We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Manhattan Location for Broadway and Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #222 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Convenient Manhattan Location for Broadway and Times Square”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

You don't get much for the money in Manhattan, but this is a good place because of location. Rooms aren't very large for a Courtyard, and there is basically no view, other than looking into the windows of other buildings.
Rooms are clean, and staff is courteous and helpful.
If you are going to Broadway, Times Square, 30 Rock, they are all in walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Steveatus,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our property have very limited views unfortunately. I am sorry your room looked onto other buildings in the area. I am however very pleased to hear that you found our location to be central to your needs while visiting our city. Thank you for your great review of our staff. I will be sure to share your comments with them.
Thank you for being our guest. We hope you will return to our hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    599
    149
    43
    27
See reviews for
448
380
84
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
183 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Once again we stayed at our favorite hotel in NYC. Centrally located to all transportation hubs, the friendly staff is always helpful. When there is a problem they make every attempt to ameliorate the situation. A couple in the room across the hall was using a strong aerosol to cover their smoking. We called the front desk who sent security immediately. The staff installed a fan and ionizer in the hall and gave us complimentary breakfast the next day.

Complimentary WiFi is available.

Most of the staff we know by name because there is a low turnover which speaks well for the management. We have stayed at many hotels throughout the world and this hotel ranks with the best brands as far as customer service.

Room Tip: If flying into the area, suggest you fly into Newark Liberty, take NJ Transit train ($12.75) from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelWell040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear TravelWell040,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel! I am terribly sorry you experienced an issue with a guest smoking in the hotel. I am however pleased to hear that our staff was able to take care of the situation at hand and make your stay more comfortable.
Thank you for being such a loyal guest to the Courtyard by Marriott Times Square. We look forward to having you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Very tall hotel....

Very competitive price in terms of location and value for money.

Spotless rooms and Courtyards always seem to deliver in that respect.

Highly recommended for its location and prices

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank German L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear German L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your time at our hotel and in NYC. I am very pleased to learn you found the hotel to be very clean and comfortable. I will be sharing your wonderful comments with our Housekeeping department.
Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to having you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
126 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

A sweet small hotel. Price were high but very close to Times square and Broadways. High price room do not include breakfast. I stayed in July 2012 and for twin bedded room, hotel charged me $400. Due to good sleeping experience and cooperative staff and great location, I can say its worth it for new york experience. Must visit, good view from the room window.

Room Tip: Top floor and city facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikhilGuptaPeeAar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear NikhilGuptaPeeAar,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to our hotel! I am very pleased to hear that you were able to get a room with view! I am glad you found the room to fit your needs. Our beds are very comfortable!
We hope to see you in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
214 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My son and I stayed here for 6 nights during his spring break. The rooms were nice and clean. Every staff member I interacted with was very friendly. It's in a great spot, just a half block off Broadway and Times Square....so it's easy to walk places, but it is also quiet for sleeping. There is a cafe on the first floor for a quick breakfast. There are a number of great restaurants within a few blocks, and it's convenient to walk to the Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, and Central Park. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiMomwithteens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear WiMomwithteens,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel! I am so pleased that you and your son enjoyed your trip to NYC. Our location is fantastic and I am so happy that you were able to visit all the great locations of the city.
Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to having you and your family in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Great location just south of Times Square (theaters) and close enough to Penn Station & very close to many subway lines. The room was very much like the standard Courtyard room -- a decent-sized flat-screen TV with a nice selection of cable channels (several in HD), in-room safe, mini-fridge, iron & board, clock radio (don't try to get an AM signal), a nice work area with a rolling chair, lots of convenient electrical outlets, different lighting options & a nice thermometer that seemed to keep a steadier temperature than other NYC courtyards. The room was decent-sized by Manhattan standards.

The complementary in-room Wi-Fi was as presented upon log-in - OK for reading e-mail & basic browsing. For the ability to view any video, however, it would require paying an additional $4.95 fee for the upgraded Wi-Fi.

The bathroom had a weird (to me) dynamic that I've never seen - no full enclosure or curtain to the tub/shower - there was a plexiglass panel from the top of the tub to the ceiling that spanned the front half of length of the tub. So, any steam from the hot shower could not be retained & unless you don't mind getting the floor wet in there, taking a shower required standing in the very front of the enclosure and keeping relatively still (as the entire back half isn't enclosed). Also, the bathroom mirror is exactly opposite the tub/shower.

The hotel seemed a bit under-elevatored at times. It's about 40 stories & there are 4 elevator shafts, but one seemed reserved for staff, so some waits were long. The staff was friendly enough & the maid service did a fine job keeping it tidy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fried003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear fried003,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am so sorry you did not like the set up of our recently renovated bathrooms. I will be sure to share your comments with our team in order to make improvements to the functionality of the bathrooms for our guests.
I was pleased to learn that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and our location to fit your needs while visiting NYC.
Thank you for being our guest. We hope you will give us another try on your next visit to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed at this property while visiting the city with my college age niece. She'd never been to New York City and I was treating her to a tourist weekend there while also working myself in Newark. Super easy to get to this location from EWR (Newark airport) via the air train and then one transfer to get to Penn Station - I'd say you then had a 10 minute walk to the hotel.

The hotel is easily walkable to Times Square - probably 5 minutes. There is a Starbucks right around the corner and a little drugstore just a few feet from the hotel entrance. Several subway stops are nearby, so we never even had the need for a cab during our visit.

The hotel itself was quite clean and had a "safe" feeling to it. Not a lot of frill, but honestly the room was larger than I expected and much larger than some previous experiences in this area with similar properties. Some designs to the room just made sense to make the small space function at its best - like the bathroom had a pocket door. I appreciated the mini fridge as we were able to buy some water at the corner store and then have it chilled in the room.

As we were in the area to see sites, I didn't spend much time at the property itself so I can't speak about the facility amenities. I'd definitely stay here again however for a similar type of visit. It was actually fun to have a partial view of the Empire State Building out of our hotel window. It was the first week of January, so the ESB was still lit with red and green lights at night.

Our room was ready when we arrived and they stored our bags on the last day since we did not depart until evening. Both of these were nice to experience without any hassle.

Room Tip: Request an ESB view if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amylister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifer_spensieri, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear amylister,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our property. I am so pleased you and niece enjoyed your visit to NYC. Our hotel has an excellent location for all there is to do and see in the city. I am very happy you were able to get a room with a view of the Empire State Building, especially since it was your nieces first time in NYC.
Please keep us in mind the next time you visiting the New York area. We look forward to having you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#189 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fif...
#242 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#237 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 114 W 40th St, New York City, NY 10018-2699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#152 Family Hotel in New York City
#176 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an ideal destination for experiencing the sights and sounds of New York City at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square. Our hotel's refreshing amenities and intuitive service are complemented by an incredible location in the heart of the city. Whether traveling for business or leisure, guests are less than a five-minute walk from Times Square and only two blocks from Bryant Park. Experience Broadway and the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Central Park and Rockefeller Plaza, all within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel. Conveniently situated just a block from the 42nd Street Subway station, you can easily access other NYC destinations while enjoying the vibrant vibes, world-class museums, restaurants and shopping found in Manhattan and Times Square. Redesigned, our contemporary hotel rooms feature free Wi-Fi, luxury bedding, comfortable work areas and mini-refrigerators. Enjoy healthy breakfast options from nosh!, our signature cafe, and fuel up for a day of adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel
Courtyard Times Square South
Courtyard New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing