We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marcel at Gramercy
Ranked #159 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Really enjoyed this property. Rooms are small, but on par with the rest of the botique hotels in NYC. Location was a lot of fun, some great bars and great places to eat all in walking distance. The roofdeck was fab, but note that they'll kick you off of the roofdeck at 10pm (if I remember correctly, it could be 11...)

Staff was good, bed was very comfortable, room was really nice. All in all, yes, I'd stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrissyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear KrissyB,

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    984
    350
    160
    124
See reviews for
464
1,144
257
570
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The Marcel is a nice, funky little hotel. All the staff we're great and couldn't have been more helpful. Unfortunately our first room was very small and we had to ask for an upgrade to a room with a bed that my feet didn't hang over the edge on (I'm 6'2). We moved up a room but had to pay for it. Our new room overlooked third avenue and we had the same problem with noise as has been mentioned in previous comments. We also got frustrated with the lifts and how slow they appeared to be. Free wi-fi would be nice. The finish in the bathroom wasn't great but overall the decor, staff and location outweighed the negatives and whilst we probably wouldn't stay there again (unless we got some amazing deal) we wouldn't discourage anyone staying for their for their first time in NYC. The roof terrace is a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Lee G,

Thank you posting your experience at The Marcel at Gramercy on Tripadvisor! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall. I would definately reccommend a Deluxe King bedded guest room the next time you stay with us! Our standard rooms have full sized beds and may not be comfortable for someone who is taller.

Thank you once again, and we hope to see you again at The Marcel!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Great hotel, very clean, nice decor. I liked the location as it was a little out of the way. It wasnt crazy busy, but ideal location to get to a lot of places. I think that NYC has a lot to look at all over the Island, so wherever you stay you will have to travel around to see things. I liked the few bars / restaurants near by for when I wanted an early night. Most of the time we would eat at a restaurant in the area where we visited. Reception helpful when we needed a town car to get back to the airport. I found everything I liked & needed in this hotel so went back the following year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baggiesbham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear baggiesbham,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor as well as your loyalty! We are very glad you chose re-visit us again!

We hope that we are able to welcome you back once again!!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I was in NYC on a business trip in August stayed at the Marcel for approx 10 days. The front desk team was always attentive and helpful with suggestions on restaurants in the area as well as assisting my team who also stayed at the hotel.

The doormen were great! It rained several days while we were there and they had umbrellas ready and let us borrow them to walk to and from work. They were also there with a smile and a warm "Welcome Back" at the end of each work day.

I will definitely stay there again, in fact I will be there in just about a week.

The only issue I had while there was with the a/c and someone from maintenance responded within 15 minutes.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear fraire,

Thank you for posting your experience at The Marcel at Gramercy! We apprieciate the time you took to inform us of your stay.

We hope that we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charente Maritime
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed 5 nights at The Marcel and overall had a very good stay. We arrived early and were made to feel very welcome by the front desk staff, who upgraded us from a standard to a double queen, given our party of 2 adults + 2 children.

When we arrived in the room, however, we noticed that it was on the same level as and looked directly onto a huge air-conditioning unit in a dark shaft.The prospect of a sleepless night, or even 5, prompted me to ask the front desk if any others were available. As pleasant and helpful as when we first arrived, they swiftly found us a room on the ninth floor with a view of the Empire State Building instead!

The room was spotless, with a kind of funky zebra theme. Though some of the furniture was scratched ( more or less inevitable when people have luggage) and the tiling in the bathroom suggested rushed if not amateur workmanship, we had a very comfortable stay, with absolutely no noise issues whatsoever.

Others have mentioned the small rooms, but frankly you're not in NYC to stay in your hotel and watch TV.

We ate once at the adjoining restaurant : good service and tasty Italian food. For breakfast we just ate elsewhere, mainly at Starbucks to get a decent coffee. The neighbourhood has plenty of informal dining options. Head down 3rd instead of up.

The tenth floor terrace was nice, though we only went up there once to use the computer and take a couple of pics.

To summarize, this is a clean, comfortable hotel with helpful staff, and if you get as good a rate as we did (we booked early) don't hesitate.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fraire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in August and were thoroughly impressed by the quality of the hotel, the excellence of its staff, and the brilliance of its location.

Upon checking in we were allocated a very small but well maintained and presented room. The clerk on the check-in told us the room would be small, which we were expecting, but that he would check us into a bigger room for the last two nights of our stay when the hotel was not full to capacity. This was without any prompting from us and this excellence was pretty much representative of the whole of our stay.

Both rooms that we stayed in were lovely, and everyone on the entire staff were super friendly and helpful. The roof terrace afforded great views of the city, and the complimentary coffee and internet PC in this area was also a really nice touch.

I really cannot fault this hotel and would recommed anyone travelling to NYC to consider staying here. It's location is brilliant too, nicely situated between mid-town to the north and Greenwich Village/Downtown to the south.

If you do stay here, the Lyric Diner (two blocks south from the hotel down 3rd Av) does amazingly tasty and good value breakfasts in a traditional diner style. The total bill including tip for two excellent breakfasts (each consisting of eggs w/ bacon and home fries, fruit cup, toast, coffee and water) was $15, and we really didn't need to eat again until the evening.

This is a really exceptional hotel and we will certainly look to stay here again should we be lucky enough to return to NYC.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Gottx,

Thank you for such a positive and detailed review! I am sure other tripadvisor users will appreciate it as well!

I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

From the time we checked in to the time we left we felt important at the Hotel.
Prices were great. Room was very clean and cleaned every day.
From the Front Desk to the Bellboys everyone was so NICE.

Location is great for all areas, couple blocks off Park Ave. and
close to subway.

We will always look at this place first on our next visit to NYC.

Thank you Marcel...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pkolling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Pkolling,

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time tp post your experience and we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

Nalini Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,890 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#246 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#87 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcel at Gramercy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Property: The Marcel at Gramercy
Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Business Hotel in New York City
#118 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#140 Family Hotel in New York City
#142 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our perfect location in historic Gramercy District offers easy access to public transportation and major airports. Within arms reach are the hip neighborhoods of the East Village and Lower East Side, Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Baruch College, the Empire State and Flatiron buildings, and Union Square. Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and Chelsea areas are just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing