We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #218 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in early June 2013 with family. The position of the hotel is excellent the availability of valet parking at a reasonable cost $52 per 24hrs makes life much easier' The rooms are well furnished and comfortable. I read that some people were having trouble with the shower screen but we found no problem. There is only a snacking facility on the ground floor of the hotel but with the whole of Manhattan outside the door who needs to eat in. The only fault I could find that when we arrived at just after 3pm we were told the rooms was not ready, as the check out time is 12noon ,at the latest, three hours should be enough to prepare the rooms. However we did not have to wait long. Overall a good hotel with helpful staff in a great location.

Room Tip: High rooms are better 20th floor up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessenia R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Morrell

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our facility. We hope to see you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jessenia Rodriguez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

581 - 587 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

Courtyard by Marriott Times Sq.South

We chose this hotel for two reasons: (a) Marriott reputation and (b) location. The entry to the hotel was very disappointing; it also had scaffolding up which, to be honest, they had tried to “blend” in. But first impression was not good! However, it definitely redeemed itself with location. It is in a side street but turn right and you are in Bryant Park, which is a lovely area; turn left and within about 5 mins. you are in Times Sq. Our room (25th floor) was clean with the usual so-comfortable Marriott bedding. We did not have breakfast there so cannot comment on food etc. – but downstairs lobby and café area is quite small but perfectly adequate. The other thing we found unusual was that there was no 24/7 coffee machine which I think in all our trips to the US is a first. The staff were OK but to our mind didn’t really seem too bothered about anything – which might seem a bit unfair but that was just our impression. But as I said above, location was great. Easy to get to all the Metro stations, which are so easy to use. All-in-all I would recommend this hotel if you are a first-timer to NY and sightseeing every day. Tip for eating: If you want nice restaurants, not fast food, head to Hell’s Kitchen area – left out of hotel and about 15 mins. walk. Restaurant after restaurant – really good choices and felt quite safe to walk about in even at night.

Room Tip: Just ask for a higher room - we were on the 25th floor and it faced buildings - no view but to be ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patch007London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessenia R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Patch007London

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is your comments that enable us to better serve you. We can only hope you would give us another chance and serve you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jessenia R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This location is ideally situated within close proximity to the attractions , restaurants, etc. in Times Square. The rooms were quite spacious and very clean. The hotel staff were quite helpful and attentive to our needs. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ram0na_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessenia R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Ramona_M

Thank you for your reply. Your feedback is very important to us. It is good to hear you enjoyed our location and you stay. We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Jessenia R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

i go to this hotel quite often and have been at many other courtyards around the country. this is by far the best. it ranks up there with the best of marriott. the staff is friendly and welcoming and helpful. the rooms are on the large side and always clean (even to my wife's taste).
the location is perfect for my business and also for the theatre district.
it is the highest value that i now in NYC and no i am not a shareholder nor do i know any.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessenia R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear JoelS

Thank you for you kind feedback. We love to hear that our guest enjoy our property and that our staff was friendly. We hope to serve you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jessenia R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Ask for a room on a higher floor and view of Empire State Building. That made our stay much more memorable. The room was clean and large, especially for NYC standards. The one complaint that I had would be the glass wall shower that sprayed out into the bathroom, and the bathroom itself was not spotless like the rest of the room was. Perhaps it was a function of the shower wall? Had a mini fridge, one cup coffee maker, and comfortable bedding. Not very noisy for city location (but, I do sleep with ear plugs when I travel). Wonderful staff, who were attentive to any question, and would always welcome you 'home' with a smile and kind words. GREAT location...between the hustle and bustle of Times Square and the quieter more peaceful Bryant Park. Walking distance to shows, restaurants, and shopping. Also close to subway stop and plentiful cabs. I would absolutely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a comfortable, large, centrally located hotel in NYC. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 007_HappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessenia R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear 007_HappyTraveler

We thank you for your great feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and great location. We are also happy that the staff accomodated all your request. We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Jessenia R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Hotel is very well located. It looks as if the attempt was to combine the business travels and family needs. Not sure if the latter was a success. The room was clean but small. There was not "proper" restaurant at the hotel, which was not a big deal given the choices. Amenites were minimal. There are only two elevators, which is not sufficient for a 30+ story hotel. When we arrived, one was out of order, which created a lot of issues.

Room Tip: The higher floo, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niksk001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessenia R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Nkskoo1

Thank you for your feedback. It is these comments that enable us to provide the best possible service to our guests, and which also point-out areas of weakness that need our attention. I apologize that one of our elevators was out of order during your stay, Our main concern is our guest safety and we had to put one elevator out for mandatory maintanance. I apologize for any inconvenince this caused you. We hope you to see you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jessenia R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

After spending many hours looking at hotels, we decided to book here. From the minute we checked in to the minute we left, we couldn't fault anything! Rooms were great and 3 adults were comfortable in a double/double room. Bathroom was very clean. The location really makes this hotel such a gem.
Would not hesitate to book here again and highly recommend. Thanks for making a birthday break very special!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Storkie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessenia R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Storkie30

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please come visit us soon.

Best Regards,

Jessenia R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#156 of 471 in New York City
1,152 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#227 of 471 in New York City
1,250 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#128 of 471 in New York City
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fif...
#282 of 471 in New York City
940 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#216 of 471 in New York City
2,476 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#146 of 471 in New York City
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square

Address: 114 W 40th St, New York City, NY 10018-2699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#172 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $164 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your slice of comfort in the City That Never Sleeps when you stay at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square. As one of the premier Times Square hotels, we invite you to experience the excitement of the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Central Park, and Rockefeller Center, all within walking distance of our front doors. Following an adventure-filled day, retreat to unrivaled relaxation in our spacious rooms featuring free Wi-Fi, large work desks, flat-panel TVs, and luxurious bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel
Courtyard Times Square South
Courtyard New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing