We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #226 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Bad Soden
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel nis very centrally located. The rooms are clean and, in our case, the two queen beds were enough for the three of us during our four night stay.

The one drawback was the softness of our beds. Used to sleep in beds with hard mattresses, we ended up with back pains. If you are like us, I suggest you ask for hard mattresses.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AS-worldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanBabek, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello AKGang,

Happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotels great location just near Time Square and a close walk to many other sites. I appologize that the Voss water was not placed into your room prior to arrival. We will make sure that next time you stay with us that all the amenities are full stocked. We look forward to you staying with us again in the near future.

Roman Babek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    588
    147
    43
    25
See reviews for
435
372
83
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is on 40th st between broadway and 6th ave. Great location. The hotel might be little over priced, though it's just in middle of Manhattan. Most of the Manhattan attractions are in walking distance. Rooms are bit small, but OK. Challenge - they have one restaurant, but looks more like Pub and again no drinking water in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AK_GANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanBabek, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear NIonadi,

Thank you for your kind review for potential visitors. Our newly renovated lobby is a great place to enjoy breakfast, and hanging out with business partners. Having Starbucks in the hotel is such a nice convenience for guests. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Roman Babek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is on 40th st between broadway and 6th ave. Great location, 2 blocks to times sq. this hotel must have been recently updated as the rooms were well maintained and all the furnishings were in excellent condition. It is manhattan so the rooms are small but we did not have issues because of large desk area and bench. Lobby is in great sharp with Starbucks. Also many sitting areas in lobby for meeting people. Fitness area is small but has all the required equipment. I would stay there again on my next trip.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NIonadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanBabek, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Nlonadi

Thank you for your kind review! I'm glad we met all your needs during your stay. Adding Starbucks coffee in our lounge is a plus and we also offer complimentary WIFI in the lobby. We look forward to your next stay.

Regards,
Roman Babek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We came up to NYC for the High School National Championship Track & Field Meet and needed a place to stay that would give us a restful night sleep. That did not happen. First the good. The room was clean, reasonable quiet, and well appointed. The location was exceptional as well.

Now the bad. This is an outdated hotel that doesn't even have basic thermostat capabilities in the room, so I spent the night sweating, tossing and turning, and repeatedly turning down the thermostat to no avail as all that does is turn on a fan. So after a sleepless night we went on to the meet to make the best of it.

I did ask the front desk for help and they just shrugged their shoulders and said there wasn't anything they could do about it. That the system was either on heat (for the whole hotel) or cool for the whole hotel, and they couldn't do anything about it. Other hotels have window units to control temperature in each room.

I will not stay here again. It was awful.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel, with amenities from this century.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanBabek, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear PVCoach

Thank you for giving us a chance to accomodate your needs. We strive for your best overall satisfaction. Unfortunately we came up short this time by not providing the proper room temperature. I can assure you that our team will be looking into this. The hotel has been renovated two yars ago and we are very proud of our product. I can only ask you to give us another chance to show you the true caliber of the Courtyard service. Please contact me directly if you have any questions.

Regards,
Roman Babek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in early March,great location with subway 2 seconds away,alternatively penn station is only a 10 minute walk away. Had a king size room which was great (never understand people's comments about small rooms,it was perfectly big for me,a bed,chair,massive tv,desk and plenty of hanging space and shelves). The bathroom was very clean and always hot water,complimentary shampoo,etc and cleaned every day. The coffee machine was a nice touch. Didn't use the bar apart from sitting in the lounge for 10 minutes before leaving..it was actually very comfortable and lots of tv's to watch.

Would definitely use again and recommend to friends,reasonably priced especially considering the central location. I was on my own and felt fine coming back to the hotel and the surrounding area late at night.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Iloveholidays1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanBabek, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Iloveholidays 1982
Thank you for taking the time and review our hotel. I'm glad everything worked out for you and we'll be delighted to have you back in the near future. We just opened our new lounge (Nosh) and I'm glad you got to see it. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in the lounge for our guest along with great variety of hors d’oeuvres, beer and wine. See you soon!

Roman Babek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel has a friendly staff, good and clean rooms even though it is an old building the room was very clean and updated. The location is good. Walking distance from time square and 5th avenue with restaurants for breakfast close by and you have a choice of having breakfast at the hotel...it is expensive but its not bad at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanBabek, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Ana D
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. I'm looking forward to your next visit. If there is anything my team and I can assist you with, please contact us directly.

Regards,
Roman Babek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Pros:
Location is fantastic, so centrally located
Hotel is beside a Duane Reade - very handy
Starbucks in hotel is a lovely chilled out area
Good security - entrance door closed after a certain time, room key needed to enter. Room key also needed in lift to access floors where rooms located

Lobby - clean and welcoming
Room - very clean, comfortable, great power in the water pressure in shower. The room was small but it served it's purpose and the beds were very comfortable. We had a view of the Empire State building which was a lovely bonus.
Lifts - slow but wasn't an issue on a relaxing break

I don't have any cons regarding this hotel, bar one which is staff related.
The staff encountered at the front desk, the concierge, the ladies cleaning the rooms - each of these were fantastic. Miguel on Check in was so welcoming and helpful with any queries we had.
On leaving the hotel my group and I collected our baggage which had been stored in the hotel for the day. The staff member that was present was called Bryan. We had enquiried earlier from another member of staff if we could prebook a taxi but he had advised we'd have to hail one. No problem, we left ourselves plenty of time to do this.

Bryan came to the front door of the hotel and said he would hail a taxi for us. I said it wasn't necessary, we'd organise ourselves, but he said to leave it to him. Two taxis pulled up and drove away, we were told that they had refused to do an airport run. Then Bryan said that his friend, who was waiting nearby in a black car, would bring us for 75 dollars. I said that would not be necessary, it was an extortionate rate for the journey and that I did not want to travel in a car that didn't appear to be licenced for taxi use. I said that we were fine, we'd organise our own taxi as at this stage he was a hindrance rather than a help. He did not leave, rather he got annoyed at me as I walked along the kerb looking to see if a taxi was coming. He wanted me to wait back at the hotel in case I got hit. Thanks Bryan, but I've managed previous trips to NYC without you and I am fully capable of hailing a cab, so your concern is totally misplaced and unwanted. His attitude towards me was arrogant and condescending. This man was only 26 by the way, I heard him telling other staff members that it was his 26th birthday on this particular day.

As time pushed on, Bryan started saying we would not get a taxi but his friend works in a car hire firm that this hotel EXCLUSIVELY uses.... funny that, seeing as we were told earlier there isn't any way taxis can be prebooked. The cost for his friend to send a car to bring us now was 100 dollars. To get rid of him we said okay, go inside & call him. He was gone mere seconds when we hailed our own taxi who said an airport run was no problem. We packed in the bags and one of our group went inside to tell Bryan we were sorted. He wasn't too happy but that's life.

So sorry for the essay, but what was otherwise a perfect hotel base for our holiday was soured by this exchange when leaving. I hope that the hotel reads this and can reply whether their contract with a car firm exists or was, as I suspect, a bit of commission on the side for their employee.

Room Tip: Ask for Empire State view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanbops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessenia R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Jeanbops:

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed our facility and the accomodations we offer including our Nosh that has starbuck's available on property.

I am also very happy to hear many of our associates including some that you named like MIguel Housekeeping staff and concierge meet all your needs. Your positive feedback has been shared with the staff members. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you had to experience at our hotel, With our bellman Brian, This sort of behavior is not acceptable your comments have been shared with the appropriate staff member and corrective action has been taken . It is these comments that enable us to provide the best possible service to our guests, and which also point-out areas of weakness that need our attention.

We at the Courtyard pride ourselves in providing an unparalleled level of service, the same level that classifies Marriott as the leader in hospitality Worldwide. Anything falling short of that is not the type of service we strive for.

Thank you for giving us this opportunity to address your concerns. I thank you for your continued loyalty to Marriott. I hope we will have the opportunity to serve once again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jessenia Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#133 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#188 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fif...
#243 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#98 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#236 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 114 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#153 Family Hotel in New York City
#177 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an ideal destination for experiencing the sights and sounds of New York City at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square. Our hotel's refreshing amenities and intuitive service are complemented by an incredible location in the heart of the city. Whether traveling for business or leisure, guests are less than a five-minute walk from Times Square and only two blocks from Bryant Park. Experience Broadway and the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Central Park and Rockefeller Plaza, all within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel. Conveniently situated just a block from the 42nd Street Subway station, you can easily access other NYC destinations while enjoying the vibrant vibes, world-class museums, restaurants and shopping found in Manhattan and Times Square. Redesigned, our contemporary hotel rooms feature free Wi-Fi, luxury bedding, comfortable work areas and mini-refrigerators. Enjoy healthy breakfast options from nosh!, our signature cafe, and fuel up for a day of adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel
Courtyard Times Square South
Courtyard New York City
New York City Courtyard
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing