We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location just off Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #155 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location just off Times Square”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The hotel is located just a two block walk from Times Square, and well within walking distance to Central Park and many, many restaurants, theaters and shops. Rooms appear to be recently renovated and are well appointed. For the most part staff was friendly and helpful.

More than any other hotel I've stayed, I came away feeling that the doorman and the concierge were only interested in directing us to restaurants and attractions which benefited them. The concierge tried to talk us out of visiting the Statue of Liberty, suggesting that we would be "disappointed", and instead tried to direct us to a harbor cruise, even though we said we'd been there, done that. We did go to the Statue of Liberty and had an excellent visit.

Our mattress had a definite dip on one side of the bed. We didn't say anything during our stay, not wanting to go through the hassle of a room change.

The hotel restaurant, Pigalle,is crowded and noisy, with average food. Choose from the many area restaurants instead.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoxieGal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear DoxieGal58
Thank you for taking time to submit review and share your experience with other travelers. It’s good to know that you found the hotel conveniently located and well appointed. Reading your comments I notice that you had doubts in regards to recommendations of our team. I am sorry that you felt like we were trying benefit from organizing your free time and want to assure you that this was not in our intention. I often recommend my guest to see Statue of Liberty form a distance rather than actually going to Liberty Island as they can get a better picture of Lady Liberty from a sightseeing boat that being on the island itself. However the decision is always up to guests and I’m sorry that our concierge was being too pushy about the harbor cruise.
We want our guest to have a memorable stay and I wish you would give us opportunity to rectify the situation with bed during your stay. We would do our best to fix it rather than change your room.
I hope that you will give us another chance in the future and allow us to create a memorable experience on your next visit. I encourage you to contact me directly if you will be planning on staying with us again!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Joanna.butcher@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,794
    2,492
    496
    131
    89
See reviews for
2,152
2,409
358
811
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Hotel was 2 blocks from everything that is NYC, one block either direction to a subway to get anywhere. Hotel was really nice, clean, well appointed. Staff was great. We arrived before 10, we stowed our luggage and went walking around, by 1 our room was ready. We had a bit of street noise (4th floor) when a siren would go by but quiet otherwise. Lots of options for eating around the hotel. Front Desk gave us a list of their recommendations which we found to be very good. Nice granola bars laid out in the evening for guests, we would take back to our room and warm up in the microwave in the am for breakfast. Really nice to have a small fridge to store cold drinks and leftovers to snack on as well

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi There SeaLovers,

I am delighted to hear that you had such a great time while staying with us. It seems as if you were able to maximize your time in NYC, and take advantage of the hotel amenities offered for your convenience.

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291 tennile.boyd@hilton.com |
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
522 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We were in New York for a combination business/pleasure trip. We wanted to be near Time Square, but no necessarily in the middle of the noise. This location was perfect on 8th Avenue. It is a couple of blocks to Time Square and Rockefeller Plaza and Fifth Avenue. There was little, if any street noise. Our room was comfortable and a reasonable size. Service was very good and the staff was friendly and attentive. Rooms were less than $300, a real bargain! Overall, this was an excellent value, location and service. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi L D,

Thanks for sharing your experience, it is always nice to squeeze in some fun amidst a business trip while in a great city like NY. I am happy that after a day of working and or playing hard you were able to return to your home away from home to a welcoming staff and clean and comfortable room.

We look forward to welcoming back, please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance now or in the future.

Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291 tennile.boyd@hilton.com |
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed there a few days ago and found it not only to be an economical choice (based on NY standards) but very clean as well. Rooms were spacious and staff was more than courteous and helpful. The guest services team was very hospitable. They really made the NY experience enjoyable. Great location- one block from the action of Times Square (without all the noise) and within walking distance of other great locations like Rockefeller Plaza. I could not have been more pleased with our stay @ this hotel and I look forward to staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor facing 8th ave. Good view, minimal street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Janet K
I am so happy to read your review and know that our commitments to deliver exceptional guest service created a memorable stay for you. It’s great that hotel location was convenient to all your points of interest. We will be looking forward to welcome you back in the future!
Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

A gem of location...close to theaters, transportation and fun restaurants right outside the door.
Our rooms was fresh and clean as was the bathroom which had a bathtub. We were on the 14th floor so not too much outside noise. The lobby had tasty surprises different times of the day. We were told we were the guests of the day which made us smile.
Will stay again,
Grammy Sharon

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grammysharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hi There grammysharon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the travel community. I am thrilled to read that you had such a great time with us. We make great efforts to exceed the expectations of our guests and it is always great to know it is well received.

I encourage you to contact me directly upon your next visit and we'll be sure to provide you with an equally great stay.

Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I booked this trip as a surprise for my husband's forthcoming 50th birthday. Prior to our arrival I emailed Joanna Butcher, Guest Relations Manager, advising her of this. I received a lovely reply and Joanna said she had arranged for our room to be upgraded. This in itself was great but upon check in we also discovered complimentary cup cakes and a birthday card. Joanna really went over and above to ensure our stay was special.
The room was spotlessly clean with an amazing view over 8th avenue. The staff went out of their way to help at all times. The location of the hotel is ideal, one block away from Times Square with a subway station across the road. An ideal base for visiting all attractions which New York has to offer.
During our stay we had the opportunity to meet Joanna in person, this gave us the opportunity to thank her in person for all her help. Joanna took the time to speak to us at length and appeared genuinely interested in our experience. A lovely lady - thank you Joanna.
We would definitely stay at this hotel if in NYC in future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMLH_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Good Day JMLH_9,

Wow, I am absolutely delighted to know that you had such a great visit in NYC, with friendly service and comfortable and clean accommodations. Thank you for reaching out to us prior to arrival and providing us with the opportunity to personalize your stay and exceed your expectations. I will be sure to share your comments with Joanna and the rest of the team.

Wishing your husband belated birthday wishes and looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Very nice Hilton Garden Inn near Times Square. The location was why we booked this hotel. It is only a few blocks from Times Square and close to other attractions in NYC. It was a very clean and modern hotel. I felt very safe in this hotel while staying because there was always a bellman or someone in the lobby and you had to use your room key to enter the lobby from outside at night. The hotel was packed when we arrived on a Sunday right before Christmas so there wasn't any early check ins available (I wasn't expecting it anyways) but the hotel stored our luggage while we went out. Rooms were large, clean, and modern. Housekeeping staff was also very helpful too. We will be returning to this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbrow022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Good Day hbrow022,

I must say I am very grateful that almost a year after your trip you took the time to share your experience with us. I am just delighted to know that your stay was so enjoyable and I do hope that we have the honest pleasure of calling you our guests once again this holiday season.

Season Greetings,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
6,701 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
9,477 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 467 in New York City
7,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
11,211 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#168 of 467 in New York City
5,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing