We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Claustrophobic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mayfair Hotel to your Saves list
Mayfair Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   242 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #362 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Claustrophobic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I suppose I am becoming blase. I and a friend Yinka arrived New York from Pittsburgh and needed a hotel room for a night before we headed out to Heathrow via JFK in the morning. We also wanted to indulge in the culture that is Times Square. Everything about the hotel was narrow, the rooms, the elevator, the restaurant, even the lounge. Felt claustrophobic. Maybe if even the rooms were bigger, it would have been a better experience.

Room Tip: Stay away from room close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vongtau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    281
    187
    86
    83
See reviews for
91
230
166
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We reserved this hotel on Hotels.com, prepaid...show up early, we check in, but room wasn't ready, so they held our bags for us, no charge. Very nice staff, accomodating. Clean, comfy bed, awesome towels, and perfect shower, pressure was great! Little bar/restaurant in same building. For the price, you can't beat the location. Let's face it, you're not going to NYC to hang out in a hotel room. They also held our bags after check out so we could walk around the city without them. Small, outdated decor, but who cares. There's a tv, iron, hair dryer in the room. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks friendly Mayfair staff!!! A weekend to remember!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was impressed from the minute I got off the subway and found myself and the hotel easily in the middle of everything - a block to the theater, a block to catch the train, a few minutes' walk to any diner or store that I might need. I arrived hours before checkin but my room was ready and I was happily able to go to my room and freshen up before heading out into the city. The staff at the desk was amazingly friendly and helpful - great with their advice of how to find things, including the perfect place to eat the type of food I had described desiring. Later that day when I needed to use the computers and printers provided to guests in the lobby, again they were very friendly and did not act put out by my request. There are a few steps to get into the hotel, so if you have problems with steps this could be an issue. There is a doorman who could help you with your bags and offer an arm to assist though. I was surprised by how small the room was, but it was quaint, clean, and in the end, was all the bigger that I needed. I was not prepared either that the room temperature was not controlled by the guests themselves in each room, but the room temperature was comfortable. At one point I felt it was starting to get chillier than I would have liked, but a quick and easy call to the front desk was all that was needed - the room was warmer in short order. Very happy with this hotel, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dyan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for four nights at this hotel
As previous reviews the location is great for Times Square and most central attractions
Rooms were small but well maintained
Two minor complaints
We checked in to one room as we were early . A bit irritated by being asked to present passport twice when the second room was ready
The additional charge on departure -some kind of environmental levy was a surprise and unwellcome
That said a good few days

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisunlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Mayfair as a solo traveller and found the staff to be pleasant and helpful. The hotel is clean & neat & ideally situated to time square and the theatre district. Your never more than a ten minute walk away from most places. Any one reading this review please don't take any notice of the negative reviews that have been given to this establishment. So a big thank you to all the staff a job well done:-)

Helpful?
1 Thank juliecoll
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed here for some nights end of October beginning of November. In summary there are a few good things - location is great close to Times Square, close to the Subway and line for JFK and LGA Airports, rooms are clean and the WIFI is working well. Things not so good are the outdated reception, stairs, and elevator. Only a few TV channels working, if you need to switch on the AC you can not sleep due to noise. Reception staff OK service, even if it looks like they prefer sitting and watching than give service to guests entering. I agree with another review saying that the hotel is probably a cash cow until renovation is urgently needed. With small investments in new carpets in the public areas and a facelift to the elevator the hotel had been higher rated by me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom_L_189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The room was very small but what I expected. Location was in the theater district, 3 blocks from Times Square and 5 blocks from Rockafeller Center....Perfect for seeing the sights in central Manhattan.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephmccarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#324 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,697 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#308 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 5,158 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#260 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#338 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 774 reviews
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#188 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,834 reviews
Midtown
Hotel St. James
Hotel St. James
#277 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Property: Mayfair Hotel
Address: 242 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small hotel offers small, but charming, accommodations in the theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair New York Hotel
Mayfair New York City
Mayfair Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing