We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch above functionary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Ranked #146 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A touch above functionary”
Reviewed May 22, 2008

This hotel was good choice with a family of four, that included two boys ages 6 and 8. We had requested an early check in and were in our room by 10:30am. Our room was large, clean, quiet and included a king with a sofa bed. The hotel is located on 3rd /53rd Ave and has multiple subway lines within a block. There are plenty of restaurant choices nearby. The Morning Star Cafe on 2nd/51st was a nice place for a sit down breakfast that was inexpensive. Bistro Deseret on 56th was a delicious place for dinner. The hotel lacks the luxourious touches, but is ideal for the business traveller or family that uses the hotel as a base for exploring the city.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small lobby
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 1kauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    964
    157
    36
    18
See reviews for
1,061
357
77
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2008

I understand it is always hard to meet expectations in a service industry, but too many strikes against the marriott on this visit.

I reserved 3 rooms. After being told that they could all be on the same floor, only two were on the same floor.

Having arrived at 3pm, I could only get into one room.

They messed up one of my relatives reservations, and would not honor the original room rate (only a small nightly difference).

I called for my car, which was valet parked ($45/day), and it took 35 minutes to get it, even though it was 6 in the morning.

I went downstairs to get a luggage cart to get my suitcases out of our rooms when leaving. When I got back downstairs, I was instructed that I wasn't allowed to take the carts.

Other items to note: No lobby to speak of. No food other than breakfast. "room service" is delivery from a nearby restaurant.

As you can read, none of these were serious offenses. The rooms were clean. Shower had plenty of hot water. Rooms were a perfectly reasonable size. Breakfast buffet was fine.

I'll stay elsewhere the next time I am in NYC. At $200/night, this would have been fine. At $375, I expected more.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2008

We were there for 3 nights at the end of April. Was a basic room, bathroom sink area was a little tight but not a problem. Good location, within 4 blocks of Rockefeller Ctr. Clean and comfortable, especially since all you're looking for is a place to shower and sleep.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and comfort, value
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lang2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2008

This hotel is a typical american Courtyard Marriott. Nothing fancy, but convenient and you get what you pay for.
Rooms are bigger than average, and being on the 28th floor there was no traffic noise, so getting a good night's sleep was not a problem.
Walking distance to most places in mid Manhattan, and a subway station right ouside the door.
Many restaurants nearby and a few drugstores.
Workout facilities and business center.
Free wifi.
All you need basically.
Nothing to complain about, except the key card, which stopped working all the time and had to be reloaded.
Staff friendly and service minded.
The only thing missing is a restaurant/bar.
Would not hesitate booking this hotel again.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms and little noise.
  • Disliked — The key card was very unreliable. Worked only 2 out of 5 times. Very annoying.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Øivind H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2008

We chose the Courtyard Marriott for our April stay in New York from the reviews published on Trip Advisor , we were not disappointed. We researched in January and the price per night was under (not much) £150 per night, unfortunately delayed booking till March and the price for the same period had gone up to under £200, lesson is book early. However I checked the Marriott website and found they give a discount to over 62 's so that brought the price back down.
The hotel is on 3rd Avenue up about 52nd street just down from Bloomingdales, a nice area and quite convenient, well within walking distance of the subway, Central Park, St Patricks Cathedral, Grand Central Station, Rockafeller Centre, and Times Square.
The hotel frontage is quite small and plain and has a convenient drug store next door, the foyer is also small and functional, the front desk staff and porters were excellent in all respects.
Our room was on the 19th floor and large (I understand this is usual for the hotel and is a big plus) with a large bathroom, bed and a settee which converts to another bed. Good wardrobe space and mirrors TV and coffee percolator. There was no fridge but the concierge provided one on request.
The booking was for room only and a good reasonably priced breakfast buffet was available in a pleasant dining area on the 12th floor, or there were lots of diners around which we also used but found a bit frenetic.
There is a business centre with pcs and printers which was useful in prebooking attractions (esb) and a Broadway show (Mama Mia excellent and pre show dinner in the Rainbow Grill in the Rockefeller Centre), there is also a fitness centre which we didnt have time to use. There is no bar or lounge as such which is a slight drawback but doesn't detract much from the overall value and is overcomable with the many bars and restaurants locally.
I must mention our favourite local restaurant which was Mimi on 2nd Avenue approx 52nd street, Italian, piano player. bags of atmosphere and very good food and value.
Must also mention Rohan ( at the front desk) always a greeting and arranged for the excellent Flavio to take us to the airport in his limousine at roughly the same price as a taxi, well worth it.

  • Liked — Spacious Rooms, cleanliness, friendly staff, location
  • Disliked — No bar / lounge
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank captnkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, WI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2008

My 3 sons and I spent 3 nights at this property May 1-4, 2008. Our room was very large by comparison to almost any other non-suite hotel. It had 2 queen beds and a pull-out couch. The room was clean and well appointed. The bathroom (toilet and tub/shower) is separated from the sink and closet area by a door which made use by more than 1 person quite easy. Both were clean with appropriate toiletries and soft towels.

The "free" internet access did not work. Housekeeping was slow in responding to a request to make up the pull-out the first night. After that the room was promptly made up each day.

Staff contact was minimal but check-in was smooth. Al, the bellman, was gracious and very helpful during the entire stay. He arranged for a car to take us to the airport on our departure day at a price that was less than a cab would have been and much less than the limo service we hired for the trip from the airport. John, the concierge, was friendly and helpful but be careful about his restaurant recommendations.

The view from our 30th floor room was nondescript but none of the 4 of us spent anything more than a passing moment looking out to check the weather. As has been previously stated, the lobby is small and not ornate but, unless you are trying to impress someone, more than adequate.

We did not try the breakfast that is available.

All mid-town Manhattan hotels are expensive. This one is no different. This one is, however, well worth the money.

  • Liked — Size of room
  • Disliked — Inability to make internet service work
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BDtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, S Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

Stayed at this hotel while on route to Carribean. Absolutely well worth the stay. Paid £300 for 2 nights, on arrival was upgraded to room which was huge, two large double beds and five windows. Had fab view towards central park. Consiege was great recommended a fab steak house and got us reservations on a sat night....Bobby Vans.

This hotel is a 8 min walk to times square passing the waldorf and rockafella. Very safe neighbourhood. Ate in Mcdonalds down the block for breakfast. I would def stay her again. Cannot be faulted for location, quality or price.

The hotel airport transfer service was great booked transfer for 4am was waiting for us and cost $70 including tolls. Much cheaper than elsewhere. Although early hours of morning still took 1hour to get to Newark due sat nightclub traffic.
I have stayed in New york on three occassions and will def be coming back to this hotel.

  • Liked — Location and Quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookie376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#154 of 468 in New York City
1,203 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#238 of 468 in New York City
1,098 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#102 of 468 in New York City
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#137 of 468 in New York City
1,054 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#144 of 468 in New York City
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Address: 866 3rd Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in New York City
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
#134 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelPower, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Midtown East Hotel New York City
Courtyard Midtown East
Courtyard New York City
New York City Courtyard
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing