suppose), a short walk to the subway and surrounded by lots of cool bars and restaurants.

Whilst the hotel room was small, it was clean and comfortable and ideal for us to lay our heads in an evening before taking on another day of exploring. Check-in was smooth, we actually arrived early and they had our room ready for us to dump our stuff before heading out.

My only negative observation would be the lack of wifi in the rooms, but I hear this is a common trait among hotels in New York.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a good restaurant close to the hotel, City Crab is amazing! Also the New Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Rebecca B,

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property and for all of your kind words! We are so happy we got to be a part of your first visit to NYC and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience! We have complimentary wifi in the lobby and our second floor lounge and just rewired the whole hotel to improve the wifi in the guest rooms (that is a nominal fee). Hopefully you will get to experience these improvements when you come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

In four days, never had to wait an instant
on the telephone or at the front desk to get
questions answered. No fitness center, but
the hotel arrangement at the huge New York City Club
around the corner is better anyway. Room
service surprisingly reasonable, with neither surcharges
nor expectant waiters. Huge imposing windows,
The hotel has many room configurations: mine,
one of the smaller, was still wonderful due to the
dramatic corner views. Enjoy the relaxing outdoor
10th-floor seating during wine hours. Should be
more highly rated!

Room Tip: Often fully booked, but staff does its best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biernacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Biernacki,

What a fun profile picture! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Marcel with others and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmarket,Ontario
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

we stayed at the marcel for few days in july, the location is great,in a safe area,walking distance from the subway line, the hotel was clean but very small,that's what to expect from new york, its centrally located in upper part of downtown close to financial district,and attractions downtown, as well as times square and shopping with central park and broadway.The staff was friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allouzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear allouzee,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park7860
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I took my family to Marcel at Gramercy for a little weekend getaway to NYC and we could not have asked for a better hotel, location and the price. We were blown away by the size of the room. We were expecting a tiny box like most NYC hotels, but it had high ceilings, big bathroom and spacious closet. The only down side is their TVs. It was a flat screen, but no HDTV. Either way, great hotel for the price you pay. If you are looking to experience NYC like a local, this is the hotel for you. Check out Bluebell Cafe for early brunch and take a stroll to Madison Square Park. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 10th floor is their roof top lounge. 5p-7pm they offer wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Park7860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Park7680,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay (and we think Bluebell is delicious too!)! Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We are delighted to hear that your family enjoyed their stay (and we are working with TWC to fix our TVs) and hope we get to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#246 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,801 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#29 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#118 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#159 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,798 reviews
The Evelyn
#299 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,627 reviews
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#301 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Property: The Marcel at Gramercy
Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in New York City
#135 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#141 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our perfect location in historic Gramercy District offers easy access to public transportation and major airports. Within arms reach are the hip neighborhoods of the East Village and Lower East Side, Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Baruch College, the Empire State and Flatiron buildings, and Union Square. Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and Chelsea areas are just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing