We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Moderne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moderne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moderne Hotel
Ranked #106 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Moderne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Overall I'd still recommend this place. Excellent location and reasonable rate. The interior design is fancy; not my cup of tea but it looks good. Free wifi is another plus. However, I'm not very satisfied with the house keeping. Some towels given to us weren't clean. Another problem I had is that the heater wasn't working well. The temperature stayed at low 70's even though I set up the heat to 80 F.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank csu398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear csu398,

Thank you for review, I am happy to know that you enjoyed our staff and our second floor lounge. I am sorry for the mechanical issues that happened while you stayed with us in our heating and A/C and I have discussed this issue with our teams.

I do hope to welcome you back and please feel free to contact me directly at Jgoldberg@amsterdamhospitality.com so that I can assist in your next stay.

Best,
Jon Goldberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    488
    130
    54
    43
See reviews for
248
674
84
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centerbrook
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Worst bathroom facilities ever. Dangerous, no mat or shower door and when showering bathroom floods. No room service and second floor had nothing to offer even bottled water. Oh and a few old apples.
Rooms were smelly and I found and had to kill two roaches in our bed. Unbelievable .never has this happened to me. Decor style is tacky at least.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Glynn422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Glynn422,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and I am sorry that we fell below your expectations, as this should not have occurred as we strive to create a memorable experience for all our guest .

I do hope we can discuss this further and please feel free to contact me at jgoldberg@amsterdamhospitality.com

Warm regards,
Jon Goldberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The rooms at this hotel are very small, and dark. If you stay here, I would advise paying a little more for a suite so you have a bigger room with more light. The problem is it is more noisy with the windows since there is no sound proofing. The light from the door to the hallway may bother some people since there are big gaps. I really liked the 2nd floor lounge for water. It was also great that there was a mini fridge in all the rooms. The location was great, and the service was outstanding.That alone would make me want to return. The value for this property is also very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stefanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Stefanie,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our staff as they strive to create a memorable experience for our guest!

I do hope we can welcome you back in the future and please feel free to contact me directly at jgoldberg@amsterdamhospitality.com so that I can assist with your next stay.

Warm regards,
Jon Goldberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

It was our first trip to New York, the hotel was a good price in a great location with very friendly, helpful staff. The room was great as well. Thanks for making our stay so good. I would highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Jackie W,

Thank you so much for your comments about your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

I hope that we can welcome you back and please feel free to contact me directly at Jgoldberg@amsterdamhospitality.com so that I can assist with your next booking.

Best,
Jon Goldberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We enjoyed the stay at you hotel. The room was very nice and everything we needed was there. The location was also a plus. Easy access to Times Square, Carnegie Hall, 5th Avenue. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear David W,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, I am thrilled to know that you enjoyed yourself and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Please feel free to contact me directly at jgoldberg@amsterdamhospitality.com so that I can assist in your next booking.

Warm regards,
Jon Goldberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights with my two kids. The staff went above and beyond to ensure that we had all of our needs met. The rooms are small but average by New York standards. The room was well appointed, super clean with a great bathroom. We used the lounge on the 2nd floor if we required more room to spread out as a family. The free hot chocolate was a hit with the kids. The location was perfect, easy access to the subway, central park and restaurants. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshallsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear marshallsun,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding our staff and your experience at Moderne.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future and please feel free to contact me directly at Jgoldberg@amsterdamhospitality.com so that I can assist with your next stay.

Warm regards,
Jon Goldberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Great décor, great staff, great location. The beds were a wonderous fluffy down and oh so comfy. Rooms were small but did the trick. Location an easy stroll to all the places I wanted to go, and right off a major subway line for places farther out. I rate this hotel very very highly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Janet C,

Thank you very much for your review!! We are so happy to know that we were a good base for you while experience NYC!

We do hope to welcome you back in the future and please feel free to contact me directly at jgoldberg@amsterdamhospitality.com so that I can assist with your next stay.

Best,
Jon Goldberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#102 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#159 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,788 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#61 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
West 57th Street by Hilton Club
West 57th Street by Hilton Club
#67 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#127 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#211 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne Hotel

Property: Moderne Hotel
Address: 243 West 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#99 Family Hotel in New York City
#103 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moderne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient midtown location on 55th street and Broadway - Hotel is decorated in ultra contemporary style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Moderne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel New York City
Moderne New York City
Moderne Hotel Nyc
Hotel Moderne New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing