We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect For Family Weekend In The City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #229 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here over the long Presidents Day Weekend in February and were very pleased. Front desk service was very good. Breakfast cafe was spacious and responsive. Housekeeping was invisible and excellent. As an earlier reviewer mentioned, there was an issue with the climate control on our first night (it was very hot) but the response we got was very different. They came to our room and spent some time figuring out what we could do and in the end they presented a simple solution---just turn it off. When we did so, the room was cool and lovely for the rest of the weekend. Room was typical NYC---on the smaller side but the set up was very efficient and the bathroom was not cramped at all. Fantastic location if you want to be close to Times Square. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t8ergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessenia R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear T8ergirl

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs. I truly appreciate the great feed back, I am happy to hear our staff accomodated you. We look forward to your future stays with us.

Best Regards,

Jessenia Rodriguez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 1,478 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just spent two night here and used our Marriot points. Great location and the staff is wonderful. The rooms are adequate size and the king size bed was quite comfy. My only complaint was the heat/AC system. When we were there in January, we could not get the room to cool down and finally called maintenance in the middle of the night. We were informed that there is not an option for AC because it was still winter and we could always open the window. This visit had the same problem and we ended up leaving a window open to cool down the room. It really seems odd that we have to do this after they say they just went through renovations 2 years ago.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1adklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessenia R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear 1 adklady

We thank you very much for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our facility and our staff was wonderful we will share our nice comments with our staff members. I apologize that the room was too hot during your stay. Your comments are very important to us so we can make improvements were needed, we will relay this information to our engineering department so they can further investigate. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jessenia R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend in Manhattan. We loved the hotel. The location makes nearly everything within walking distance. It is tucked along 40th street just a couple blocks south of Times Square. The staff was absolutely wonderful. They were very helpful and friendly every time we had contact with any of them. The room was very small but all we needed. We spent most of our time out in the city, so a large spacious room was not necessary. The only minor complaint I had was the location of the ice machine. As far as I could tell there was only one on the lower level. Since we were on the 31st floor, it was a journey to get ice.

The concierge was a great help getting us a Broadway show and suggesting other nightlife. Our room and no real view, but that was not a big deal to us. We loved this hotel, especially the people.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ltdan_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanBabek, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Itdan_o

I thank you for choosing us for your long weekend getaway. We truly appreciate your kind review and I will share your comments with our staff. We hope to see you again in the near future.

King Regards,
Roman Babek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here with Marriott points, so will be a little biased in my review since it was free. Location is awesome...so close to Times Square, Rockefeller Plaza, Broadway Theaters, etc. Staff was friendly and always had a smile on their face. Concierge Linda was excellent. Requested a floor with a view of the Empire State bldg, which was accommodated...Thank You! Room was not huge, but decent by NY standards. Water pressure was excellent, but the only miss, IMO, is the shower head...a little klugey for sure, but we managed. Complimentary wifi was a bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors with '01' or '03'...eg. 2701...to get a good view of Empire Sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonesey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanBabek, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Jonesey64

Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Most of all, thank you for using your hard earned Marriott rewards points with us. I will share this review with our staff members and give a special thanks to Linda. We look forward to your next arrival!

Roman Babek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

redeemed points for three nights at this hotel; loved the view of empire state from our window but had to keep said window open due to lack of AC in room. asked about it and were told that it's an either/or situation and as it was 'winter' only option was heat or nothing; no AC. gave us a few points "back" but really impacted our trip in a negative way b/c we couldn't sleep! mattresses also seemed ready for replacement. staff generally helpful and friendly; esp. FRED. concierge service isn't worth the TIME (and we wasted plenty in terms of "conversation" and MISinformation.)location is good and room was clean. otherwise... we won't stay there again, with points or without.

Room Tip: 2601 great view of empire state
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy56011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanBabek, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Kathy56011

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the wonderful view of the empire state building and enjoyed interaction with our staff members. I will pass along your king words to Fred (bellman). I'm unfamiliar with the situation you may have encountered during your stay but I would be glad to speak with you and hopefully resolve these issues. We would love to see you back at the hotel. Please feel free to contact me at 212-391-0088. I look forward to speaking with you.

Roman Babek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel nis very centrally located. The rooms are clean and, in our case, the two queen beds were enough for the three of us during our four night stay.

The one drawback was the softness of our beds. Used to sleep in beds with hard mattresses, we ended up with back pains. If you are like us, I suggest you ask for hard mattresses.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank AS-worldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanBabek, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Hello AKGang,

Happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotels great location just near Time Square and a close walk to many other sites. I appologize that the Voss water was not placed into your room prior to arrival. We will make sure that next time you stay with us that all the amenities are full stocked. We look forward to you staying with us again in the near future.

Roman Babek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is on 40th st between broadway and 6th ave. Great location. The hotel might be little over priced, though it's just in middle of Manhattan. Most of the Manhattan attractions are in walking distance. Rooms are bit small, but OK. Challenge - they have one restaurant, but looks more like Pub and again no drinking water in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AK_GANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanBabek, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear NIonadi,

Thank you for your kind review for potential visitors. Our newly renovated lobby is a great place to enjoy breakfast, and hanging out with business partners. Having Starbucks in the hotel is such a nice convenience for guests. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Roman Babek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#155 of 471 in New York City
1,152 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#227 of 471 in New York City
1,250 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#127 of 471 in New York City
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fif...
#288 of 471 in New York City
941 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#217 of 471 in New York City
2,479 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#153 of 471 in New York City
2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square

Address: 114 W 40th St, New York City, NY 10018-2699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#172 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $166 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your slice of comfort in the City That Never Sleeps when you stay at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square. As one of the premier Times Square hotels, we invite you to experience the excitement of the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Central Park, and Rockefeller Center, all within walking distance of our front doors. Following an adventure-filled day, retreat to unrivaled relaxation in our spacious rooms featuring free Wi-Fi, large work desks, flat-panel TVs, and luxurious bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel
Courtyard Times Square South
Courtyard New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing