We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Ranked #146 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently when I had an appointment with Memorial Sloan-Kettering. From the phone call to make reservations to the front-desk help, everyone was kind and courteous. The room was very clean and spacious. We loved the fact that the windows opened to let us get fresh air (well, as fresh as it gets in NYC). The location of the hotel is ideal, as there are bus and train stops very close, which makes getting around really easy. The reason it got 4 stars instead of 5 is that we felt that there were extra charges we weren't expecting, like an upcharge for "premium" Internet access that would allow you to stream video. Seemed like a petty thing for a hotel that advertises free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naborseditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I/We appreciate the feedback. First I hope you visit to Memorial Sloan offered you the results you wanted to hear. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the staff. Yes there are trains and buses around the hotel that get you going all over the city.

We do have high speed internet for free in the hotel and in the rooms. Sometimes our guests require more for work video conferencing and other high demand features that they just want that extra kick.

I would like to speak with you further about this. Please feel free to contact me at your convenience. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 795 of 2,363 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

Loved this place. Nice location on 3rd Avenue in Midtown. Main disadvantage was no grocery stores nearby but there was a large Duane Reade Pharmacy next door that had a small grocery section with the essentials. Clean, contemporary, well-designed room. Nice size. Quiet. Room darkening blinds, great bed, nice sheets made for a good night's sleep. Staff was very friendly, accommodating, welcoming. Our favorite feature was the lounge, cafe/work areas on the 12th floor. Lots of tables, chairs, couches, workstations, computers, TV's in a large, clean, bright and very pleasant space. Starbuck's coffee with breakfast service available daily. It was a wonderful, peaceful respite from all the noise and crowds of NYC, down below. We had a view of the infamous "Lipstick Building", former offices of Bernie Madoff. Not the greatest view but not a major detriment in the least. The many other excellent qualities of this hotel more than compensated. Pricing was very good given the quality of the property, especially Friday and Saturday nights. Sunday, the price increase was significant, not unexpected given the official beginning of the work week. Would stay at this place in a heartbeat again.

Room Tip: We faced north so it was quite cool, not too bright and very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanPride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

the location for this hotel is perfect! there is a subway station right at the corner of the block. and the staff could not be more helpful. We will definitely come back.
Also, there are tons of restaurants and coffee shops around the hotel. And there is a drug store at the first floor where you can get water, snacks, fruit, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBSMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I love the title of you review "Great Stay".
You mentioned Location (Check)
Helpful Staff (Check)
Coming Back because you enjoyed the hotel (Check)

Alright that's a wrap on this review, thank you so much for letting us know. Your next stay please reach out and say hello.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Went with a group of girls for an overnight. We had 3 in our room which had 2 queen beds, & a sleeper sofa. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable with an updated bathroom. (We expected a small room for downtown NYC.) It was also very quiet, especially in the evening, great for sleeping.The hotel is in a great location, not far from 5th Ave & near St.Pat's. We had a nice view of the East River & the Chrysler Bldg as we were on the 27th floor.The 12th floor had a Starbucks which was great for a light breakfast. The staff service was fine. I would stay at this hotel again for sure.

Room Tip: The views are nicer the higher up your room is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natnpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write your review. We are definitley known for the size of our rooms and the location of our hotel. YOu also pointed out some of the walking distance sites from our hotel. I especially like the part where you said "I would stay at this hotel again for sure". If you do please let me know. Thank you again for your review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Friendly staff all around, from check in, to every single employee in the elevators, in their Starbucks and even security. Check in was quick and helpful with directions and dining tips. Great location and the bistro on the 12th floor was handy. The room was great. The only negative if even, was that the elevators were slow but that really did not affect my stay at all which was very enjoyable. Thank you

Room Tip: Lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMGBostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to right a review about our hotel. I am very happy that we met your expectations. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff. I am happy that your stay was enjoyable though a little slower than you would have liked with our elevators. I appreciate the positive comments. If I can be of further assistance in the future please feel free to contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We ran into a transportation issue when our van did not arrive on time (actually showed up over an hour late). The bellmen expressed concern for our predicament and helped us come up with a solution. One bellman was able to find a limousine for the same price we were going to pay the van and we 'traveled in style." Wonderful Service!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and to spotlight our doorman. I am happy they were able to assist you in getting this situation resolved. If possible can you contact me with the date this happened so I can recognize our associate for their service to you. Thank you again for staying with us and leaving the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Very accommodating staff, typical of Marriotts I've stayed at. We stayed one night on our way to an international flight. We picked this hotel because of its location to Broadway. Easy to get around and take in a few sights. Room was what we expected. Service staff was top-notch.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBishop_DLP, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for writing your review. Yes the bright lights of Broadway are great to visit, but it's nice to stay outside them. Most of our guests find they can walk to Broadway by walking what we say is "across town". The usual route takes them along 51st street past Rock Center, Radio City, St. Patrick's into Times Square. But there is also train service 'E' and 'M' that stop on the corner of our hotel that can take you over.

Thank you for pointing out the service our staff provided as well as the room quality. We pride ourselves for those to key points. I will be sure to let our staff know of your comments.

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#156 of 471 in New York City
1,152 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#227 of 471 in New York City
1,250 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#128 of 471 in New York City
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#161 of 471 in New York City
1,336 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#120 of 471 in New York City
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Address: 866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in New York City
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
#132 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $156 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelPower, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Midtown East Hotel New York City
Courtyard Midtown East
Courtyard New York City
New York City Courtyard
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing