We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #143 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend during the second week of July 2014. The staff was very polite and could help with any questions that we had. The rooms were nice and big and very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was also a great start into the day. Check-In went fast and smooth. The location of the hotel is probably the best part - you go around the corner and you're at Times Square within 2-3 minutes. The hotel is also easy to reach from JFK airport (E Line) and two of the most important subway lines for tourists are very close by. Free Wifi and a small shop for essentials within the hotel are also added benefits. Close by you can find numerous shopping and dining experiences. I can only recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a central, affordable yet superior, consumer orientated hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor. Its nicer since you're further away from the streets and the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disndatdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hi there disndatdev and thank you for taking time to review our hotel! It’s great to know that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your time in NYC while staying with us. I am happy that you enjoyed hotel and comfort of our rooms and found it being centrally located to all your points of interest.
I hope to welcome you back one day!
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,679
    2,359
    466
    122
    81
See reviews for
2,037
2,315
342
779
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

First time visit to nyc for my 35th birthday and chose this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. Glad we did! The hotel is in an excellent location right by a subway station and just round the corner from Times Square in the heart of theatre land. The hotel staff were really friendly and had even left some muffins for my birthday in the room at check in.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katisha1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Katisha1979,
Happy 35th Birthday! I am thrilled that you chose our hotel based on all positive reviews and you were not disappointed with the experience! It’s great that you enjoyed hotel location as well as birthday treats!
We will look forward to welcome you back one day!
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Not only is it walking distance to the Times Square attractions, but it is also close to Central Park and various other great places to eat and shop. Walking there was not a problem. The room was quiet on the 10th floor, and very comfortable. Friendly staff and really good location overall. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigrisalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello Tigrisalta and thank you for you review! It’s great to know that your stay with us was a enjoyable experience and that hotel location as well as comfort of the rooms were to your liking .
We will look forward to welcome you back one day!
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Her grandmother and I took our 10 year old granddaughter to NYC for two nights, and this Hotel was the perfect location for us. We chose to take the train from Syracuse directly to Penn Station.....a mere two blocks from the hotel. With no transfers, cabs, subways, etc., this trip could not have been easier. We were located right on Herald Square (Macy's) and about a block from the Empire State Building, which is also the perfect place to grab the tour bus to circle Manhattan. Also just a short walk to Times Square.
Accommodations were great. Our room had two double beds, which was perfect for us. All that was lacking was a comfortable chair, but the desk chair was sufficient for our brief visit.
Beds were comfortable. Front desk and staff were friendly. The CONCIERGE was also very friendly.,...although a bit of a talker and I THINK we might have been able to get by paying less than we did for the tours we purchased....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Joseph D,
Thank you sharing your feedback with travel community. We hope to welcome you back again one day!
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Having worked down the block for two years I found refuge at this lovely Hilton Garden Inn when I would have to do double shifts and couldn't make it home on time. Soon, it became my go-to place to stay because the staff is always inviting and friendly and the rooms are always clean and reliable.

The hotel itself was recently renovated so I am happy to have said I experienced both the old and new. And truthfully while the did NOT need a renovation whatsoever they sure went above and beyond to kick the decor up a notch. The blue walls are calming and the beds remain the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The carpet smells fresh and the hotel is simple to navigate.

There is security which is a pleasant bonus, staying in Times Square you will witness there are waves of crowds and it is comforting that only those who display their keys are able to go to the guestrooms thus enabling you to sleep safe and sound.

Speaking of noises, no matter what floor you are on, you hear a hint of a rumble from the A/C/E Train line underground. Which for a tourist might be a unique experience; one can really feel how a New Yorker lives. But for a native it can be a little disruptive if your sleeping on the second floor. So the higher up the better! The windows however are thick so you NEVER hear outside noise. Fantastically planned by those who designed the building.

The views from the rooms are exceptional, you can see straight down to the Hudson river from most rooms which is quite picturesque.

Lastly, the service is superior to most in the area; if you require something, they bring it, if you have a question they answer it, if you need a welcoming smile, they show it!

Great Job Hilton Garden Inn you always take such great care of us.

Pro: Almost ALL rooms have a view and business center is helpful

Con: Lack of communication between housekeeping staff and front desk; receiving knocks on the door at noon asking "when are you leaving" when you were extended a late check out is not hospitable in any country. Tsk tsk...

Bonus: The diner across the street recently renovated and under new management is superb, affordable and makes the BEST chocolate chip pancakes. Check it out!

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OliviaM_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello there OliviaM_NYC and thank you so much for taking time to submit your wonderful review! It is truly a pleasure reading so many positive things about your stay with us and learn that we accomplish our goal to create a memorable NYC experience! Please accept my sincere apologies for housekeeping disturbance on the day of your departure. I will make sure to share your comments with my team.
We will be looking forward to welcome you back one day!
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Just spend 3 nights here. For NYC the rooms are pretty roomy, we were on the 11th floor and no noise from the street except for a siren now and then (but hey, this IS NYC). We arrive around 1 pm and our room was ready. The check in was quick and easy. The staff was very friendly and answered our questions and gave us some helpful tips. We went to 2 shows, each one was a 5 minute walk. Central park is a short walk, Rock Center a short walk. You really can't beat the location. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello Don W and thank you for taking time to review our hotel. It’s great to know that your 3 night stay with us was a memorable experience and that the hotel as well as the location was to your satisfaction.
I hope to welcome you back again one day!
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
129 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Hotels in NY are expensive and this hotel is not an exception. But considering other alternatives, it is definitely a good option. The location is excellent with many subway stations nearby. Spacious room with comfortable and clean bed. The bathroom was ok, could benefit from some renovation. The shower curtain smelled mildew - badly - but since we were staying there for only a couple of nights, I decided to let it go. Close to Broadway shows and some nice restaurants. I recommend Dafni Greek Taverna on 42nd Street (within walking distance), a great finding! Parking close to the hotel is expensive (almost $50/day, but it is NY pricing....).

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ckatsuya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello ckatsuya,
Thank you for sharing your experience with travel community. First and foremost please accept my sincere apologies for a bad smell in the bathroom; I wish you would have given us opportunity to rectify this problem during your stay. It’s good to know, however that your overall experience was a positive one and you enjoyed comfort of the rooms and convenient location.
I hope that you will stay with us again one day!
All the Best!
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,380 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#170 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,598 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,136 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,710 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing