We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to stay - good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #144 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay - good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Spent a week here this summer (August) while we were in town for my wife's surgery at the Hospital for Special Surgery. It's the second time we've stayed here, and we've found the location to be convenient for getting around and with food/services close by. Staff got to know us while we were there, and the doorman even arranged for a limo ride back to the airport on our last day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Brian G,
It is a great pleasure reading your comments. I hope that your wife is feeling better; I am happy that we were able to create a memorable stay for you and her. We will be looking forward to your next trip and I encourage you to contact me next time when you will be staying with us!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,549
    2,263
    434
    113
    76
See reviews for
1,931
2,231
328
746
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in early November. The staff on the desk were fabulous. The guys on the door were extra helpful. The room was a king sized double. It was first class. If we return to NY then we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi There Tony G,

It's GREAT to read your feedback on your recent experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square because the entire team works hard to ensure that satisfaction of our guests. So I am thrilled that you and your partner had such a good time and experienced this first hand.

Should your travels bring you back to NYC, I look forward to welcoming you back once again.

Warmest Regards,
Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713 | Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We recently spent 3 nights at this hotel and found it to be the perfect spot from which to see the sights of NYC. We were just minutes from the Broadway theaters and Radio City Music Hall and an easy walk to Herald Square and the Empire State Building. The hotel is also just across the street from the subway that runs to the area of the 9/11 memorial, finance district, Freedom Tower, etc., and is also just far enough from the bright lights and hubbub of Times Square.
Our room was on the 9th floor facing 8th Ave., not high enough to have any view but just high enough to avoid the street noise. It was one of the quietest hotel stays we've had! Our room was comfortable and clean, with the amenities that one would expect in a Hilton property.
The complimentary breakfast buffet (courtesy of Hilton Honors) was plentiful (eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes, french toast, pancakes, cereal, sweet rolls, yoghurt) and the service was polite, prompt and friendly. The only negative is that exactly the same items were served each day - no variation - minor thing since it was free and substantial.
There is a rooftop bar, but the only access to it is to walk outside around the corner, down a dark corridor and up an elevator. There wasn't much of a view and only a couple other customers, so we didn't stay. We found the adjoining restaurant's bar to be more inviting.
We would definitely return to this hotel on future trips to NYC.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PTCtravelerJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi PTCtravelerJO,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Garden Inn Times Square for your NYC excursion. You really maximized your time, visiting all the key attractions including our own XVI and Pigalle. I am delighted that after a day out you were able to return to a nice quiet and comfortable room.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming back in the future.

Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com |
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Good accommodation with nice rooms (with a reasonable view if you're in front facing room). Staff are courteous and polite but so are most service sector staff, particularly in the US, when a tip is possible!

Major drawback of this hotel is the lack of a restaraunt. The attached "associated" establishment is fine but quite expensive with a pretence of grandeur that doesn't quite have authenticity. This sounds negative but it’s just not quite like having an in-house facility.

Hotel and rooms are very clean and well appointed. WiFi is excellent and the bed comfortable.

Would I stay here again? Yes. Will I visit NY again? Probably no.

I must just add that my judgement may have been affected by the fact that I didn't get more than 2 hours sleep at any time. First night was acclimatising, next few nights were disturbed by having the USA Olympic sex champs in the room next to mine. Every hour for over 30 minutes at a time they were at 'it'. If I here the phrase "Oh my god" one more time it will be one time too many!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at front of building if you don't like brick walls. If you need peace then ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmafudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Good Day lmafudd,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the travel community. The goal of my entire team is to exceed the expectation of all of our guests and I am truly sorry that not only were you kept up by noisy neighbors but you did not find the restaurant to be impressive. I do hope that you had the opportunity to bring forth your concerns prior to check out and we were able to satisfactorily resolve them.

Thank you again and if I can be of any assistance now or in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warmest Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Although we stayed here for only one night, the location of the hotel was ideal, close enough to Times Square but far enough not to hear any noise. It was close to many subway stations too.

The staff in the hotel were friendly and the rooms were a very good size although the bathroom was smaller than we thought. The bed was comfy and met our expectations. There was wifi which was good too. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adithan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hello Adathan,

Thank you for providing us the opportunity to call you our guest. I am glad to learn that you not only found the hotel to be centrally located but also the staff to be friendly and the room to be adequately sized and comfortable.

I sincerely hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to the NYC area. If I can be of any assistance now or in the future please so not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warmest Regards,


Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

In general terms its a good, not so noise and clean room. Room service from restaurant is OK. The one bad thing about this hotel is that you have to think well before buying stuff on internet to delivey there before you arrive. In my visit I order some packages and the front desk lost one of them. I recovered the package on the last day after a lot of work trying to convince the staff that USPS didn't was wrong but, at that time, I had bought another from local stores.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cristiano164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Good Day Cristiano164,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the travel community. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the confusion regarding your packages. We do have procedures in place for receiving and delivering packages to avoid unfortunate situations such as yours; I am not certain what went wrong but please know that we will investigate and continue to work diligently to ensure our guests' satisfaction.

If you wish to discuss this matter further please feel free to contact me directly.

Regards,
Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com |
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
180 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a recent business trip/return home to NY. The service is excellent. I only had one problem with my room, a broken closet door, and they actually left me an apology note and gift bag after I called them. The bell staff if incredibly helpful and they know the neighborhood. The room was comfortable and roomy. The location, in Times Square, is convenient to the theaters, restaurants, subway and sights. I will definitely be back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi There David F,

Thank you for your kind review. I am sorry to hear that initially you had challenges in your room, but I trust that we were able to quickly repair your door and you were then able to comfortably enjoy your room and some goodies compliments of us. While we strive to ensure that every guest has a perfect stay, there are times where we encounter challenges and we take full ownership in both the problem and resolution to ensure our guests are completely satisfied.

We look forward to welcoming you back, please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Warmest Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com |
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#96 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,020 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#151 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,903 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#163 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,238 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#152 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing