We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pros and cons” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Da Vinci Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Da Vinci Hotel
Ranked #339 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pros and cons”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Pros: great location, updated bathroom, free wifi, clean room, friendly staff
Cons: very uncomfortable beds, poor lighting, dirty/old carpet, noisy air conditioning, strange noise coming from phone all night, late housekeeping, no coffee maker in room, continental breakfast with cold coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    245
    109
    30
    34
See reviews for
59
253
38
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Normandy Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here during our son's graduation. Overpriced, but apparently all NYC hotels take advantage of graduation month. The carpet was filthy. We were unable to adjust the a/c. It was on or off. Bed was clean and comfortable. Pillows were like bricks. Outdated decor. Very quiet room with mini fridge. Great location with no amenities. Coffee/tea available with poor pastries in AM. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Located between 8th Ave and Broadway and a few blocks from Columbus Circle subway station, it is a great start point for sightseeing in Manhattan. It also a short distance from Central park. The hotel itself is ok. It feels more like a budget hotel than high class hotel. It is clean and comfortable. If breakfast is important for you, you will be disapointed. But you get enough to hold you to an early lunch. Staff is friendly, but not updated on events happening around. When you stay there, try out the restaurant Brasso56. It is next door and have great food and good service.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Big_cityOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We choose this hotel based on its location and price, and we couldn't have chosen a better one! We were able to check in earlier than expected and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Initial thought of the room was nice, two standard double beds, tv, desk, and mini fridge. Beds were clean :) The bathroom was very nice, marble floors/walls/shower/tub. The water from the shower was a little temperamental...in the early morning the temperature was extremely hot, a little unbearable, but it cooled off later in the day. So if you can take a shower at night or afternoon, do so. Otherwise it was a great hotel and great stay. Continental breakfast with muffins and breads, coffee and tea were nice. Great place to stay! I would definitely consider staying here again for my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights, was a great location so close to times square and central park, we could pretty much walk everywhere, the rooms themselves are nothing spectacular, but they will do for somewhere to sleep, the beds were a bit hard and if I wasnt exhausted from the days activities I dont know how I would go sleeping on them, the rooms were always clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would probably stay here again for the location!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank littlebit1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This small hotel is perfectly located to transportation, to Central Park, and to Lincoln Center. The staff was very helpful and the small breakfast was perfect for the morning. Nothing was fancy but all was more than adequate. We had to ask for help at the desk three times: to have the room done before the early afternoon so we could nap before going to the Met Opera, to reset the TV as it was not working, and to get new keys as ours stopped working. All three requests were handled with curtesy and efficiency. I would highly recommend the restaurant in the basement too - excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Hotel room is simple and comfortable. Staff was/is really fantastic..When I come back to NY, I will stay here. Location is great.

I had reservations at another hotel for my next visit, but I have canceled so I can come back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#104 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,494 reviews
Midtown
Park Savoy
Park Savoy
#423 of 479 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 571 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#361 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#241 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,520 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Cen...
#214 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Centr...
#206 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Vinci Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Vinci Hotel

Property: Da Vinci Hotel
Address: 244 W 56th St, New York City, NY 10019-4306
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Da Vinci Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of New York's busy midtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Da Vinci Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Vinci
Da Vinci Hotel New York
Da Vinci New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing