We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #146 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Murcia, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and very friendly staff”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a very nice place with excellent location. Modern decoration and very friendly staff. It's not cheap, but in our case we were 3 people and the price per person was quite OK. The room is very nice and in the last floor you have a very nice terrace with the view of Empire State. I'd come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaulQuimico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of your stay!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our staff! We are very proud of our team and we love hearing about them from our guests!

We hope we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,378
    1,028
    363
    166
    125
See reviews for
499
1,191
273
596
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel was lovely, friendly staff, the room was nice; a little small but to be expected in NYC. The space was enough for one person. My favorite spot of the hotel was sitting up on the roof drinking my coffee in the morning and relaxing in the early evening. The views were wonderful from up there. The hotel was also very convenient and I walked everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of your stay! I am so pleased that you enjoyed the views from our Roof Top Patio. This area a huge amenity exclusive to our guests, and I am glad that you were able to take advantage of it!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This place seems in not the very, very cheapest and the rooms are pretty small, but it's got it where it counts. I wouldn't want to spend any less than this in NYC and the price I paid was only $50 a night more than a complete dive not far away.

Location is excellent, it's clean, it has a pleasant lounge / business room on the 10th floor with good free WiFi and coffee and tea on tap all day for free. Powdered milk up there is a bit of a downer but if you really cared, you could step across the street and buy your own milk.

The rooms are tight (every room in NYC is) but bigger than rooms I've seen in, say, The Hudson. They're clean, the showers are nice and modern and come with a full pack of toiletries

On this visit I booked 15 minutes before arriving after checking into another hotel across the city that turned out to be a complete dive. I'd stayed one time before at Marcel and remembered it and was delighted they had a room at late notice. With a bit of pleading they discounted the first offered rate on the phone as I was booking direct on the phone with the front desk from the street outside another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian0fLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of your stay! I am so pleased to hear we were able to accommodate your reservation on such short notice.

I am also thrilled that you were able to relax in our guest lounge and roof patio.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alingsas, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed there for one night only, on our trip to Bermuda, but we would gladly come back some other time. Clean room, nice decor...and very friendly and helpful staff. Nice location, too, close to almost everything, within walking distance of what we wanted to see that afternoon and night anyway. Macy´s, Top of the Rock...all in the vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesvacances2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of your stay! I am very pleased that our team was accommodating to your needs.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Marcel at Gramercy just did not deliver the true 4-Star experience that I paid for.

The staff was very nice, the hotel decor was chic, our rooms were very clean, and there were decent amenities, but I can get the same thing from a Hampton Inn...maybe even more. I was just expecting more from a purported four star hotel.

Let me start by saying that I booked a standard queen room and upon arrival we were comped an "upgrade". I had read the reviews saying that the rooms were on the smaller side, but thank goodness our room made me scared to think of the room that I was supposed to get.

The room we received was Deluxe Double-Double, and I think we would have been better off with one queen sized bed. The beds were not only small, but they were short. My boyfriend is 6'2 and had to sleep in one bed alone, diagonal across the bed. Needless to say, romance didn't ensue from our sleeping situation.

Aside from the bed situation, our room was also somehow on a slant. At first we thought it may have been vertigo from our flight, but we later confirmed this by filling the sink up and watching the water pool more on one side. I'm no engineer, so I can't say if this is good structurally but ye be warned!

Furthermore, our view was a brick wall and a set of pipes. This wasn't entirely bad because we were able to sleep in a little (in our separate beds) since very little light entered the room.

And lastly, there was only one mirror in the room and it was the one in the bathroom.

Overall, the hotel served its purpose as a nice clean place to sleep at night. The 10th floor view and coffee was nice, and it was in a great area and easy to get to from the subway. However, I would not call it a four star hotel and I would definitely say for what you get it was way overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaMM0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of your stay! I am disappointed to learn that we did not exceed your expectations.

If you would like to discuss your stay further please feel free to contact me at nsullivan@amsterdamhospitality.com.


Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were in the city for a long weekend and stayed at the Marcel. A great neighborhood location. You feel at home in this area very quickly. Really liked the room -- not too large but good for NYC. Cool modern décor both in the rooms and lobby. Very comfortable and clean.
The 10th floor lounge was a bonus -- a nice place to grab a cup of coffee or tea anytime, check email, or enjoy the city views from the rooftop terrace. VERY helpful staff -- everyone from housekeeping to Doris and Lindsay at the front desk and Mohamed at the door did everything they could to assist us. Even provided umbrellas for rainy weather.
Convenient to subways, Madison Square Park, and just a quick walk to Union Square. Great choice! We plan to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of your stay!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our central location and fantastic neighborhood of the Gramercy District.

I am also pleased to learn that some members of staff stood out, we love hearing about our wonderful team!

We hope we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We just arrived from a 5 days trip.
The hotel is very clean, the staff warm and friendly. the location is perfect !
We booked a room through "Hotels". Although I knew that the rooms are very small I was amazed to find how small they are even for a NYC hotels.
I go to the reception to explain that we arrived for 5 days and we have 2 suitcases , and really there is no place even to get dressed.
I'm really not a complaining type or spoiled, i just needed a basic room.
The girls were wonderful! They asked us to wait for the next morning since the hotel is fully booked.
The morning after, we packed our things and left. When we returned in the evening , our suitcases moved to other room, bigger and spacious.
I want to thank Jacqueline and Lindsey - you are great !
I most liked the balcony on the 10th floor, what a wonderful way to start the day with a cup of coffee or close the day with a glass of wine and watch the NY amazing view.
Very recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sem79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of your stay!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#35 of 466 in New York City
672 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#58 of 466 in New York City
2,289 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#126 of 466 in New York City
5,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#77 of 466 in New York City
1,834 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#42 of 466 in New York City
459 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#232 of 466 in New York City
3,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Property: The Marcel at Gramercy
Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#117 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#136 Family Hotel in New York City
#139 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the historic and exclusive Gramercy Park, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel is far enough away from the bustle of Midtown Manhattan, but within walking distance to many of NYC’s most exciting neighborhoods. Take a break and stroll through our nearby neighborhoods; Gramercy Park, East Village, Chelsea, and SoHo.   Find boutique amenities throughout each of the 136 guest rooms at this Manhattan hotel. The hotel features a 10th floor business lounge with free WiFi, TV, coffee and tea service along with a rooftop terrace with lounge chairs for relaxing and sun bathing while basking in the view of the Empire State Building. Whether your stay is for business or leisure, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel offers everything you’ll need for an enjoyable stay in Manhattan. Come stay with us while you discover all that NYC has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing