We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect stay :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marcel at Gramercy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #190 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

We, a couple from Sweden, spent one week at this hotel and it was great all the way.
Very good location, splendid terrasse with view on the Empire State building, very friendly staff (we will for example remember Paul who was very helpful), very good breakfast. At our arrival, we felt that the room we were given was a bit small and we were kindly offered an upgrade to a bigger room. We strongly recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincehood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    865
    314
    146
    118
See reviews for
370
992
219
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The location of the hotel is in a local neighorhood yet walking distance to the cool neighborhoods like Madison Park Square,Union Square, Chelsea/Meatpacking and the Villages. The front desk staff was welcoming and helpful. We were upgraded to a double double room at the same rate we booked for. The hotel has a cool, sleek feel to it. Our room was comfortable and quiet. There is a guest lounge with breakfast at a charge and free coffee and tea 24/7. The neighborhood has coffee shops and diner which is great for breakfast and several grocery stores.

We definitely recommend this hotel for couples and singles. We will definitely stay here again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing inside. Room 702 was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leilani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Great hotel, professional, efficient and friendly staff (Zack) that goes above and beyond, super friendly doorman (Raul and Dan). Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VedaLoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

On this last trip to NYC, I stayed at the Marcel while competing in Cardozo Law School's Moot Court (Oral Argument) Competition. I choose the Marcel at Gramercy because it was closest to Cardozo Law School for the price and very comfortable (the W was out of my school's price range). I had a great stay because the amenities were amazing (definitely check out the rootftop lounge both in the mornings and evenings for an incredible view of the Empire State Building) and employees were incredible.

One unexpected thing happened to me while there. On one day while leaving a taxi after visiting the 9/11 Memorial, I left my wallet in the the cab. Raul, one of the bellmen at Gramercy immediately told me what I had to do to get my wallet back: 1) call 311, 2) file a report, 3) search online for the taxi medallion number. Within an hour, I was able to find the taxi cab driver's personal contact information and had my wallet back. Getting one's wallet back is practically unheard of.

Raul saved the day. Thanks Raul.

Room Tip: Room with a great view may suffer from road noise and heat during the day. If you get a horrible vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I liked the small rooms. The bed was rock hard which made it hard to sleep. Staff was excellent. Danny at the front door went the extra mile to have a car waiting for me for the ride to the airport. That was not expected and much appreciated. Great location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martigny-Croix, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Last week I stayed here for two nights and thought it was great. The location is wonderful and the staff is so friendly and helpful. My room was small but extremely clean and looked out to a brick wall but I slept like a log! I heard not one car horn or siren either night. I liked it so much that when I go back to NYC in July I am staying there again!

Room Tip: I stayed in 603, really small, I had to put my suitcase on the desk under the TV but very, very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaupeep99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I love visiting New York, and have always stayed in the tourist areas. I found the Marcel a most agreeable and friendly hotel, and enjoyed it's location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was much bigger than I was led to expect, and was very comfortable. I especially enjoyed the restaurant.

I would definitely stay at the Marcel again, and would recommend it without reservations.

Room Tip: My room facing south was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#251 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,873 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#40 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#300 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#117 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Property: The Marcel at Gramercy
Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in New York City
#133 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#141 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our perfect location in historic Gramercy District offers easy access to public transportation and major airports. Within arms reach are the hip neighborhoods of the East Village and Lower East Side, Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Baruch College, the Empire State and Flatiron buildings, and Union Square. Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and Chelsea areas are just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing