We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel! Wonderful Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #146 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel! Wonderful Location!”
Reviewed April 3, 2010

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square from the 29th December 2008 and checked out on the 8th of January 2009. (Again - this review is late!) This was my first time ever travelling overseas and to the US and NYC. I booked the Hilton Garden Inn after reading the great reviews here on Trip Advisor. I was not disappointed!

The staff at the front desk, at the door and the concierge are all excellent! Not once were there any problems with any of the staff and they were all so polite. There is a small business centre in the Lobby with 4 computers from memory, with a printer etc which was great to have as we used this a lot when planning what we wanted to the next day etc.

The room that we had was King Evolution room which was great! It was very roomy and the view that we had from the room was great. We were on the 14th Floor as i had requested a high floor as other trip advisor reviewers had recommended! The noise from the street was not a big deal at all and it was still easy to sleep here.

The Hilton Garden Inn is in a perfect location, within walking distance to Port Authority(to catch the bus to woodbury), Madison Square Gardens ( to watch a Knicks game) or to the centre of Times Square!

As we were at the Hotel over New Years Eve, upon arriving back to hotel mid afternoon on New Year's Eve, we found a small care package and a note from the manager. It included a small bottle of champagne, earplugs, chocolates etc as there was going to be a party on the rooftop and that the noise will be kept to a minimum. We didnt hear one thing!

All in all, this is a great Modern Hotel, with spacious rooms at a reasonable rate and in a great location! I would recommend this hotel to family and friends!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courtneyelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer_Reyes, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, April 4, 2010
Dear courtneyelc,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am ecstatic that you were with us back in 2008/2009 and still remember us so vividly.

I am very proud of the hotel and the wonderful staff I have the privilege of working with. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

It must've been some experience celebrating New Years with us, there’s nothing like New Years in Times Square! Hopefully you can do it again this year.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Jennifer Reyes
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,739
    2,430
    478
    127
    84
See reviews for
2,091
2,364
354
797
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2010

Our first visit to New York and we couldnt have picked a better location for our sightseeing base. Hotel staff very courteous and our room was very clean and well presented. For the amount of time we spent out of the hotel, really glad we didnt book any more than a 3*, as this Hilton Garden Inn certainly gave us everything we needed in terms of comfort. Use the Olympic Diner for breakfast, over the road on 8th Ave - superb value :-)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coylie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer_Reyes, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, April 4, 2010
Dear coylie23,

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us, thank you.

I must admit our location is ideal for sightseeing base; Times Square is the heart of New York!

We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to New York City.

Warmest Regards,
Jennifer Reyes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

As always Hilton Hotels do what they say on the tin. Located short walk from Times Square the hotel is a basic Hilto but that said we stayed for 3 nights in a very nice room and staff were attentive and helpful. Plenty of local diners nearby for breakfast and short walk to Times Square and onto tourist spots. Evening eating near by is good by walking a few blocks towards the river try the Delta Grill for excellent ribs.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traveller123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer_Reyes, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, April 4, 2010
Dear traveller123456789,

Thank for choosing to stay at The Hilton Garden Inn Times Square. I appreciate that you took the time to share your experience.

We are very pleased that you were happy with the location, the size of the room and the attentiveness of our staff. We hope that you will choose to stay with us on your next trip to New York City.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Warmest Regards,
Jennifer Reyes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2010

it was an amazing moment for me. i hope u can stay there

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DursunC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We booked our stay based on reviews on this site and because of an attractive rate. We weren't disappointed! The hotel was updated, clean, comfortable, spacious (for New York City) and offered a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel is in easy walking distance of the theater district, Times Square, and many other attractions. Rooms were very clean, well maintained and despite a window that overlooked busy 8th Avenue, we slept wonderfully. We found the hotel staff to be first rate and really liked the location. There is no breakfast, but we ate very economically by walking less than a block to a wonderful grocery with a full deli and bakery. We'd make our own coffee, one of us would bring back bagels and fruit and we kept juice in the room refrigerator.
As midwesterners, we were a little wary about safety issues, never felt less than safe and comfortable at this hotel as well as in New York City in general. I know you won't be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

The staff and people took better care of us at this hotel than at other much higher end hotels ever have. They took initiative to contact us before the trip asking if we needed anything and continued once we arrived. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly....from the desk to cleaning staff, to bell men, to the wait staff. Can't recommend the service enough. The hotel was very standard for a Hilton Garden. Nice 'regular' size rooms, close to the theater district and restaurants. Bravo!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetdriver11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer_Reyes, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, April 4, 2010
Dear Jetdriver11,

We can not thank you enough for the your extremely flattering review. Our team strives to provide the best of service, so I am glad to read that we succeeded with your experience.

Our job everyday is to work to ensure that the service exceeds the product because in the end, that is, what matters most.

I look forward to you enjoying that experience once again!

Warmest Regards,
Jennifer Reyes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaxspydr
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2010

I really thought that this ammenity was a given- breakfast room service. It is a Hilton!
The hotel key card had an egg that said "start your day off with a great breakfast". And perhaps I am spoiled for wanting to wake up for a liesurely breakfast in my room before starting my day. Can you imagine my surprise when I arrived and realized there is NO breakfast room service available.... ! So disappointed.
A good night stay none the less and the restaurant attached was fine - but I really wished someone would have mentioned this in their "perfect" reviews. Next time I will call ahead.

Good location, clean rooms,friendly service.... so all in all the reviews were on target.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaxspydr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer_Reyes, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, April 4, 2010
Dear vaxspydr,

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review, with our guests insightful feedback we are able to address our challenges as well as celebrate our successes.

I do apologize for not providing Breakfast room service, but I also want to thank you for informing us of your thoughts and feelings about it. We are reviewing our breakfast process and hopefully will have favorable results. If you do decide to visit us again in the future, please contact me directly and I will be more than happy to set up a room service breakfast arrangement.

Warmest Regards,
Jennifer Reyes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,555 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#190 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,307 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#167 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,240 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#270 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,975 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#140 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing