We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay here if you are a light sleeper!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #140 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was very near our daughter's apartment. Our room was very small, even by New York standards and consequently the bed was small. Also no wardrobe to hang clothes only a metal hanging rail attached to a wall. No where to put suitcases. The room we had was at the front of the hotel which meant we got all the traffic and siren noise throughout the night. The one good thing to say is that the staff, particularly the doormen were always helpful and arranged taxis etc.

Room Tip: Don't book a room on a lower floor at the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFC186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,113)
There are newer reviews for The Marcel at Gramercy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,936 - 1,942 of 3,114 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

A nice hotel in a good location in New York, with a great deal (price) we've managed to get.
Hotel staff was really helpful. At our late arrival we got a very very small room, but the hotel manager told us upfront that we would be moved to a larger room (still not a big room but fair enough) the next day.

The rooms are a bit noisy with an insufficient soundproofing with morning traffic being a bit sleep disturbing.
The terrace on the 10th floor with the free coffee and tea is quite nice at any time of the day to relax a bit and get some sun.

I would easily comeback!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank João C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you so much for posting a review of your recent stay at The Marcel at Gramercy!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It seems that you reserved one of our standard rooms, which vary in size from 120 square feet to 150 square feet. I am delighted that our team was able to accommodate your need for a larger room!

Thanks again for posting your experience and we hope that we see again soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Arrived at hotel expecting our twin room but unfortunately they thought twin room meant a double room. Although we had paid £180 a night for a twin room, (two queen beds), which was for the dearest room they charged us another $100 to upgrade to a twin, despite us showing the documentation showing we had paid for a twin room. Not the best start to our 40th birthday celebration, we are good friends but not that close to be sharing a double bed.

We were made to feel in the wrong by the staff, despite having clearly paid for and had the documentation to prove we had booked a twin room.

Anyway..

The hotel was very nice no other complaints what so ever. The twin room was stunning with great views of the city and the hotel is in a great location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 318misswiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!

I am glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I do apologize for the room type mix up. A double room/twin room is a room that sleeps two people with one bed. A Deluxe Double Double is a room that can sleep up to four adults. This is stated in our room type descriptions and I am sorry that we did not make the change upon your check in.

If you have your confirmation showing that you booked a Deluxe Double Double I would be more than happy to make the adjustments to your bill. Please feel free to email me at nsullivan@amsterdamhospitality.com

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to hear from you soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My mom and I stayed for 1 night at The Marcel. It is an excellent hotel: trendy decoration, very nice and clean rooms, very friendly staff, central and nice area within walking distance to many different interesting places. I liked the lounge area on the 10th floor and the nice rooftop terrace with lounge chairs from which you have a great view over the city and the Empire State Building. From our room on the 9th floor we had a very nice view over the city. I can really recommend this hotel and will definately choose it again for my next stay in NY!

Room Tip: High floor so you have a nice view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 175EvelyneH175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor!

I am so pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location and wonderful roof top patio and guest lounge!

We hope that we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

So, I must be honest and said that its our fifth time in the last 18 months that we stayed at The Marcel hotel. This time we stayed for 14 nights.
The Staff are friendly and very helpful. Lina and Karina welcomed us with a big smile and a wish to help every time we came to the front desk, the cleaning lady, and especially the morning bellboy (doorman) that we cant remember his name, but he is always very helpful , polite and nice.
We Must mention Jacquelin Pabon, The front office manager that every time we contact her we are happy with the results, so welcoming and always ready to solve any problem. Thank you All for the great service and hospitality.
The hotel is very clean, nice and clean rooms and a great "Lobby" with internet and an amazing view.
The neighborhood is great. All the subways are 5-10 min walking, tons of restaurants and bars and a short walk will take you to most of the attractive spots in the city.
We will deferentially come back. This is our only hotel in NYC!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us as well as our staff. We love hearing about the team members who enhanced our guests' stay!

We are most appreciative of your kind words and your time. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend at The Marcel. The staff was friendly and most helpful. The King room was comfortable, the shower was great and the room was clean! Parking next door for $25.00 a day was a Steal! Hotel is in a great spot to walk around to Hi-line, parks, Times Square, etc. We will stay there again when we visit NY!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#39 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#59 of 468 in New York City
2,337 reviews
The Evelyn
#290 of 468 in New York City
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#253 of 468 in New York City
361 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#127 of 468 in New York City
5,225 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#91 of 468 in New York City
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#112 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#136 Family Hotel in New York City
#139 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $166 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the historic and exclusive Gramercy Park, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel is far enough away from the bustle of Midtown Manhattan, but within walking distance to many of NYC’s most exciting neighborhoods. Take a break and stroll through our nearby neighborhoods; Gramercy Park, East Village, Chelsea, and SoHo.   Find boutique amenities throughout each of the 136 guest rooms at this Manhattan hotel. The hotel features a 10th floor business lounge with free WiFi, TV, coffee and tea service along with a rooftop terrace with lounge chairs for relaxing and sun bathing while basking in the view of the Empire State Building. Whether your stay is for business or leisure, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel offers everything you’ll need for an enjoyable stay in Manhattan. Come stay with us while you discover all that NYC has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing