We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for a great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #139 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was in NYC for a few nights back in December for an interview and decided to stay here because it was close to where I needed to go. I booked a standard room for a very reasonable price. The room wasn't very big (obviously-it's NY) but it was exteremely comfortable and perfect for the 2 nights. There was a lovely business center on their 10th floor where I would go sit and enjoy the free coffee they had there, while looking at the Empire State Building. The staff was quick and efficient when I called down for things and Lindsey & Jacky at the front desk we're able to give me the exact directions of where I needed to go as well as great tips for places to grab a quick bite and where to shop! I will most definitely stay at the marcel when I go visit NYC again!

Room Tip: A standard room is perfect for a short stay. If you are staying for a while-book a king room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_Ran13113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,021 - 2,027 of 3,155 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

My daughter goes to school in the city and has lived in the East Village and Gramercy. This hotel is conveniently located to both. It is clean and quiet and located near loads of excellent restaurants. I've really enjoyed staying in quieter part of town with less of tourist feel. It's a quick subway or cab ride to anywhere you want to go from here. I highly recommend the Marcel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lrogers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor!

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our residential location added to your enjoyment!

We hope that we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I love this hotel. It is beautifully decorated, perfectly clean and the staff is terrific. The greatest complement that I can give any hotel (and I don't say it often) - is that the staff made us feel special!! We arrived early and the room wasn't quite ready, then a little complication with the bellman and our bags. The hotel more than made up for any inconvenience with an upgrade, and follow-up calls and amenities. They completely "wowed" us with the follow-up. Plus, for those to whom it makes a big difference (like my wife), the hotel is green.

Room Tip: I have read the reviews on the rooms being small. The standard room is very tight. If that is goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your stay. I am so pleased that our staff was so accommodating to you while staying with us.

We hope to see soon once again!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've stayed at a few hotels in the city, and this was by far my favorite. The service was amazing, the rooms were spotless, and the location was great and not too loud. Jacqueline at the front desk was super friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor!

We are so glad that you loved our property and staff! We appreciate you taking the time to post a review.

We hope that we are able to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Nice hotel for NYC. Of special fun was the sitting on the upper floor with a large terrace. My room was small but comfortable, though I heard that some other rooms are not so great, some with a window to a wall. Upon my request I got a street view in upper floor with some bearable city noise.

Room Tip: Nice hotel for NYC. Of special fun was the sitting on the upper floor with a large terrace. My room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorodetsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review and inform us of your stay.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that we are able to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Clean room, comfortable bed, small but clean bathroom, staff super nice especially Mohamed who was always smiling and helped with the luggages and arrangement of the cab to the airport. Free use of wifi on the 10th floor. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Cutesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed at the Marcel 3 times and each visit has been perfect. The location of the hotel has been great for us since we've always come for a Memory Competition happening around Union Square, a 10 minute walk from the hotel. You can pretty much walk to all of the places you want to be (soho, E. Village, 5th Ave) but If you're not much of a walker, there's a close subway stop or you can easily grab a cab on 3rd Ave. Gramercy is kind of a quiet neighborhood so it's nice to come back to the hotel after a hectic day.

The hotel lobby is relatively small but has a very nice cozy cool feeling with gas fireplaces and nice seating. The check-in staff are incredibly friendly and accommodating.
The first room we ever stayed in was a bit on the smaller side but it was very clean and comfortable, and the view made up for it. The last two times we stayed in a corner room - the room was much bigger, with a view of the empire state building!

The common lounge on the 10th floor also has this great view of the empire state building - my boyfriend was actually interviewed and photographed on this outdoor deck because the backdrop is so quintessentially NY. Definitely worth starting or ending your day up there.

Ps. There's a great little bagel shop on 25th and 3rd - delicious, warm bagels for cheap, great and easy breakfast! The restaurant downstairs from the hotel, Inoteca, was a great place for lunch or a glass of wine before heading out to dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmagzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#40 of 469 in New York City
694 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#58 of 469 in New York City
2,373 reviews
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#242 of 469 in New York City
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#89 of 469 in New York City
1,462 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#41 of 469 in New York City
535 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#220 of 469 in New York City
3,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#111 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#136 Family Hotel in New York City
#139 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $157 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the historic and exclusive Gramercy Park, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel is far enough away from the bustle of Midtown Manhattan, but within walking distance to many of NYC’s most exciting neighborhoods. Take a break and stroll through our nearby neighborhoods; Gramercy Park, East Village, Chelsea, and SoHo. Find boutique amenities throughout each of the 136 guest rooms at this Manhattan hotel. The hotel features a 10th floor business lounge with free WiFi, TV, coffee and tea service along with a rooftop terrace with lounge chairs for relaxing and sun bathing while basking in the view of the Empire State Building. Whether your stay is for business or leisure, the Marcel at Gramercy Hotel offers everything you’ll need for an enjoyable stay in Manhattan. Come stay with us while you discover all that NYC has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing