We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Modern Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Moderne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moderne Hotel
Ranked #92 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Flushing, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Modern Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

The hotel is really small; you'd easily walk by it on the street. However the hotel, like the name suggests, is very modern. The Lobby is small but the space is used well, the hallways are very colorful from the wallpaper selection but what I am really excited about is the room. The room size is as expected. I had the choice of choosing either a king bed or the only room with a balcony, only downside to the balcony room is that it does not have a king bed, it has a queen. The room was clean with a nice little closet, perfect size for a short stay. It had an iron and an ironing board along with a safe. The desk and chair, though necessary, made the room seem a little crowded. The rooms are generally for two people however there was one robe, I asked for another however it was never brought up. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was really cool; there is no counter space in the bathroom. The shower is not separated from the rest of the bathroom; to one corner is the sink, to the next the toilet and the other the shower. The idea of the shower not being separated is cool, but became problematic after you shower and then go back to use the bathroom; the entire floor is wet and cold. Maybe heated floors could remedy this dilemma. The balcony, being the reason I chose this room in the first place, proved to be lackluster. The size of the balcony was not an issue, it was bare with construction materials tucked to one side with no awning covering it to prevent us from getting wet from rain. All in all the location was great, it isn't too far from Times Square or other trains but is far enough that you won't feel overwhelmed by all the hubbub of the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimoyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear TimoyL,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    538
    147
    62
    46
See reviews for
300
777
97
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is well located, quiet, and clean. The bed was comfortable. Bathroom was nice enough although no counter space. The most problematic issue is the unrelenting darkness. Our only window lead to a dark air shaft. Granted, we could have gotten better for a higher price. But, if you have no natural light, then add light bulbs! Nope. Only dim lights. And the walls and carpet are shades of black, aggravating the issue. The breakfast was lame. Coffee and pound cake and fruit. The breakfast room had one six chair table and couches because no one eats breakfast there. They should change it to small tables and provide a slightly better breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jmisdraji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear jmisdraji,

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your commentary. As the items offered on the second floor lounge are complimentary and available twenty four hours a day, we do not see them as breakfast but rather just a light refreshment. We are actually in the process of switching out all of our light bulbs and hope you will come back to see the improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here on the 7th floor, close to CITIBIKES and Broadway, Central Park and the mall at Columbus Circle. We walked from Port Authority for a four day stay. The hotel lobby is very small, the service isn't bad. The beds were fantastic, really comfortable, but for US$300 that was about the most luxurious offering. No HBO, no restaurant, only one small elevator which is SLOW, the rooms aren't tiny or enormous. Probably good for first time in NY because of location, but don't expect any frills. After a day pounding the pavement, those beds were divine.

Room Tip: Get a room at the end of the floor. Make sure you're facing the street or it could be dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dibbyfromtheblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear dibbyfromtheblock,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property. We agree that our location is fantastic and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

After looking at probabaly 100 NYC hotels i decided on The Moderne for our 4 night stint in 'the Big Apple'. The location is perfect for 1st timers in the city, 2 blocks to Central park, 5 to Timesquare and Broadway, there is lots of places to eat close by andeasy access to the subway for anywhere not in walking distance.
The Moderne is a cute little Boutique Hotel, nestled in amongst the bigger buildings its easy to miss if your not looking for it. Our room was teeny tiny but moderne (hehe) and comfortable, the bathroom had a great shower but did leak a little.
Our window faced another building so no view and quite dark but I saw this as a blessing in disguise as there was no noise to deal with, i'm guessing if you faced the street the trucks that came out of the place next door 24/7 would be very noisy.
All in all, i was very happy with our experience at this hotel, the desk clerks were always friendly and helped us out with directions and a car to the airport when it was time to leave. Only qualm is that the elevator was quite slow and the wifi woudl always drop out.

Room Tip: You'll find it very difficult to find anything under $250 a night in this area of the city thats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Stephanie K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property! We are delighted to hear that you chose to stay with us for your first trip to NYC and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Decided to stay at the Moderne Hotel for 7 nights after a friend recommended it to us. We arrived at 9:30 in the morning and the hotel was lovely enough to have our room ready immediately, so we could relax after a 25 hour flight from Sydney. We couldn't have been happier with the location of the hotel (a 10 minute walk to Times Sq and a 5 minute walk to Central Park) and also the size of the room. It is common knowledge that the rooms in New York are small but not the room we stayed in! We had a king bed, but also a large sofa bed (which we used as a couch) and also a large cupboard and a tv unit. We were also impressed with the selection of hot beverages (available at all times of the day) and cake every morning for breakfast along with a selection of fruits. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to NYC even a family with 2 small children. Left NYC very impressed and upon our return (hopefully in the near future) we will definitely be staying there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street. We had 3 large windows and could open 2 of them up for some fresh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haroula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Haroula A,

Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are thrilled that you enjoyed yourselves! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights on recommendation from a friend,we checked in after midnight and were greeted and checked in very quickly and simply. The rooms are quite small and there is no view but I understand that is standard for NYC. On level 2 they have a coffee machine and cakes/muffins available for guests.
The location is fantastic, we were able to walk to Times Square in 2 minutes and transport is seconds from the door.
All the concierge staff were helpful, Robbie was the most cheerful and friendly of all the concierge staff, very much enjoyed chatting with him!
Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Holly H,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We think our staff is pretty great as well! We appreciate all of your kind words and are so happy your friend referred you! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here for two nights to meet up with friends and see an opera. It is a comfortable little hotel right near Lincoln Centre, without the huge price tag. Very close to the subway, restaurants and shops.

The furnishings and design are very modern. My room did not have a window - not very important to me, as I really only used the room to sleep. In the morning, I was able to hear "house noises" - the creaks and pipes associated with the normal days' comings and goings. The nights were very quiet.

Robbi, the young gentlemen behind the desk, could not have been nicer to me. He took me under his wing - humorous and truly caring! You can tell he really does like his job - a true professional. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara991966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Barbara991966,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your kind words! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#103 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,521 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne Hotel

Property: Moderne Hotel
Address: 243 W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#98 Family Hotel in New York City
#103 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moderne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient midtown location on 55th street and Broadway - Hotel is decorated in ultra contemporary style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moderne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel New York City
Moderne New York City
Moderne Hotel Nyc
Hotel Moderne New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing