We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel! Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #146 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel! Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2008

I can't say enough about this hotel. The rooms are absolutely perfect. The rooms are all tastefully decorated and updated with LCD Television. Bathroooms are in great condition. We were on the 8th floor, so even though we were facing a busy street, we didn't hear a thing from outside (which is rare for NY). The staff were very helpful for any of our needs. And the location was absolutely great! A definate recommendation for anyone wanting a great hotel in Times Square!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank blindferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,713
    2,397
    474
    124
    83
See reviews for
2,071
2,341
347
786
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2008

Hard not to be a jaded New Yorker with NYC hotels. Tres expensive! Well, not this place. For the cost of your average low-quality hotel, Hilton has put together a great hotel that fits most travelers, from tourists, to a seasoned traveler.

Few misses to even comment on, this place is a block from the 50th st subway (Metro) station. I'd recommend walking a block or two around hells kitchen for dinner options, as the restaurant attached to the hotel is rather pricey, and average. In fact, there's a full grocery store just a block away, so you can stock up on whatever you might want to pop in your room's micro-fridge.

Rooms are above-average in size, and have a great bed, sitting area, and decent bathroom. Wireless internet throughout was perfect, and the front desk staff very helpful with a few business needs.

Overall, I'd stay here again, if I am in Midtown. Accessibility and a quiet-er part of midtown nearby are big pluses. Minus? The hotel needs to get an affinity or discount program with a local gym. The health club was a bit too limited in equipment.

  • Liked — Location for the cost
  • Disliked — Health Club
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_wahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2008

I stayed in at the Hilton Garden Inn for 10 nights. I was getting married in New York so wanted everything to be stress free. There was a big party of us. We had six rooms altogether and although Virgin had made errors with the room selections (double when should be twin etc) the hotel staff were brilliant and sorted it out as quickly as possible considering it was one of the busiest weeks!
I suppose the staff may have been extra nice to us as we were getting married and were staying a bit longer than their usual guests but they really went to town and looked after us with gifts etc. They were all so polite and friendly and they are happy to give good advice on places to go and money saving tips!

The hotel itself is in a fabulous location, central to everything and there are lots of good restaurants and bars close by. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The restaurant is also quite nice, particulaly for breakfast. There is free internet access

All in all I would defintitely recommend this hotel and hope to be staying there for our anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ABCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st leonards
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

I have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Hilton Garden Inn, i was really impressed with the location & service . I only had to call the reception desk once as one of our lights wasnt working & within half an hour it was mended . The staff were all polite, hotel & room was very clean . When we arrived we had been allocated a double room,where we had asked for a twin, this was resolved without us even mentioing anything , as the receptionist spotted our request. The room was a smoking room , where we are non smokers, but we just openend the windows & it was fine . We were given breakfast vouchers as compensation, which was unexpected & much appreciated . I wasnt there on business , but did make use of the free internet service . The actual location of hotel was very good, as it is only a couple of minutes walk from times square, we also went to a show & the theatre was a matter of minutes away. I wouldnt walk at night in my own town, but felt very safe walking in New York. The whole city totally impressed me . Our flight home wasnt until later in the day & there was storage available for our cases till we left which was very useful . The restuarant was very good, always very clean & i never felt rushed but also i never had to wait , the staff were very efficiant,polite & helpful . I am hoping to go back to New York & i would stay at this hotel again & will be recommending it to others .

  • Liked — spacious & clean
  • Disliked — it would have been easier with a kettle
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wlisaella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2008

I went to this hotel over a year ago; I came here for a national event. When I first arrived to my room, it looked as if someone had still been living there. There were socks, chargers, etc all over the floor. I immediately called room service, and they took care of the issue without a problem. I stayed there for five days, and the only main complainant was the mini fridge did not work because the ice had overgrown and made it so the door would not close. I took care of it with a hammer...but I felt I shouldn't have to repair something on vacation.

This was a great location though; there were many street vendors nearby, amazing little shops and it is very close to the subway station, allowing access all over New York. I highly recommend getting a slice on the corner or stopping by and taking a look at some items in the near by China town.

Overall I gave this location an average review because the room was not clean when I first got there. But the rest of the visit was enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dannykc413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamaica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2008

Stayed for 2 nights at this hotel with our 2 young children (2 and 4).
Arrived in the small hours of the morning due to flight delays, to a warm welcome, free bottled water each, quick check-in and shown straight to very comfortable room.

I had requested a non-smoking room, but on arrival was told there was only a smoking room available. I was a little way, however, there was no smell of smoke in the room itself (though you could smell the smoke on the corridoor outside). It was fine.

Staff were very pleasant and welcoming, location was great. The fridge and microwave in the room as standard are great for young families, as is the small shop downstairs in the lobby. Beds were very comfortable, and room was large enough for us, though not a lot of extra space.

Breakfast was included in our deal, and this was also very good.
They don't do children's portions however - prefer to serve adult portions to them which seems wasteful.

  • Liked — Family friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jamaica17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2008

This is a perfect location right on 8th avenue & 48th. 7th is times square/Broadway. 42nd street north and south all over is everything. There is a fantastic little Mexican restaurant right up the way on eight in between 51st and 52nd. Right down eighth a few block south is a deli that has free delivery so you can order breakfast / coffee, desert or whatever right to your room/
The hotel is near all the theatres. The august Wilson theatre is on 52nd. The Majestic (Phantom of the Opera) is right down on 42nd I think. So everything is right in the walking distance. The price for the hotel is good compared to what else is out there. If you stay on 7th Ave. You will pay prob. double the cost of this hotel. Some hotels’ rooms are the size of closets, this hotel has a pretty roomy space and GREAT staff. They really care about your stay. The bellman get to know you, they are courteous and polite.
They strive for a “10” and they get it from me. They are so great and nice. If you have a problem with something, they will fix it. They have a concierge to help you around the city. IT is wonderful/

  • Liked — Great location and customer service
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank annabanana1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,463 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,178 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,181 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,842 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing