We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Massive Rooms..Perfect Location.. Personal Touch!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #150 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
335 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Massive Rooms..Perfect Location.. Personal Touch!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I would 100% recommend this hotel for those travelling to NYC and I intend on returning the next time I visit the city. The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect for everything you could ever want. We got a subway from JFK directly to the hotel (E train from Jamaica Station) & used the subway multiple times a day to get Downtown, to SoHo, Central Park etc. The hotel is close to the Port Authority bus terminal where we were able to catch a bus out to Jersey Gardens Outlet Mall. Plus we could walk from the hotel to Times Sq (just around the corner), the Intrepid Museum/Circle Line Cruise (a couple of blocks away) and any Broadway show you could ever want to see.

Upon arrival we were given a complimentary American breakfast in the restaurant adjoining the hotel and 2 bottles of water. There were also birthday cupcakes in our room on arrival which greatly added to our excitement when we entered the room. We were in room 1502 on the 15th floor (King Corner room) which was spotlessly clean with a great view of the Hudson River and 8th Ave. The room itself was huge by any standard, let alone by New York standards. We had a sofa, a massive bay window, flatscreen tv, microwave..everything anybody could ever want! We had free wifi in the rooms which allowed us to Skype our relatives and book restaurants near the hotel on OpenTable each night. A tip we would give is to venture into Hells Kitchen which is near the hotel, the restaurant selection in this area is second to none and great value (if you like Thai food Yum Yum Toos in Hells Kitchen is only a number of blocks away and had great food at reasonable prices).

I am so impressed with this hotel and the effort that was made by each and every staff member to make our New York experience the best that it could be. I particularly would like to thank Laura Maldonado for including comments on our reservation that it was my birthday and that we would like a room on a higher floor. We will be recommending this hotel to all of our friends, colleagues and family and I hope to return again soon!

Room Tip: Highest Room possible, away from elevator/vending machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill_Dublin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,733
    2,425
    477
    127
    84
See reviews for
2,087
2,361
354
796
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed in this hotel a few times, last time for brief business visit. It is just very practical and offers excellent value for money. Location is really great, close to Times Square and Theaters, but just a bit away from the real busy areas. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are just fine; nothing exciting, but clean and with all necessary amenities. No bar or restaurant. But who needs a bar or restaurant when you are in NYC; there are plenty of places to go. There even is a connected restaurant next door, where I had one good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FD-GSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estela L, Guest Experience Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear MDC3941,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay to our property. We are delighted that you found our rooms to be clean and spacious.

We are located in the center of many of New York City’s most famous attractions including Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building and much more.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Estela Lopez
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
790 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646-710-5713| Fax: 212-974-0291
Estela.Lopez@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karnack, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The service at this hotel was beyond expectations. The front desk, bellman, concierge, and housekeeping went above and beyond. I recommend this hotel to everyone. It is in an excellent location for Broadway and Times Square.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judyroo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Place, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A good Hilton hotel. They have managed to operate well without significant exposure on the street. Our guests had trouble finding the entrance. With tight street access valet parking worked well. Everyone was pleasant and the service could not be faster. Even at 9:30 in the evening the engineer was there immediately to train us on how to deal with the cumbersome problems with the TV. The room book did not accurately reflect the TV menu so that was hit and miss. Pixelating on the TV reflects signal problems. Bed was not hard enough for me but that's a personal thing. Again, rapid and pleasing service is beyond any experience. If not for the limited street access and the stupid TV stuff, this place would be five star.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

NYC hotels are expensive in general. For the price, this Hilton provides reasonably sized accommodations and also free wifi and Starbucks coffee.

On the negative side of things, the rooms could use a bit of updating, and there are signs of age to the bathroom.

Nonetheless the beds are quite comfortable, place is clean. Considering the location (times square) sound proofing from the outdoors is reasonable, although the loud sirens from police/fire vehicles will still be audible, and there is some rumbling from the underground subway. But not intrusive.

Helpful?
Thank Optokeener
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This Hilton Garden Inn does exactly what it says on the wrapper. Don't expect swimming pools and gold-plated taps. Do expect great service and the most fantastic breakfast in the adjoining restaurant, and clean rooms. And if you are a hhonors member, there are great benefits to staying here as well. You can walk everywhere from here, bar lower Manhattan - and the subway is 50 yards away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dclookalike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Situated in the Theatre District, this hotel is 1 block from Times Square, a few blocks from Central Park - a great location for exploring New York. Compared with our first visit to New York in 1999 (when we stayed at the New Yorker Hotel) this time we found people to be much more welcoming, helpful and friendly.

Staff at the Hilton couldn't have been more helpful and our room was clean and comfortable. there aws a bit of noise from the Subway, but this is New York - if you are likely to be disturbed by a bit of subway noise, then perhaps New York is not where you should go - or do what we do - use ear plugs, which work for snoring and subway.

Reading some of the other comments - I think all travellers need to think about what they want a hotel to provide. New York is such an interesting city, with so much to see and do, that we only need a hotel room to have beds to sleep in, to be clean and for the staff to be welcoming and helpful - and all that certainly applies to this Hilton. We didn't go to New York to watch TV in our hotel room, to use the microwave and so on. Decide what is important and let the hotel know that's what you need - anything else is not really that important.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, if the things I've highlighted are the things that matter to you.

Room Tip: If you want a view, you will have to select a higher floor (and probably pay more).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,540 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,279 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#167 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,229 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,956 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing