We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay close to midtown attractions”
Review of Moderne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Moderne Hotel
Ranked #83 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were visiting the big apple for the US open tennis tournament for the weekend. The hotel staff was responsive to my preferences for a room with natural light and they actually upgraded me to a junior suite upon arrival. The suite was spacious by NYC standards and had modern furnishings. The lounge on the second floor serves tea/coffee and light pastry (we had 2 different choices of cakes on consecutive days). The check in process was as efficient as it should be and the wifi worked great. The front desk was very polite and friendly. Not all rooms are created equal so guests that don't get a room facing the street may feel claustrophobic, make sure you request for a room facing 55th st. The only negative I can think of is that the elevator was slow. It looks like an old building so I can understand why that would be the case. Although we were so close to central park, the best we could manage in the limited time we had was a drive through the park :) This is easily the best value for the money situated in a great location. We did manage to walk to times square at midnight and enjoyed being there. Would definitely consider this again when we come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmusings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear travelmusings,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your kind words! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and hope you enjoyed the US Open!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,853)
There are newer reviews for Moderne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,080 - 1,086 of 1,853 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Of course, it always depends on what you are looking for! Me and my husband wanted a clean and fresh hotel that was in the center of Manhattan- and thatś what we got!
In our bookin we asked for a room on a higher level with street view, and that wan't a problem, we got exactely what we wanted!
We got a big room with queen, couch and table, and a big tv. The beds where very comfortable! Free wifi all over the hotel, including the room.
The staff was very friendly and helped us to print out tickets and check in to our flight when we were leaving.
The location was perfect! Five minutes walk to Central Park, 10-15 minutes walk to Times Squere. If you want to go down to lower manhattan the subway was only minutes away. If you are staying five days or more- by a 7 days ticket for the subway, it will be worth it!
The hotel does not serve breakfast but that is’nt a problem! They have free coffe and the, and there is a lot of places that serve breakfast closeby, the closest only a two minutes walk!
There are also a lot of restaurants in the neigborhood!

We didn't miss a thing during our stay, and would definately stay here again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tusseluss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Tusseluss,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a delightful review! We are so happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your kind words! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Moderne htl NYC.
Amazing location and excellent service.
We" ll be back sooner.
Friendly environment ,5 stars bedding .
The only thing is missing is a coffee maker in the room.We are coffee lovers!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a good place do not search too long,go for this amazing place!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veruska2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear veruska2111,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review; we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you review! We hope you were able to enjoy the coffee service that is available 24 hours a day in the second floor guest lounge and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have stayed at The Moderne twice now. I love the location - about mid-way between Central Park and Times Square. The rooms are nice enough but pretty small. The building is easy to miss when driving past so keep your eyes peeled. The decor is very modern with a lot of black and white with touches of chrome.

The staff are very helpful and relatively knowledgable about the area and they have a concierge service they call if there is anything they aren't sure about.

All in all, I'm happy to stay here every time I visit NYC

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Dan N,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have continued to book with us! We appreciate your comments and are striving to improve on each of your stays. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location/ very accessible to shopping districts, natural markets, theaters, resturaunts.
The young lady at the front desk was kind, professional and welcoming- that made a strong impression. The roomspace was bright, clean with a comfortable kingsize bed that w great pillows that filled the room. Would upgrade to the next level of room in the future. Its a Japan sized hotel room-fine for single person or a couple resting and recovering w a good Flatscreen and decent channels - tight space.

They serviced a plumbing problem superfast, but left the towels used to sop up water on the bathroom floor.

stuff happens... would visit again and catch a show / shop

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meila216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear meila216,

Thank you! We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on our property to others and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. While I am happy to hear that your issue was resolved quickly, I apologize that you were left with a mess, this will definitely be addressed! We think our staff is pretty awesome as well and appreciate you sharing your opinions with others. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

He haven chosen this hotel because of its excellent location in the middle of New York. Because of its size between all those huge buildings, you will almost miss it.
+ modern style
+ location
- very slow lift

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geotrupidae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Geotrupidae,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are so happy you enjoyed our little 'oasis' in the middle of Manhattan and hope you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying a night at The Moderne Hotel on West 55th St. in NYC, and it was quite a surprise. My daughter and I were only staying one night, and I had gotten the hotel on Orbitz for under $200, so my expectations were pretty low. To my surprise, though, the hotel was clean and spacious. The décor is very "modern" and fun, and they have 24 hour room service! The location is terrific -- only a few block from Central Park and Times Square, and because it is tucked away on 55th, it is very quiet. What a winning combination.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 405 for a spacious 2 bed room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank standpood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear standpood,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review! We are delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! We always match any rates found online so please do not hesitate to contact us directly before booking your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#126 of 468 in New York City
5,219 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#118 of 468 in New York City
1,268 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#112 of 468 in New York City
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 468 in New York City
2,806 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#28 of 468 in New York City
1,334 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#76 of 468 in New York City
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne Hotel

Address: 243 W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#97 Family Hotel in New York City
#103 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $191 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moderne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient midtown location on 55th street and Broadway - Hotel is decorated in ultra contemporary style. Guests always enjoy the proximity of our New York hotel to the Theater District, Times Square, Central Park, and so many other popular destinations in the city. Along with Moderne Hotel’s central NYC location, guests may also enjoy our 2nd floor guest lounge, overlooking the busy city streets. Here, you can relax by sipping complimentary tea and coffee in front of a fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelPower, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moderne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel New York City
Moderne New York City
Moderne Hotel Nyc
Hotel Moderne New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing