We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York in comfort with a touch of class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #141 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Marcel at Gramercy was honestly a pleasent surprise. The deco is tasteful and of quality. Upon reserving, I thought it might be a hotel nice in photos but chinzy in real life, but I was mistaken. The staff was often seen cleaning the public areas, lounges, elevators, hallways.

The cute and friendly desk staff are well cast to be helpful and efficient without over doing it.

The 10th floor lounge and terrace are inviting, roomy, spaceous....oh and the view !!!

The standard room with a 24th street view was small but workable. The bed was very comfortable. The shower pressure and hot water were perfect! A last night taste of a king size corner room with an Empire State Building view was a true treat...shower equally as good, the bed seemed a bit firmer than the bed in the standard room. Television reception in both rooms were snowy but who goes to NYC to watch tv?

I definately recommend the hotel for the quality and price compared to a handful of well known nyc hotels that I have stayed in.

One suggestion tho', use caution when pulling tissues from the decorative metal holder. It tends to slide off the shelf which could potentially land in the toilet or on your foot, either of which at the risk of breaking!

Room Tip: The upper floors logically have better views.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,105)
There are newer reviews for The Marcel at Gramercy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,974 - 1,980 of 3,105 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had trouble with noise from the heater the first night and was told it would be fixed that day but it was worse the second night. Staff offered to upgrade us the third night but we didn't want the hassle of moving. Fortunately, they were able to fix the problem! Our room was VERY small but we only slept there so it didn't matter that much. Good location for NYC attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momemtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Some friends and i stayed in town this past weekend. I made the reservation directly with Kathy at the hotel and she was able to match a rate I saw online (much easier booking directly w/hotel). We were in a deluxe king room right on the corner with the view of the Empire State Building. It was amazing to lay in bed and have that view!! The room was very clean. The location was close to everything. The staff was great and very friendly. Special thanks to Mohammad the bellman for helping us with all our luggage and catching a cab for us. Overall, perfect trip! Thank you Marcel :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mhart625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I needed a comfortable place to stay for an overnight business trip in the East Village and found The Marcel at Gramercy through Hotels.com (which offered the lowest rate possible for comparable accommodations anywhere in NYC). It was just what I needed: a quiet, clean boutique hotel with a neighborhood feel, modern ambiance and friendly service. Just right for a short trip when only a fresh bed and shower are needed for retiring at night. Diverse food options nearby and easy access to transportation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GailDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our stay was great
We had a little trouble with the heat but maintence came right up and fixed it.would stay again.our room was perfect for 2.it was very modern.the location was not the best but there was a friendly doorman everytime we went in or out.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarnj71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was in NYC for a few nights back in December for an interview and decided to stay here because it was close to where I needed to go. I booked a standard room for a very reasonable price. The room wasn't very big (obviously-it's NY) but it was exteremely comfortable and perfect for the 2 nights. There was a lovely business center on their 10th floor where I would go sit and enjoy the free coffee they had there, while looking at the Empire State Building. The staff was quick and efficient when I called down for things and Lindsey & Jacky at the front desk we're able to give me the exact directions of where I needed to go as well as great tips for places to grab a quick bite and where to shop! I will most definitely stay at the marcel when I go visit NYC again!

Room Tip: A standard room is perfect for a short stay. If you are staying for a while-book a king room!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_Ran13113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My daughter goes to school in the city and has lived in the East Village and Gramercy. This hotel is conveniently located to both. It is clean and quiet and located near loads of excellent restaurants. I've really enjoyed staying in quieter part of town with less of tourist feel. It's a quick subway or cab ride to anywhere you want to go from here. I highly recommend the Marcel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lrogers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor!

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our residential location added to your enjoyment!

We hope that we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 468 in New York City
686 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#58 of 468 in New York City
2,333 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#127 of 468 in New York City
5,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Evelyn
#287 of 468 in New York City
2,119 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#92 of 468 in New York City
1,452 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#46 of 468 in New York City
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#113 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#136 Family Hotel in New York City
#139 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $165 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the historic and exclusive Gramercy Park, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel is far enough away from the bustle of Midtown Manhattan, but within walking distance to many of NYC’s most exciting neighborhoods. Take a break and stroll through our nearby neighborhoods; Gramercy Park, East Village, Chelsea, and SoHo.   Find boutique amenities throughout each of the 136 guest rooms at this Manhattan hotel. The hotel features a 10th floor business lounge with free WiFi, TV, coffee and tea service along with a rooftop terrace with lounge chairs for relaxing and sun bathing while basking in the view of the Empire State Building. Whether your stay is for business or leisure, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel offers everything you’ll need for an enjoyable stay in Manhattan. Come stay with us while you discover all that NYC has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing