We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Midtown”
Review of Moderne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moderne Hotel
Ranked #79 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Myself and a couple of colleagues came to Midtown for some meetings and we stayed at the Moderne. It's a fantastic little hotel. I come to this area of New York a lot and this was my best hotel experience to date. Cute little lobby with excellent staff. They were always friendly and very helpful. They went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and had great places to eat and shop.

The hotel was very clean and stylish. There was a little lounge that we met in every morning and had a quick coffee

The room was New York sized. It's not big but not the smallest I've stayed in in this town. I really liked the decor it's modern and funky without being nonfunctional or looking cookie cutter. The bed was comfy and clean. The bathroom was clean but you do have to get creative where to store toiletries. Wifi worked well. Flat screen tellie with decent amount of channels.

There's no view but it's important to note its quiet. A word I've never used to describe a hotel in New York City.

If you're staying in Midtown I recommend a stay at the Moderne.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atomique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your great pictures! We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that you will book with us directly as you are now eligible for a repeat guest discount!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,310 - 1,316 of 1,936 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

We enjoyed the location and decor. The ladies who worked the front desk were very helpful; however, the 2 gentlemen were not friendly. We spent 6 days at this hotel and never were greeted by our name. Our hotel room was not even made up on the last night of our stay. We did enjoy having a room with a view and found the bed very comfortable.
I did overhear one of the gentlemen welcome another guest. We certainly did not get the same reception! I found out on the last day of our stay that we could have accessed the fitness room at the "sister hotel". What a shame, my husband who is a triathlete would have enjoyed having this option. Luckily, central park was close!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arte56255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed during your stay. We appreciate your comments and will absolutely look into how we can better serve you in the future. Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your situation, though we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the property overall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I go to NY frequently (every month or so) for the weekend - lived there for a few years as well -- and this was one of the best experiences I've had at any hotel in NY. I'll be back.

It isn't uber fancy - so if you're looking for that uber chic place with the bodyguards out front and $18 glasses of wine, this isn't it. The rooms are small but very comfy and clean. but seriously? It's the staff that makes this place so much better than the rest. You will never feel like you aren't "cool enough" to be at their hotel and -- shock! - they actually treat you like they want your business! I am so tired of NY hotels that do their best to make you feel like you are an intrusion rather than a guest -- and a paying one at that. This hotel totally gets how important service is - and everyone was friendly. So the rooms are small. Big deal. I'm in NY to see the city and go to plays - who cares if the room is small when the hotel is so centrally located and so comfy and has such great service? Do yourself a favor and check it out (though maybe I shouldn't say that because I want to get in when I go to the city next month!). This is the only hotel in NY I've ever recommended - have stayed at the Hyatts, Marriotts, Kimptons, Omni, W (puhlease...the W is the worst in making you feel like they are too good for you) etc.,,,,and big mistake on those hotels' parts because I have the disposable income they want in their guests :) Definitely a keeper for trips to NY.

Room Tip: Rooms are small as is bathroom - but very functional and comfy (no views - so don't expect that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frequentTraveler1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property and for your kind words regarding our staff! We think they're pretty awesome as well and are so looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

With wife, 3 nights in August 2012 during the US Open Tennis tournament. Conveniently located near Central Park, Times Square, theater district and subway. Small hotel, good customer service, reasonably priced at $197/night, free wi-fi. Not many bells or whistles, but very quiet and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron4697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed for one night in late June and found the Moderne to be a great find. The staff is top notch, the location is terrific, convenient for theater or shopping, and close to the subway. The decor is a lot of fun and our room, while not huge, was certainly big enough for two of us, very clean and comfortable and nicely put together. The lounge on the second floor is a nice touch. All in all, a very good value for the price. (Dining tip - we walked over for lunch at the Bouchon Bakery Cafe in the Time Warner Building - delicious food and if you sit facing the window, the view down Central Park South is a treat!)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and sincerely appreciate all of your kind words! We look forward to welcoming yo back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

First impression of a very trendy hotel with almost garish furnishings. But this works for their image. Free wifi, tea, coffee and cakes is a huge benefit and the smmenities in the room are fairly new and well maintained.
On th downside the lift was painfully slow, there was no bath tub or safe in my room and the towel racks were far too high for my meagre 5'1" frame.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We appreciate all of your comments and will take them to heart as we continue to improve for all our guests' experience. We hope you will chose to stay with us again on your next visit to NYC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We recently stayed in the Moderne Hotel New York as part of our honeymoon. Must say it was the best hotel we have ever stayed in. When we arrived we were greeted with Cup Cakes to celebrate. From the porter at the front door to the reception staff (namely Teddy) to the house keeping staff who cleaned our room each day,everything was perfect. Loved the complimentary English tea, cakes, fruit etc on the second floor. Like where would you get it! I will definately be recommending this hotel to all my friends and family travelling to New York in the future. Wish I was back. Thanks for contributing to an amazing honeymoon. Susan and Ciaran Mc Cann

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neverofftherunway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Congratulations again! Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property - we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and sincerely appreciate that we were able to be a part of such a special time! We look forward to welcoming you back on many anniversaries to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#126 of 471 in New York City
5,552 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#41 of 471 in New York City
292 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 471 in New York City
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#131 of 471 in New York City
1,473 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#339 of 471 in New York City
1,148 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#46 of 471 in New York City
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne Hotel

Address: 243 W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#103 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $127 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moderne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient midtown location on 55th street and Broadway - Hotel is decorated in ultra contemporary style. Guests always enjoy the proximity of our New York hotel to the Theater District, Times Square, Central Park, and so many other popular destinations in the city. Along with Moderne Hotel’s central NYC location, guests may also enjoy our 2nd floor guest lounge, overlooking the busy city streets. Here, you can relax by sipping complimentary tea and coffee in front of a fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Moderne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel New York City
Moderne New York City
Moderne Hotel Nyc
Hotel Moderne New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing