We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moderne Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$188
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$330
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$187
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$161
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$185
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$167
$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$241
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$309
$215
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$229
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,020)
Filter reviews
2,020 results
Traveler rating
1,121
613
162
70
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,121
613
162
70
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest loungecentral parknew yorkgreat locationtimes squarefire escapesmall hotelbrick wallsecond floor loungecolumbus circlecupcakesfree coffeehell's kitchenjunior suitefront desk stafflincoln centerking bed
Filter
Updating list...
1,248 - 1,253 of 2,020 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for work who had prepaid the room. First impression not brilliant given tiny lobby and ancient lift.

Room is fine and clean. Bed looks great but terrible soft old mattress. Bathroom tiny but good shower and overall the bathroom just about works (apart from fixtures falling off the wall). Wifi is free but then it always should be!

The downsides....as someone else mentions being in a room where the window faces a wall two feet away is like sleeping in a cave. Zero light which is just depressing.

Aircon is incredibly noisy. So given heat outside the options are to sleep in a quiet sauna or a cool room with lots of noise.

There is a room service menu which is very limited and the food is collected from a diner over the road and delivered in a bag! It is (unsurprisingly) awful. I've never seen that done in any hotel anywhere in the world. There is a reason.

They don't replace water/snacks when eaten. When I called to ask for a bottle of water they said the diner didn't have any or I could go and get a glass from the lounge! This is $250 a night and I can't get a bottle of water in my room or eat anything edible.

They advertise a fitness centre. This is in a sister hotel a block away and is extremely limited.

Awful quality tv in the room and no movies. Also you can't get a drink here!! Couldn't get a beer or bottle of wine delivered to the room. So basically you pay to sleep in a cave in a good location but otherwise get zero out of it. It isn't a hotel in the way I think of hotels - just a place to sleep at night and no more.

If work hadn't prepaid and I hadn't just started a new job I would have checked out and moved.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Beard3894,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and are upset that we were not made aware of your concerns while you were staying with us. Our mattresses are less than three years old and are a favorite of many of our guests (please see previous reviews), we have additional padding that we put on the beds for guests that appreciate something softer if a guest mentions it. All of our bathroom fixtures are also less than three years old (and again a huge favorite of many of our guests) and no one has ever mentioned anything about something falling off of a wall.

While our rooms do face the wall next door, they are extremely quiet which is why our hotel is so popular and we were never made aware that the air conditioning unit was too loud. Our room service is from an outside source, however it is plated and on a tray, perhaps you had ordered take out?

We also replace everything from our mini bars on a daily basis, including all bottled water. The second floor lounge does have complimentary coffee, tea, fruit, and water 24 hours a day so perhaps the associate you were speaking to was confused by your request. The fitness center is a block away and is brand new. While we have not yet received approval for our liquor license, there is a bar directly across the street and numerous liquor stores less than a block away.

We're very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and wish that you had made us aware of your concerns during your stay so that we could have helped to improve your experience. Please consider staying with us again on your next visit so that you can experience everything the Moderne truly has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed a total of 5 nights at this hotel and there were ups and downs. When we arrived, about midnight the first night, we were informed our room was not available so they sent us to another hotel. After a long day of travel it was frustrating to have to get back in a cab and go downtown to the next property which was definitely subpar.
Once we were allowed to return to our room we found it to be super clean, decent sized and nice amenities. (Fridge, big tv, free coffee and lots of outlets.) However, the tv didn't get a signal for all the channels, we had to ask for toilet paper twice, an extra comforter three times and the bed was the hardest I've ever slept on. (And we've traveled to Europe.)
We had zero natural light in our room, (#303) but I think that's standard for the standard room. If you ask for street view, you may actually see sunlight. No natural light was like sleeping in a cave- but some people enjoy that. And it was very quiet for NYC.
All in all a nice boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Samantha H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property! We were so sorry to have to move you the first evening but we were glad to hear that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay with us and hope that the additional padding helped with the firmness of your bed. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at The Moderne for five nights at the end of June and were very impressed.
The location is absolutely perfect for any tourists visiting NYC as it is in the heart of the theatre district a short walk from Central Park, Times Square and Hells Kitchen.
Don't be put off by the outside view of the entrance which was rather underwhelming compared with the impression that the photos on their website gave us. Once inside you are introduced to an interior designers magic, which may not be to everybody's personal taste, but you can not fault their efforts. On the 1st floor there is a lounge area where complementary refreshments are available 24/7 including cakes and fruit. All of the communal areas were clean and well maintained, the only criticism we had was that they have the slowest elevator in NYC, if not the world!
Our room was non-smoking with a king-size bed and en-suite bathroom. The room was spotlessly clean and was serviced everyday with fresh towels and linen. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in - which is a great complement from me as I have recently had back surgery and struggle to sleep at the best of times. The mini-bar fridge in the room had ample space for you to put your own refreshments in. The in-room safe comfortably fitted our iPads, etc and there was plenty of room to store your clothes in the closet and chest of drawers. The room had a large flat screen TV with 30+ channels, iPod dock and complementary wi-fi which represents a considerable saving when you take into consideration what some hotels are charging daily for wi-fi ($15+). The view from our hotel window was of the rear of another building which isn't unusual for smaller buildings (below 10 floors) in NYC, however I'm sure if we had requested a room with a street view they would have done their best to accommodate us.
Well placed, well priced and well looked after - what more can you ask for?

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bryanm288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Bryan M,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and informative review! We think our location is pretty special as well and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Moderne the first few days of July. Wonderful location: close to subway, Central Park, Times Square, etc. location can't be beat. Service was great. Kind, helpful, friendly. Loved the rooms. AC worked great. Very clean and funky decor. Comfy beds too. Came for my sisters birthday and when we checked in there were 6 mini cupcakes and a note in our room. Such a thoughtful gesture. Price is right too. Great find for this area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wns141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear wns141,

Thank you for such a lovely review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your trip and are happy to hear that your sister enjoyed her birthday! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews