We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodations/staff/location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #141 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was our first visit to NYC. We came to see the sites. The hotel location was excellent. The room was excellent and reasonably priced, and the staff was always very helpful with information. I'll stay here again if/when I return to NYC.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,675 - 3,681 of 7,394 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights on 2nd and 3rd July with Family. Check in was quick and smooth.

A good alternative to stay instead of staying right on Times square, which is a block away. Tours are aplenty and the Grayline tour office is just 50 mtrs away.

But all these comes up at a cost, the noise from the street (we were offered 2 level) and big thud of the underground metro. I should have guessed this when they kept a pair of ear plugs in the toilet. Not sure why they kept only one pair for 3 guests. If you are not a sound sleeper, seek an alternative or ask the reception before hand.

Breakfast was available and had a decent spread.

Overall, a good decent hotel to stay amidst one of the busiest places in Earth with great accessibility and good service standards you would expect from Hilton.

Room Tip: Please check the noise level at the respective rooms, if you are not a sound sleeper or get yourself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjkannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I admit I was very skeptical of the high praise this HGI in Times Square had received on TripAdvisor. For the most part it is well deserved but there is one thing that will keep this property off my go-to list in NYC.

PROS:
-Location, location, location. Prime mid-town location close to Times Square but not right in the middle of the crowds. Easy walking distance to most theaters, TKTS booth, etc.
-Hotel was clean (rooms and commons areas) and quiet
-It looks like the rooms may have been updated recently. The room was very well appointed and the bathroom especially felt like it should be in a higher-end hotel (undermount sink, nice fixtures, etc)
-Staff was very helpful and courteous
-Even though it is a HGI they have a full service bellman who can store you luggage and hail you a cab, etc

CONS:
-All the good stuff aside, beware the timeshare promotion!! When I arrived it was 99 degrees in Manhattan. After a long sweaty ride from JFK in traffic all I wanted to do was check into my room and relax. Before I could even get to the elevator not one, not two, but THREE Hilton timeshare people ambushed me and pulled me over to their special podium that they have setup right by the front door. They really want to take advantage of the special rates you can get, tons of HHonors bonus points, and all you have to do is listen to a 90 minute presentation! UG! There is a timeshare person waiting for their next victim in the lobby all the time and that drives me crazy. Sorry HGI Times Square but until you get rid of the sales force in your lobby I will be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfFarnsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel is great but the parking is a nightmare. We were under the assumption that parking would be free according to Expedia. We later found out that parking is only discounted and still had to pay $40. We were also were told we would have a foldout couch by Expedia that also never materialized. If you happen to book through Expedia call the hotel to confirm what you are getting prior to arriving so that you do not get a surprise like we did. We waited 45 minutes to try and park our car in their lot before being told to park our car in the lot of the Hampton inn a block away. The whole parking process took more than an hour and this was on a weekend. I can only imagine what it would be like on a weekday .

Room Tip: Call the hotel before arrival to make sure of what you are getting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmarshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great Location for our needs. Short walk to Times Square, Central Park, Rockefellar Center, Empire State Building, subway to Lowere Manhattan. Great Breakfast Buffet and half price drinks for Happy Hour at Pigalle Restaurant adjacent to Hotel. Lots to do nearby...food, shows, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Went to N.Y. this past weekend with my sisters. We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Times Square and received fantastic service. The rooms were very nice and clean. I was very surprised at how comfortable the bed and pillows were. I have never slept better in any hotel. The hotel breakfast was wonderful! We took a taxi from airport to hotel and crossed our fingers that we would arrive safely but when it was time to leave and go back to airport, my sister and I were given a ride from the hotel back to the airport in a limo! Special thanks to Ken and Charles who work at the hotel. Best hotel I've ever stayed in. Will definitely pick Hilton hotels again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

First of all I'd like to thank Ennio, Ernest, Sam and all the other staff members of the HGI at Times Square for their excellent service! The staff is really great and will do anything to help you have a pleasant stay in New York. My compliments! The hotel is located close to Times Square so there is a lot of activity at night. Central Park, 911 Memorial, Empire State Building, etc. are easy to reach by using the subway. (Getting back is a totally different thing if you don't listen to your friend/navigator! Ennio and Ernest know what I mean) Breakfast is good, rooms are clean. So if you're looking for a good place to stay on Manhattan, stay at the HGI at Times Square!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edwin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#190 of 470 in New York City
8,282 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#199 of 470 in New York City
9,897 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#112 of 470 in New York City
7,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 470 in New York City
11,817 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $161 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing