We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff-Great location”
Review of Moderne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moderne Hotel
Ranked #78 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Mykonos, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing staff-Great location”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The Moderne Hotel is so close to Times Square and Metro stations that you won't regret the money spent for the room. It is a bit pricey, but isn't it all in New York? And it's the Times Square area, afterall. The building is old and it has been refurbished, the rooms also and they have the overall feeling of the new, modern, clean, polished room, yet some details of the quick renovation can be seen from those with an eye for the detail. We aren't picky and we loved our stay. The personnel just so helpful in every aspect (they gave us the other room we asked for, they made financial issues easy and they were happy all the time!).
Would return here in future and I strongly recommend this place. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Meli-Melita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Meli-Melita,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the staff to be amazing and helpful. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Please reach out to me whenever you wish to return so that I may personally arrange your accommodations. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    549
    147
    64
    46
See reviews for
317
799
99
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great people at front desk, trendy decorations, comfortable beds, and best of all - LOCATION! It's not too spacious but who comes to NYC to sit in their hotel room? This is directly across from the pub that inspired to bar in the show "How I Met Your Mother", and a quick walk to Times Square and the Subways. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank STLJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear STLJim,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us! It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Please reach out to me whenever you wish to return so that I may personally arrange your accommodations. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Have just returned from five nights at the Moderne! It's in a very central location. Room was a bit small but this is NYC and is to be expected! Room was nicely decorated and clean and the bed was so comfortable. Robbi on the front desk was really friendly and helpful! Only downside to being a small hotel was they could not offer a late checkout which isn't great when you are waiting for an overnight flight back to the UK! Other than that we had a fab time, would definitely return and would recommend to others!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear shortly13,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you had such a fabulous stay with us and that you enjoyed the location, decor, and cleanliness of the hotel. Robbi will be very pleased to hear your compliments on his service as well. Please reach out to me personally whenever you wish to return in the future. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Moderne was the perfect place for a comfortable home base for our excursions to watch a play in the theater district, see the Daily Show, walk through Central Park, and visit some museums. These were all within walking distance of the hotel. The staff were all friendly and helpful, and we really appreciated having the guest lounge. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Ashley H,
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location, Guest Lounge facility, and the friendly service you received at the hotel. Please reach out to me whenever you wish to return so that I may personally arrange your accommodations. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Loved the location room was clean Robbi Moss at the front desk was a sweet heart! Made mine and my boyfriends special occasion stay a whole lot better!!! Would return just for the professional and courteous service alone!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Kristah V,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It also warms us to hear that the service provided by Robbi had such a positive impact on your stay. Please reach out to me whenever you wish to return as we would love to welcome you back. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Other than a super location, this hotel was terribly uncomfortable. Cool wallpaper does not a great hotel make....The room was 86 degrees when I checked in (which wasn't until 3:30, there were no rooms ready) and 57 degrees when I checked out (after two maintenance visits)(drag...).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Barbara W,
Thank you for your review. Although we are glad that you enjoyed our location, we regret to hear that you felt uncomfortable with the temperature in your room. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments. Please reach out to me if you wish to discuss your stay further. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future and ensure that your next stay is ideal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I had the most amazing experience, as a guest at Moderne Hotel. I can not tell you how pleasantly surprised that I was to see how trendy and hip the hotel was. I felt like I walked into an upscale lounge, within an opulent and affluent hotel. The decor and the rooms are incredible. Just walking into the lobby, you get a preview of how chic this boutique hotel is. I had the opportunity to be checked in by Robbi Moss. I travel a lot, and stay in many hotels, and I wish that other hotels had someone like Robbi at their front desk, like the Moderne. He was professional, courteous, and his personality warmed us up, especially coming in out of a cold Winter's night. He knows how to treat your guests, and is phenomenal. I have experienced many check-ins and other hotels, an in my candid opinion, they can learn a thing or two about making their very first impression (check-in), a truly lasting one. Thanks Robbi for starting off our stay on the best way possible! I will never forget you or the Moderne Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela F, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear travelcricket,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. It also warms us to hear that Robbi had such a positive impact on you during your stay. He will be very pleased to hear your compliments on his service. Please reach out to me whenever you wish to stay again as we would love to welcome you back. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#140 of 468 in New York City
4,969 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#97 of 468 in New York City
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,631 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#62 of 468 in New York City
5,014 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 468 in New York City
4,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne Hotel

Property: Moderne Hotel
Address: 243 W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#83 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#98 Family Hotel in New York City
#103 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moderne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient midtown location on 55th street and Broadway - Hotel is decorated in ultra contemporary style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moderne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel New York City
Moderne New York City
Moderne Hotel Nyc
Hotel Moderne New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing