We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Boutique Hotel”
Review of Moderne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moderne Hotel
Ranked #80 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel that is quiet (for NY standards), intimate, affordable, and near Times Square, this is your place. My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights. We were upgraded to a suite, which probably makes me slightly partial.

The staff were wonderful throughout our stay. My only complaint was that there was only one elevator for the 8 floors of the hotel. We never had to wait because there was too many people riding, but on occasion, the housekeeping staff had to run to the basement and it slowed the elevator traffic.

The bed was comfortable, bathroom was functional, and the amenities were workable. I would stay here again without hesitation. This place does not have a lot of bells and whistles that you might get elsewhere, but if you don't need those things, this will work well.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BigDoerr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear BigDoerr25,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience! We are delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,960)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,226 - 1,232 of 1,960 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

The bellman was thoughtful enough to ask if I'd like the wifi access code while I waited in the lounge for my room to be readied (I had arrived much earlier than the usual check-in time.) The front desk staff found an item that I had left behind and mailed it back to me. Just two highlights of a friendly staff. The room was quiet and dark - slept very well, especially in NYC. The location is extremely convenient with easy subway access to all parts of Manhattan and other boroughs.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms provide easy access to lounge as it's on the same floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Julia C,

Thank you so much for your kind words about your stay with us! We think our staff is pretty great as well and are thrilled to hear that you agreed! We are so happy you had a good time and can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The location is excellent. The hotel is halfway between Time Square and Central Park. All major attractions are very close and there are several subway stations to move inside Manhattan.
The room was clean and quiet. The bathroom was comfortable with a big shower.
The reception staff was very kind and gave us many precious suggestions (like the best places to eat).
We will book this hotel again for our next journey in New York.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gallinacido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear gallinacido,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a response! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we think our location and staff are unbeatable as well! We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Ashley Mahon, the Hotel Manager at the Moderne understood that I arrived in town early with a migraine so she worked hard to get a room cleaned quickly so I could lay down. My husband and I were also upgraded to a larger room. The room was beautiful and spotless and the bed was unbelievably comfortable. It helped my head a lot. The gave us restaurant recommendations for lunch which turned out well. Everyone we spoke to on the staff was very kind. They were, especially Ashley, extremely professional and hospitable. If you book directly through the hotel, you get a 15% discount on your next stay. I found the price the same at Hotels.com so I went directly to the hotel. I highly recommend the Moderne.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiWron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear KiWron,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are so happy to hear that your headache did not ruin your overall experience! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I booked this based on the reviews. I think the reviews sold me on the cleanliness and service.
I was disappointed, after I emailed the hotel in advance of this being a special occasion, there was no mention of the occasion when we arrived.
The room was very small which was fine. But the bathroom was tiny. Too tiny. If I flipped my towel to tie it around my head it hit the toilet. The shower was intended to be modern but the "glass wall" (no curtain or door) wasn't long enough so there was a pool of water after every use.
My second day there was a towel laid on the floor underneath the window that never left the spot during our 5 day stay. My husband didn't want me to inquire and I didn't bother.
The decoration was modern (it's the hotel's name so no other adjective) but dark. So, an already small room was even smaller. Window view was a brick wall so the drawn shade makes it like you are sleeping in a cave.
There were cracks in the bathroom ceiling and my comforter cover had a hole.

This hotel has a European feel but for a couple on their first vacation away from the kids, I was hoping for a little more.
I recently stayed at the Sheraton and the room size, for NY was a lot better.
We were hardly in the room, of course, but still looking for a retreat to soothe tired feet.

Regardless, wifi included, absolutely excellent location, this would be a perfect selection for singles or couples who haven't had kids yet.

If you are wondering why I didn't say anything about the occasion or the towel, I was too lazy, but if service was so great should I have to?

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear TL75,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and wish that you would have brought your concerns to our attention so that we could have adjusted them to make your stay more enjoyable.Our staff strives to ensure that all of our guests have the best experience possible and we are sorry to hear that we did not achieve this with you. We hope that you will consider us again on your next stay so that we can show you all that the Moderne has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Reception was "educational". Our room had a window in a funnel/lightwell. They could do a lot more for a tasteful breakfast (european style) for the same costs. Most TV-channels are unlikely analoge - in "digital satellite time" there must´nt be problems to get european channels in different languages too. Courtesy room for short refreshing after check-out ist a great offer! Location is superb, only 10 minutes to Times Square or Central Park. Room is very noisy, door is not sound absorbing but selfclosing; locking was not possible. The flush has been leaky, permanent back filling buged. In fact nice design, average hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Booked a standard room which was average overall. The bed was below average for comfort, but it wasn't terrible. Room was very clean though. The first night we stayed, our neighbours on the same floor woke us up repeatedly throughout the night. Constantly in and out of the room, hanging out in the hallway, etc. We mentioned our concerns to the desk staff and they assured is it wouldn't happen again. The second night was worse. Talked to the night staff around midnight and then again at about 4am when we found someone sleeping in the hallway. Took a picture to show the staff, but little was done. After two nights of no sleep, they put us in a suite which was much better. The bed in the suite was 100% better, but we basically wasted half a day trying to get some rest. Sadly, we were there for my wife's Birthday and it was her first time in NYC, so the trip overall was disappointing. For the money, I'd recommend staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Book a suite or stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JesseL1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear JesseL1515,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property. Our staff was very aware of the situations you encountered with the neighboring room and did our best to accommodate both parties. Whenever there is an issue with another room, we always immediately offer a room move (as we did after the first night of your stay as well) since we unfortunately cannot always control the actions of other guests. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the last night of your stay and hope you enjoyed the amenities we provided for your wife's birthday as well! We hope that the end of your stay hopefully somewhat made up for the beginning and that you will try to stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#122 of 473 in New York City
5,653 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 473 in New York City
734 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 473 in New York City
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#41 of 473 in New York City
312 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#53 of 473 in New York City
693 reviews
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#194 of 473 in New York City
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne Hotel

Address: 243 W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#102 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $136 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moderne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient midtown location on 55th street and Broadway - Hotel is decorated in ultra contemporary style. Guests always enjoy the proximity of our New York hotel to the Theater District, Times Square, Central Park, and so many other popular destinations in the city. Along with Moderne Hotel’s central NYC location, guests may also enjoy our 2nd floor guest lounge, overlooking the busy city streets. Here, you can relax by sipping complimentary tea and coffee in front of a fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Moderne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel New York City
Moderne New York City
Moderne Hotel Nyc
Hotel Moderne New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing