We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Moderne fit the bill!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moderne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moderne Hotel
Ranked #102 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Long Neck, Delaware
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Moderne fit the bill!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

First stay at The Moderne Hotel in NYC.....must agree with the other reviews. Very nice, clean hotel. I had a huge room...probably would have been considered a suite elsewhere in NYC. King bed, couch, mini fridge, flat screen and beautiful bathroom. I was on the 4th floor, room overlooked 55th Street which was very noisy. Select another "view" if you want quiet. Didn't use the lounge area , except to get some water.
Hotel lobby is very small and unimpressive and elevator is old and small and slow.....but the room was very modern and comforting.

Only complaint is that when I checked in there was no offer of help with luggage and no bellman...also big no no for a hotel...my wake up call NEVER came in the morning!! Upon check out, there was baggage help and he even walked me to the corner to hail me a cab. I would definitely stay here again if the price is right.

Room Tip: Choose room wisely and mention to them if you want a quiet location. Rooms facing 55th street are NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eliedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear eliedoll,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we were so sorry to hear that you did not receive your wake up call! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    534
    145
    62
    46
See reviews for
291
762
97
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Great location, helpful staff & good value for money considering its a 5minute walk from time square & the best 99c pizza shop around the corner! Would definitely stay here again as they also offer discounts if U return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Joyce C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and agree that we are situated in a fantastic area! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Creek, GA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our 1st trip to New York; had no idea where to stay...The Moderne Hotel was very clean, staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathroom did not have a rail to hold to which I would have liked and didn't have any room to lay anything down much in the bathroom; but overall, was a great hotel.

Room Tip: Very good location; room was small but was only there to sleep so was fine; clean; friendly; would d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear JoAnn W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind words! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Well, the bed and pillows were awesome too...
Great location, very cozy and a wonderful staff.
Artsy decor that is easy on the eyes and sets the mood for exploring 'big city' life.
I can just imagine how many people went home and changed their color schemes after staying here, not realizing how subliminally thay had been affected.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sppcpastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear sppcpastor,

Thank you so much for such kind words and for taking the time to post such a lovely review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here and hope you enjoy the rest of your trek along the east coast! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have just returned from a week staying in the Moderne and are very happy to recommend this small friendly hotel.
Located just 5 minutes walk from both Times Square and Central Park the location was excellent and enabled us to walk to everywhere in the city, although we did need a few beers after the marathon walk to Battery Park and back. Even though you are on the doorstep of Times Square with the Ed Sullivan Theatre just round the corner, because we were tucked down a side street there was no noise to disturb us throught the night.
A lot of people on this site had commented on the size of the rooms being small but we found our room perfect for the amount of time we spent in it. The bed was huge and very comfortable with lovely feather pillows and we especially loved the bathroom with the immacuatelly clean rainfall shower and thick brilliant white towels. There was pleanty of hangers and drawers for all of our clothes to be put away and even room to store the 2 suitcases in the bottom of the wardrobe.
The tea and coffe machine on the 2nd floor was a lovely touch. I had brought teabags from the UK as I need my cuppa to start the day but didn't need to use then at all and the morning cake was a great touch to go with it and filled us until lunchtime.
All of the staff were friendly but we have to especially mention Victoria. She was lovely and helped with everything we needed and more. We have only marked the hotel down slightly on service as there seemed to be a lack communication between day shift and night shift. After we checked out on our last morning our travel agent phoned to urgently let us know our flight had been cancelled back to the UK but when we returned to change and collect our bags at 5pm we weren't given the message. Luckily we arrived at Newark in plenty of time to still get a taxi to JFK and catch the last flight out of there.
We would definately return to this hotel when we get the chance to come back to New York.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian_David_6267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Gillian_David_6267,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We hope you arrived home safely and are now relaxing from all of the exercising you did on your vacation! We sincerely appreciate your kind words and can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

very well located, attentive crew. Amazing comfortable and room. Unforgeatable experience in New York. Strongly recommended. The only negative point is the poor breakfast...but the cost benefit that worth. The bed holds you to get up on time...very comfortable

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Eduardo284,

Thank you so much for your kind words! The second floor guest lounge offers complimentary tea, coffee, water and fresh fruit twenty-four hours a day and flavored coffee cake from 7-10 every morning, but we do not call this breakfast. Our pricing is so competitive in our market as we do not have a breakfast service. Our guest beds were custom made and we totally understand your comments on it - it can be difficult to leave! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed at the Moderne the night of Friday 31 May 2013. I got there about 9 am, so my room wasn't ready, but the staff took it, and gave me directions for The Met. It's within walking distance, but there was a heat wave last week (90F), so I should have taken the bus or a cab.

The room was spotlessly clean, the bed one of the most comfortable I've been in. I did not have a problem with the A/C. The room was not when I got there, as was the hallway, but it cooled off quickly. I didn't turn on the TV, but there was a big flat screen on the wall. There is free WiFi with a password, but I didn't use that, since my iPad has 4G and I wasn't doing much online.

The bathroom is ultra modern, with a shower head and hand spray in the corner of the bathroom, and no specific shower stall. Kind of cool. The website says there is a hair dryer, but I didn't see it. The room was small, but not cramped. The bathroom could have used a spot to put toiletries, instead of having to balance them on the large sink. But nothing fell or broke. Plenty of soft towels. I was in the back, in room 605, and there was no outside noise. The window, which was covered in an apparently stationary Roman shade, looks out into a light well with a fire escape.

The room on 2 for a light breakfast served filtered water with limes, your choice of coffee, tea or hot chocolate via the Keurig coffee system, and a big bowl of assorted fruit.

The most outstanding thing about the Moderne was the staff. They were, without exception, kind and friendly. I didn't get the feeling that this was due to training, but rather gifted staff selection. It was a true pleasure dealing with them.

I plan to return and stay at the Moderne. Great location for all sorts of trips.

Room Tip: I'm going to try a room in the front overlooking the street next time, because I like natural li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Martha W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely and informative review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and sincerely appreciate all of your kind words! We look forward to welcoming you back in the (hopefully) near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,770 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#114 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne Hotel

Property: Moderne Hotel
Address: 243 W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#99 Family Hotel in New York City
#103 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moderne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient midtown location on 55th street and Broadway - Hotel is decorated in ultra contemporary style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Moderne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel New York City
Moderne New York City
Moderne Hotel Nyc
Hotel Moderne New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing