We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Excellent, Relaxing Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #224 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
183 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Another Excellent, Relaxing Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Once again, we spent 5 nights in NYC and at the Courtyard Times Square South. The desk attendants, restaurant staff, and room cleaning staff were friendly, courteous, and accommodating. Though spartan and intended for primarily business people, the rooms are clean and have everything one needs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelWell040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    595
    148
    43
    26
See reviews for
445
377
84
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

We went to NYC for just one night to see a musical. The location is a short walk to Times Square. We took the train and walked from Penn Station - it was just 1/2 mile.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WineauxDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for our first trip to New York in June 2011. We are avid Marriott members and stay mostly at Courtyards, Residence Inns, or their other divisions. Never having been to NY before we wanted to be close to Times Square yet not right on top of it.
This Courtyard was excellent. We only had to walk a block and turn right and there was Time Square yet you didn't realize it until you turned that corner. Otherwise we could have been staying on any quiet street in America.

Although the hotel has 32 or 33 stories and we stayed on the 30th floor we had no problem with the swiftness of the elevators. Rarely did we wait more than 10-15 seconds before an elevator arrived. We didn't use the restaurant but it appear to be very nice. There is coffee available 24/7 in the main lobby and there is a small grocery area in the lobby. ALL of the personnel were very pleasant and helpful. Our room maid split a daily pill container and wrote us a very nice note apololgizing for it after putting the pills in a plastic bag since she didn't know which compartment the pills went in. There is no pool but a very nice workout room.

The rooms (see photos)are of course small but we found the quite comfortable. There is a kingsize bed with quality Marriott grade mattress and sheeting. The is a desk area, large screen TV, a comfortable leather cushion chair, a well laid out bathroom with a glass enclosed shower but no bathtub. There is a Keurig single shot coffee maker and here is my only small complaint.
There were only two of the Keurig coffee shots in the room. I suggested that a minimum of four if not six be in a room. Who can get buy on a single cup of coffee?

The main lobby has a conceirge was well as two or three front desk personal. You can enter the hotel from either 40th st (the main entrance) or from a door through the restaurant from 39th st.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atpittman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

Travelling to NYC with two colleagues, we felt that we were not getting the best value for our money. We chose this hotel mainly because one of us had a certain status in the Marriott loyalty program, and it proved to be the best Marriott compromise within Manhattan for location and price (we needed to be in the Chelsea area).

The overall infrastructure is fine, our rooms must have been refurbished recently. What was surprising was how one of my colleagues (the one with the special status) asked for a specially quiet room and received the same as I did (just one floor lower) on the one street side where they were working with jackhammers at midnight - throughout the entire stay. The other side of the building was quiet by comparison, which does not demonstrate a very helpful service...
This hotel does not have an own bar, just a breakfast room on ground floor - something I missed for a hotel with such a price tag.

Without disclosing the price, I will just say that after my stay in this hotel, I changed to another hotel for one more night just a couple of blocks away: The Hilton New York Fashion District. It offered more value for only 60% of the price!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

My family usually stay at this hotel when wer'e in NY for shopping. The proximity to a subway station makes it very convenient. Its also walking distance to Macys and other shops.

This is a pretty standard hotel with very basic decor. There is no hotel restaurant/ room service but the rooms are clean and very comfortable. The showers were recently renovated but I dislike the fact that there is no shower door and I would rather a tiled shower instead of the tub.
The hotel is quiet enough for me and the staff are super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgirl080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

Spent 3 nights here recently. Was not impressed with service provided by Front Desk and restaurant. "Rude"! If my boyfriend was not a platinum member with Marriott, I would have chosen another option.

Make sure you do not get a room near elevator, sound proofing of bedroom was real bad, light sleeper could be awaken by noise from the corridor.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtengsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
150 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

The location is excellent ... next to Bryant Park, i.e. between the Macy's and Time Square. The rooms all on the small side, but clean and well equipped although you may find a better value in NYC for what they charge. The big plus of the hotels is its staff. Everybody (front desk, concierge) was nice, willing to help and meet all needs. Nothing seems to have been a problem for them. Free tea and coffee in the lobby all day and night is a nice touch although occasionally it ran out.
The hotel is definitely among my better experiences in NYC and I would definitely consider it again when I am in NYC subject to available room rates.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ED5611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fif...
#242 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#237 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 114 W 40th St, New York City, NY 10018-2699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#152 Family Hotel in New York City
#176 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an ideal destination for experiencing the sights and sounds of New York City at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square. Our hotel's refreshing amenities and intuitive service are complemented by an incredible location in the heart of the city. Whether traveling for business or leisure, guests are less than a five-minute walk from Times Square and only two blocks from Bryant Park. Experience Broadway and the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Central Park and Rockefeller Plaza, all within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel. Conveniently situated just a block from the 42nd Street Subway station, you can easily access other NYC destinations while enjoying the vibrant vibes, world-class museums, restaurants and shopping found in Manhattan and Times Square. Redesigned, our contemporary hotel rooms feature free Wi-Fi, luxury bedding, comfortable work areas and mini-refrigerators. Enjoy healthy breakfast options from nosh!, our signature cafe, and fuel up for a day of adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel
Courtyard Times Square South
Courtyard New York City
New York City Courtyard
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing