We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky & Friendly”
Review of Moderne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moderne Hotel
Ranked #74 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Funky & Friendly”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Greeted by Robbi @check-in. So incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room was ready for us, 2 queen beds, alley view/fire escape. Nothing to see from the 5th floor on 55th St anyhow. Great location for us to get to Hell's Kitchen restaurants, the park, museums, etc. Room was clean and nicely appointed. Big enough beds & flat screen tv. Closet with a safe, iron/board and even 2 umbrellas. Only real complaint was the gnarly looking pillow in the white pillow case on the bed. Had a big stain on it which I didn't notice until we were leaving. Bathroom is clean with no real counter space, but a great shower. They'll validate the parking at the garage next door for $25/24hr. There's a guest lounge on the 2nd floor with a keurig for coffee, tea, hot choc. Fridge with fresh milk and half and half. Fruit bowl all day, cake in the am. The 2 zebra stripe chairs were comfy (according to my 15 yr old traveling companion) but could have used a good steam cleaning. Overall, it was a nice room with great customer service. Penny at the front desk is lovely and obviously loves what she does. At check out, she said they could store our bags for us while we went out for lunch, etc. When we returned to get our bags, Penny said we were welcome to go up to the lounge and relax if we'd like. She even told us we could each take an item from from the mini bar! I'd definitely stay at the Moderne again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LHorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreas n, Director of Operations at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear LHorch,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I am thrilled to see that our staff was helpful and accommodating.

Please feel free to contact me directly at gm@modernehotelnyc.com so that I can assist in your next booking.

Cheers,
Andreas Nakos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    552
    151
    65
    46
See reviews for
326
807
100
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Wow - what a fantastic find. This hotel was a real punt due to the price of the rooms being reduced.

It was brilliant from start to finish. To start, our original room was not ready at the designated time and without a moments hesitation we got an upgrade to a better room before we had chance to realise what was happening!

The room was clean, well presented and a generous size considering the location. The room came with a 'restaurant guide' where over the 5 nights we had experienced several of these and they were top notch - much better than the restaurants that we found... The bed was ridiculously comfortable and the first night managed to have a massive sleep. It boasted a massive flat screen TV (about 42 inch).

The hotel itself has a 'second floor lounge' with 24 hour tea/ coffee/ hot chocolate and cake in the morning. This was a really nice touch as the coffee was of a decent standard (pod machine) and we had our fair share! Free Wifi of a decent enough speed that sending e-mails was not a problem and you could watch the off youtube video with some extra time for buffering.

Location wise, it is a short stroll (about 5-10 minutes) from Central Park. We walked everywhere with no issues and only used the subway when going to-and-from the airport and also the South Part of the island. We walked to MOMA, Natural History Museum, Empire State building with no real issue.

The staff were friendly and un-introusive and stuck a lovely balance.

Unfortunately New York had too much for our 5 nights, we will definitely be coming back to New York and will be hoping to stay at the Moderne again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreas n, Director of Operations at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear David H,

Thank you for your fantastic review ! We cannot be happier to read your comments !

I am glad to see that you enjoyed our spacious rooms. Cleanliness is one of our top priorities and I am thrilled to see that you found your room to be clean and comfortable for your stay.

I am also glad to see that you were able to enjoy our 2nd floor lounge which provides complimentary fruits, flavored water, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate as well as cake in the morning.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Please feel free to contact me directly at gm@modernehotelnyc.com so that I can assist in your next booking.

Cheers,
Andreas Nakos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Great location but the hotel's best selling points are its staff and quality and cleanliness of the rooms. Nothing is too much for the staff who genuinely care about the guests' experience and want them to enjoy their stay. I would use this hotel as my first choice on any trip to NYC.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SJB656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreas n, Director of Operations at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear SJB656,

Thank you for your amazing review on Tripadvisor !

We always strive for excellence in customer service so it is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your stay and in particular that you found the staff to be helpful. I know the team will be thrilled to read your review.

Please feel free to contact me directly at gm@modernehotelnyc.com so that I can assist in your next booking.

Cheers,
Andreas Nakos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Enjoyed my stay with my daughters. 1st time ever staying in NY and loved that it was this hotel. Robbi provided excellent service and would come back just because of him! Thanks for the wonderful stay.

Erika Ellerson
South Jersey

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erikaa_EE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreas n, Director of Operations at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Erikaa_EE,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Please feel free to contact me directly at gm@modernehotelnyc.com so that I can assist in your next booking.

Cheers,
Andreas Nakos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We booked our third night in NYC at the Moderne and were very happy we did. We needed two rooms, wanted a nice, clean hotel in a good location, and didn't want to spend a small fortune. After reading the reviews, we checked in for a one night stay and had a great experience here. We were greeted so warmly by Robbie. He accommodated our request for a room with 2 beds for our grown children and a king room for us, and he offered to put us on the same floor. We were on the first floor. Our king room was quite small as was our bathroom, but everything was well laid out, spotlessly clean and the bed was heavenly with no street noise whatsoever. We had no view from our window, but we really only slept in the room. The kids had a much larger room with 2 beds and were very comfortable. It was hot in NYC while we were there and we really appreciated the quick response of our room A/C and the ice water and fruit in the second floor lounge. Check out was just as friendly and simple the next morning and the price for the parking garage next door was much more reasonable than what we had paid at our previous hotel. I would not hesitate to stay here again, especially for the great price we received on Hotel Tonight.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreas n, Director of Operations at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Kvc99,

Our team was thrilled to read your amazing review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to see that we were able to provide you with excellent customer service, a clean and comfortable room, and as you mentioned a "heavenly bed" to rest in !

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please contact me directly at gm@modernehotelnyc.com so that I can assist in your next booking.

Cheers,
Andreas Nakos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The staff were helpful and friendly.
The room was very modern and clean.
The bed was big and very comfortable.
Ideally located - a short walk up to Central Park, or down to Times Square, yet far enough away to get a peaceful night's sleep.
What more could one want?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bernidene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreas n, Director of Operations at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Bernidene F,

Thank you from everyone here at The Moderne for your amazing review !

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location in the heart of midtown. We are also delighted to see that you enjoyed your room.

We hope you visit us again soon. Feel free to contact me directly at gm@modernehotelnyc.com so that I can assist in your next booking.

Cheers,
Andreas Nakos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumann, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Friendliest staff I have found. Very helpful and knowledgeable. Excellent location steps away from Broadway and Central park. Room was clean, comfortable and efficient. Would definitely stay here again.Great boutique hotel!



  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Raven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreas n, Director of Operations at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Raven T,

Thank you for the fantastic review !

We always put customer service at the forefront so we are happy to hear that you had such a positive experience with our staff.

We look forward to your next visit. Please feel free to contact me directly at gm@modernehotelnyc.com so that I can assist in your next booking.

Cheers,
Andreas Nakos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
5,059 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#103 of 467 in New York City
1,602 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#112 of 467 in New York City
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 467 in New York City
2,696 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 467 in New York City
5,091 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 467 in New York City
2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne Hotel

Property: Moderne Hotel
Address: 243 W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#98 Family Hotel in New York City
#103 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moderne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient midtown location on 55th street and Broadway - Hotel is decorated in ultra contemporary style. Guests always enjoy the proximity of our New York hotel to the Theater District, Times Square, Central Park, and so many other popular destinations in the city. Along with Moderne Hotel’s central NYC location, guests may also enjoy our 2nd floor guest lounge, overlooking the busy city streets. Here, you can relax by sipping complimentary tea and coffee in front of a fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moderne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel New York City
Moderne New York City
Moderne Hotel Nyc
Hotel Moderne New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing