We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, and great service attention to details”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #226 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Room was well attended and appointed. The staff was helpful and showed a great attention for details. The front desk staff made sure to offer help to find and or set reservations for area restaurants. The location was SUPER convenient to lots of sights and shopping. Just a few blocks from Times Square, Macy's, Empire State Building, Radio City Music Hall and more, with a great benefit of a beautiful clean park behind the historic NY Library for a nice sit. HIGHLY recommend this hotel for the convenience and value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

By the normal Marriott standard, the room is extremely small. But I guess it's just the way it is in New York City. We were in the 18th floor, but did not stop the street construction noise in the middle of the night. It was well after 11pm and city construction was still going on. I would think noise insulation would have been better. That being said, the location is awesome. Everything is within walking distance. We took a taxi from the JFK for about $60. It's not bad considering there is a charge parking at the hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hongkongee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Would like to give a shout out of thanks to Trevon who works the PM shift at the front desk. He helped us pull off a surprise for our daughter's engagement this past weekend where he showed such class, professionalism, compassion, human kindness, quick thinking skills & great customer service! We are now officially hooked on this hotel & will stay nowhere else in our travels to NYC! Trevon, you are a rare breed in the service industry today--a cut above the rest! Thanks again for making our weekend so special!

Also, the hotel has been updated with new decor and the rooms are so beautiful, classy and fresh/clean! We have tried a myriad of NYC hotels but still like this the best for the price. Really nice rooms, good prices compared to other comparable hotels, great service, excellent location...what more do you want from a NYC hotel? Book a room here with assurance. You won't be sorry you did!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaynorLubojasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

It was a small but nice and clean room. The only thing I didn't like was our room looked right into some offices and never got any sun light because of the surrounding buildings. The location was great though, really close to all the attractions. Also great staff!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nels0nJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed last week spotless large modern rooms with king bed and sitting area ( was in best western last time old 3/4 bed and could touch the walls from all sides!) double shower cubicle and controllable air con. Fab staff throughout helpful friendly and professional. Great positon.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view and got one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expatmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I don't normally write a lot of reviews, but the staff at Courtyard Times Square South were so helpful and super friendly I had to give them some props. The hotel quality was good for the price and star quality level (rooms not big, amenities adequate, etc. - what you would expect from a 3 star type place). The location was central. I don't really like Times Square but we stayed there because of our traveling friends. But this location is just off of Times Square so you get the convenience of proximity to subway but do not have to be in the middle of the throngs of people in the main part of Times Square. Overall great experience - a lot to do with the friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: We got a nonrefundable rate, so price was cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel is. It is conveniently located just a little south of Times Square so you can easily walk to Times Square and the Metro is half a block away which makes it easy to get around to other parts of the city. The room I stayed in was well laid-out and comfortable with a mini-fridge in it which I liked as I could store water and drinks and I loved the in-room Keurig. The bed was really comfortable and I like that there were lots of outlets everywhere for plugging in all my devices. The bathroom was clean with modern fixtures. The one downside to the bathroom was the European-style shower with the glass door half-enclosure. I don't know how any normal sized person takes a shower without getting water all over the floor! I like that the hotel had a mini-market in the lobby as well as breakfast each morning although I never did make it downstairs in time for the breakfast. There is a comfortable and spacious lounge area in the lobby which is also nice. I used the hotel gym which was pretty good with enough machines for several people to work out, a TV, water and towels. Overall I really enjoyed my stay here and would stay here again the next time I'm in NYC.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinaColada02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#155 of 470 in New York City
1,137 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#231 of 470 in New York City
1,234 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#212 of 470 in New York City
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fif...
#291 of 470 in New York City
936 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#118 of 470 in New York City
786 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#144 of 470 in New York City
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square

Address: 114 W 40th St, New York City, NY 10018-2699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#172 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $181 - $631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your slice of comfort in the City That Never Sleeps when you stay at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square. As one of the premier Times Square hotels, we invite you to experience the excitement of the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Central Park, and Rockefeller Center, all within walking distance of our front doors. Following an adventure-filled day, retreat to unrivaled relaxation in our spacious rooms featuring free Wi-Fi, large work desks, flat-panel TVs, and luxurious bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel
Courtyard Times Square South
Courtyard New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing