We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #155 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Great Location”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

After a little mixup at checkin and having to change rooms, we were placed in a vey nice room high enough to have a view of the cruise ship terminal. The room was clean, comfortable and good size. Hotel staff were all courteous and helpful and we always felt safe in the hotel and surrounding area. Overall, just a great experience staying here.

This was our first trip to NYC and this was a perfect location for us - a few blocks to broadway theaters, Times Square, and good restaurants. Also, close to subways taking us everyplace we wanted to go.

Our only minor complaint was the buffet breakfast at the attached Pigalle restaurant. Selection was mediocre for the price and some of the egg dishes were not very hot. (However, we did had a delicious lunch at Pigalle - just would not recommend the buffet breakfast.)

If we are fortunate enough to return to this great city, we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sirtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear sirtravelbug,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on the stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square. I am happy that, even though, you’ve experienced few problems at the check in, we still were able to create a memorable stay for you. It’s good to know that cleanliness and view of the room was to your like and hotel location as well as staff met your expectations. I am really disappointed hearing that breakfast at the Pigalle was not what you expected and I want to assure you we will address your comments with their management.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
joanna.butcher@hilton.com
646-710-5713
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,794
    2,492
    496
    131
    89
See reviews for
2,152
2,409
358
811
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I choose this rather than the 35th Street HG Inn as it had room for the full period I needed to stay. Very pleased I made the decision. Booked a corner room so had a slightly larger room with a sofa. Rooms are updated since I last stayed but could do with a little sparkle. Sofa looks the same and could do with a new Slipcover. Bathrooms completely updated.

What I look most on this hotel vs its sister on 35th street is the Breakfast. If your Gold you get a voucher for either the buffet or a single item off the menu. Get the to order items and you get a freshly cooked breakfast with fruit and really fresh orange juice. Great way to start the morning. This is not a soulless hotel dining room but an open restaurant with great view of 8th Street.

Service is friendly from check in to the Room staff.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room if you want a larger room for just a few dollars extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luischable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Good Day luischable,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable time in our newly revitalized rooms and were able to take advantage of our breakfast served at Pigalle restaurant. I will be sure to share your comments with the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713|
Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Hilton garden inn Times Square. 5 nights from 18th October.

Pre booked double evolution room but took a paid upgrade to double corner evolution. Checkin was very quick, given complimentary water. Room was a good size and the bed extremely comfortable. Bath a little on the small side but the shower more than made up. Staff always excellent and always checking whether everything was ok. Also had a call from the customer services director after a couple of nights to check. Only minor point was that the room hadn't been serviced on the Sunday afternoon when we got back to the hotel at 4pm. Not a problem for us and the maid was just just about to start our room when we returned. We went into our room and popped the 'do not disturb' sign out. Housekeeping called us to apologise (not really required) and offered to do it straight away which we declined.

The location of this hotel is superb. 5 minutes to Times Square. Close to subway lines. Loads of eating places and theatres nearby. Also far enough away from Times Square to avoid the crowds. Over the road are a couple of bars, we went into the social bar. The fridge and microwave in the room are really useful. Breakfast was included in our package at Pigalle (the attached restaurant) which was well worth the extra cost if you can get it as part of your room package. Usual cost in $21.95 but if booked as part of the room, it was about an extra $15 on the room per night. It's a buffet style help yourself (I think you can pay a bit more to go a la carte but I couldn't see the need). Usual fare - eggs, bacon, potato,waffles, fruit, croissants, pastries, toast, juice tea and coffee. Most days, we were at breakfast by 8 and it was almost empty. By 9, especially at weekends, it was pretty full.

For checkout, they put the bill undertake be door and you could ring down to check out without the need to go to reception. Check out was by midday and with our evening flight, the bell man looked after our bags for a few $ tip.

Total cost averaged out at approx $400 per night inc taxes and breakfast.

A small note if you're coming from JFK, we decided not to take a cab (and spend the $70 saved on shopping!!) and therefore took the airtrain to Jamica ($5 to pay on exit) and then purchased a 7 day metro card for $30 on the basis that we planned to use thee subway for the whole trip (which we did). Getting to the hotel is really easy ...take the E train headed towards the world trade centre and got off at 50th street. When you get up to street level via escalator and stairs, the hotel is there right in front of you. From the time we exited immigration to getting into our room was about 75mins.

I'd recommend this place and would happily return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHydesWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi There TheHydesWestSussex,

I am delighted to hear that you had such a memorable time in NYC. My entire team works hard to exceed the expectations of our guests and make sure that they can just sit back relax and enjoy their time in our wonderful city.

Upon your return to the city, I look forward to calling you our guest once again.

Best Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713|
Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great location in the middle of the theatre district, near Times square and multiple subway stations. Nice quiet and clean rooms (and bathroom) with comfortable beds. AC, free wifi, fridge, coffee machine, safe, iron, hair dryer and a good size modern telly. Access to among other things a small business center where we easily could print some tickets that we had bought online.

Friendly and helpful staff as well. The hotel is categorized as "3,5 stars", but had it been me I would have had it as a 4-star one. Can't really think of a reason not to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi There SirPurple,

First and foremost thank you for giving us the opportunity to call you our guest. We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable time with us. I sincerely hope this means that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time that your travels bring you back to NYC.

Until the next time,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713|
Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

It was our first time to stay in New York, and I am so glad we chose this hotel. From our first phone call to our departure, the hotel staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. It was our anniversary and the concierge, Alison Tanney went above and beyond to make our stay special. She helped my husband order long stem roses and they were in our room upon arrival. They were absolutely gorgeous. Alison also helped us get our city pass, and theater tickets to see Jersey Boys. She also made some great restaurant suggestions. We loved John's Pizza. The rooms were a normal hotel size room, and they were clean and smelled good. The bed was comfortable. The front desk personnel were friendly and helped us hail our cabs. The hotel itself is within walking distance to theaters, The Top of the Rock, 5th avenue and Times Square. There is a Deli mini mart across the street which was convenient for snacks and drinks. The rooms have a mini fridge which was great for keeping drinks cold. Also, there is an in-room coffee pot and coffee downstairs for guests. I am a big coffee drinker so this was a must have! We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely rebook this same hotel when we come back.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing 8th street have better views and less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skykat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi Skykat9,

Happy Anniversary!!! I am very glad to hear that Alison was so instrumental in making your stay such a memorable one. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next anniversary as there is still so much to see and do in our fabulous city.

I will be sure to share your comments with Alison, and I am sure that she will be thrilled to know that she was able to bring you such joy on such a momentous occasion.

Hope to see you next year,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713|
Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The staff was busy checking other people in but allowed me to check in earlier than the check in time

The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. I stayed for one night and was ideal since the subway was a block away. A little pricey but worth the convenience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Stev5k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello Stev5k,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of all of our guests and it appears that we fell short of that goal during your time with us. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back, please feel free to contact me if I can ever be of any assistance.

Warmest Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713|
Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Easy walk to everywhere. We chose it because of the location and also the price was right. I couldn't imagine paying Time Square prices for just one night. This was a great choice. The hotel is smaller, but you don't notice. The rooms were very nice and I thought it was a good size for NYC. They also have a rooftop bar that had a great atmosphere. You have to go outside the front door and around the building to another door to access it, but worth it. Heading back to NYC soon and I am very upset this hotel is booked for that time. I would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennileB, Director of Guest Experience at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Good Day travelmommaryland,

Thank you for your feedback. I am so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time and we had the opportunity to call you our guest and that you plan to return. Please feel free to contact me directly when you are ready to rebook, historically we sell out every night so have an inside track is always beneficial.

Warmest Regards,

Tennile Boyd | Director of Guest Experience Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713|
Fax: 212-974-0291
tennile.boyd@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
6,701 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
9,477 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 467 in New York City
7,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
11,211 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#168 of 467 in New York City
5,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing