We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Terrific place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #361 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Dover
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was impressed from the minute I got off the subway and found myself and the hotel easily in the middle of everything - a block to the theater, a block to catch the train, a few minutes' walk to any diner or store that I might need. I arrived hours before checkin but my room was ready and I was happily able to go to my room and freshen up before heading out into the city. The staff at the desk was amazingly friendly and helpful - great with their advice of how to find things, including the perfect place to eat the type of food I had described desiring. Later that day when I needed to use the computers and printers provided to guests in the lobby, again they were very friendly and did not act put out by my request. There are a few steps to get into the hotel, so if you have problems with steps this could be an issue. There is a doorman who could help you with your bags and offer an arm to assist though. I was surprised by how small the room was, but it was quaint, clean, and in the end, was all the bigger that I needed. I was not prepared either that the room temperature was not controlled by the guests themselves in each room, but the room temperature was comfortable. At one point I felt it was starting to get chillier than I would have liked, but a quick and easy call to the front desk was all that was needed - the room was warmer in short order. Very happy with this hotel, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dyan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    285
    188
    86
    84
See reviews for
93
233
166
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for four nights at this hotel
As previous reviews the location is great for Times Square and most central attractions
Rooms were small but well maintained
Two minor complaints
We checked in to one room as we were early . A bit irritated by being asked to present passport twice when the second room was ready
The additional charge on departure -some kind of environmental levy was a surprise and unwellcome
That said a good few days

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisunlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Mayfair as a solo traveller and found the staff to be pleasant and helpful. The hotel is clean & neat & ideally situated to time square and the theatre district. Your never more than a ten minute walk away from most places. Any one reading this review please don't take any notice of the negative reviews that have been given to this establishment. So a big thank you to all the staff a job well done:-)

Helpful?
1 Thank juliecoll
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed here for some nights end of October beginning of November. In summary there are a few good things - location is great close to Times Square, close to the Subway and line for JFK and LGA Airports, rooms are clean and the WIFI is working well. Things not so good are the outdated reception, stairs, and elevator. Only a few TV channels working, if you need to switch on the AC you can not sleep due to noise. Reception staff OK service, even if it looks like they prefer sitting and watching than give service to guests entering. I agree with another review saying that the hotel is probably a cash cow until renovation is urgently needed. With small investments in new carpets in the public areas and a facelift to the elevator the hotel had been higher rated by me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom_L_189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The room was very small but what I expected. Location was in the theater district, 3 blocks from Times Square and 5 blocks from Rockafeller Center....Perfect for seeing the sights in central Manhattan.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephmccarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during our last holiday at it was the perfect choice for us since we were travelling on a tight budget. It wasn’t anything fancy but it had clean rooms, cheap rates and a great location, just a few blocks away from Time Square, walking distance to all the Broadway theatres and restaurants. Being close to everything saved us time and money. I loved the area and if I go back to New York (hopefully I will! I really fell in love with this magical city!) I will surely stay at this hotel again.

The rooms were tiny, but that didn’t affect us since we were hardly in the rooms at all – we prefer to use as much time as possible discovering the city and sightseeing.
Our room was not very nicely decorated and very old fashion - but it was clean which is the most important thing for us, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was fine.
I had read some comments about this hotel which mentioned bed bugs, therefore I looked at the mattress and revised the corners of the bed and the carpet when I arrived, but all was good and we didn’t have any issues with this.

Our room was on a high floor which helped cut down on the noise, the only bad thing about being on a high floor was having to take the elevator, the elevator was very old and made lots of noise wich was kind of creepy.

Over all we liked the hotel, great value for money! I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a low floor if you are claustrophobic or scared of noisy elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KanguraCharrua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

kleenex box rooms. i get that, it's new york. reserved room months ago at one price.showed up only to find friday & saturday nights had nearly doubled and a half in price. not my fault that the new york marathon was that weekend, and some burro booked us at a lower rate. no advanced notice of the price change. throw in pipes that rattle like thunder, an elevator that was old 50 years ago, and a staff that could care less about anything, and you're all set for a hell of a great time. not!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe32859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#324 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,716 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#308 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 5,209 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#259 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#338 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#184 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,842 reviews
Midtown
Hotel St. James
Hotel St. James
#278 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Property: Mayfair Hotel
Address: 242 W 49th St, New York City, NY 10019-7405
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #361 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small hotel offers small, but charming, accommodations in the theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair New York Hotel
Mayfair New York City
Mayfair Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing