We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #356 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“NICE!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

I was worried when I first booked this hotel through Hot-Wire.com. Some reviews I read were less than hoped for; but!!! I really enjoyed stating there. I was in over the 4th of July weekend, and found it very charming. Quaint is the word I think this small Boutique Hotel deserves. When I came into the small reception desk, a couple were playing a piano and singing; which I found very intoxicating. The desk were very friendly and willing to help. The elevator was tiny but efficient if you don't have too many bags! The room I was in was small but clean and charming! The TV took a minute or so to start like it was on computer setup. Air was noisy; but that didn't bother me. I would recommend this hotel to singles or romantic couples. I would really like to give it 3 1/2 stars but the system seems not to have half star rating. I have been going to NYC for 45 years and this wasn't the worst Hotel I've stayed in. Try it. I think you would like this small charming Hotel!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank masterggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    329
    222
    94
    90
See reviews for
113
280
185
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at Mayfair hotel on July, 2016. The location was great in Time Square where everything was within walking distance to Broadway shows, Rockefeller center, Central Park etc.
Room was really small and being a older hotel, only room air conditioner so had to keep the bathroom door open to keep it cool. Outside hallway was also hot.
The hotel staff was really nice.
If we can find another reasonable in this area we would not stay in this one.

Room Tip: Stay at the top floor so do not get the noise from the street like 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuttaTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

As a frequent visitor to NYC I have stayed in many hotels in different areas of town. Being in the heart of the Theatre District and close to Times Square is thought of as exciting but is actually noisy, dirty and charmless. I'd recommend the West Village, Murray Hill or the Upper West Side over this nabe.
The hotel itself is very dated. I couldn't bring myself to use the lift as it is tiny and rickety. Walking up the stairs you see frayed carpets and dirty and scuffed wallpaper. The rooms are tiny. My friends and I had nowhere to put our suitcases without falling over them. The air conditioner was broken and I was told by a disinterested receptionist that there are only maintenance staff on hand from 9-5 Monday to Friday. I requested a different room but the only option was to upgrade and to pay more as all equivalent rooms were full.
NYC in the height of summer is sweltering and it is not possible to sleep without AC.
My advice is to pay a bit more and get a lot more elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Santo Domingo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

You cant beat this location, right next to all the plays of Broadway, and 2 blocks away from Times Square. Think about it, you wake up at 1am and you could just put some jeans on and walk around never-sleeping-TimesSquare in about 5 minutes. How great is that? Rooms arent good looking (they used the same fabric pattern on literally EVERYTHING) but are very clean, the bed is super comfortable, and has all you need including private and decent bathroom, safebox and closet. Paid around US$150/night. I will be staying here more often.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pr3ppyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Unfortunately the Mayfair was not what we were expecting. We went on it based on the reviews on trip advisor and expedia and were disappointed.

One positive – THE LOCATION – RIGHT NEXT TO TIME SQUARE AND A SUBWAY STATION.
There were three of us, so we got a double bed and a sofa bed. We thought the rooms would be small and they were quite pokey! It was very hard with three suitcases to move around.

The in room facilities weren’t bad – there was a safe, iron, iron board, big TV and toiletries.

However the décor is in need of major renovations. The wall paper was coming off the walls and there was no lock on the bathroom door and it didn’t click meaning we had to create a door stop from a water bottle we had. It was a outdated bathroom, mouldy , but like I said they gave you quite a few free toiletries.

We had big problems with the sofa bed. It was ancient. It was tiny and it was extremely uncomfortable, uneven and extremely creaky. I feel that the Mayfair really can’t sell this for sleeping on. A full grown man would not be able to sleep comfortably on it. We had to try and even it out under the thin mattress (if you can call it mattress) with towels and strange foam blankets – although this did not help much. There was no adequate bedding either for it. There were no extra pillows or blanket/duvet, despite knowing there were three of us coming to stay. We phoned reception and we were told that they had no spare duvets and that they had enough for the rooms only. Well in that case, my argument is, don’t suggest the room is able to sleep three? If you aren’t even prepared yourself for this!!

The rooms were cleaned as well as they could be! The décor just made it look dirty.
The wifi did not reach our room – we were on the 8th floor. This was disappointing as it is advertised as the rooms having wifi.

The reception staff were mostly helpful!(bar that problem above) Always happy to help and ordered us a cab when we needed to leave. However, a few times we felt that tips were expected for the tiniest things ( we accept that tips are what is expected) for example taking our bags out of the car and putting them on a trolley – this man did not take our bags up to the room. The man that did – we tipped.

The bar was good – but we were told it is not actually connected to the hotel. It is just next to the hotel and the guests have easy access. We had an extremely helpful barmaid and I wish I could remember her name because she was refreshingly friendly and gave us lots of advice and she received a nice large tip!

Room Tip: Overall – if you are happy to be out of your room the majority of the time – and as you are in New Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLN1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Based on some of the reviews I read I came prepared with my own sheets and bedbug spray, neither of which was necessary. This quaint hotel built in 1902 does show some age but was part of the the whole experience of staying in NYC. Our room was very small but for the one night that all we did was sleep in the room it was fine. The location is premium! One half block off Broadway and in the heart of times square.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Italiansweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Luckily for this hotel, the location just about makes up for the shabbiness of the hotel. Worn out carpet, torn window blinds and general disrepair throughout. We also had a cockroach on day 1 although we were immediately upgraded to a bigger room as a result.
But if you're in New York you're not going to be in the hotel all that much. It's the most amazing city in the world and this hotel's location is incredible.

Room Tip: The double is very small, opt for a queen+ if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#336 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,107 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#353 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#199 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#257 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#285 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Property: Mayfair Hotel
Address: 242 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #356 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small hotel offers small, but charming, accommodations in the theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair New York Hotel
Mayfair New York City
Mayfair Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing