We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #144 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

NYC hotels are expensive in general. For the price, this Hilton provides reasonably sized accommodations and also free wifi and Starbucks coffee.

On the negative side of things, the rooms could use a bit of updating, and there are signs of age to the bathroom.

Nonetheless the beds are quite comfortable, place is clean. Considering the location (times square) sound proofing from the outdoors is reasonable, although the loud sirens from police/fire vehicles will still be audible, and there is some rumbling from the underground subway. But not intrusive.

Thank Optokeener
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,182)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,020 - 4,026 of 7,182 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

This Hilton Garden Inn does exactly what it says on the wrapper. Don't expect swimming pools and gold-plated taps. Do expect great service and the most fantastic breakfast in the adjoining restaurant, and clean rooms. And if you are a hhonors member, there are great benefits to staying here as well. You can walk everywhere from here, bar lower Manhattan - and the subway is 50 yards away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dclookalike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Situated in the Theatre District, this hotel is 1 block from Times Square, a few blocks from Central Park - a great location for exploring New York. Compared with our first visit to New York in 1999 (when we stayed at the New Yorker Hotel) this time we found people to be much more welcoming, helpful and friendly.

Staff at the Hilton couldn't have been more helpful and our room was clean and comfortable. there aws a bit of noise from the Subway, but this is New York - if you are likely to be disturbed by a bit of subway noise, then perhaps New York is not where you should go - or do what we do - use ear plugs, which work for snoring and subway.

Reading some of the other comments - I think all travellers need to think about what they want a hotel to provide. New York is such an interesting city, with so much to see and do, that we only need a hotel room to have beds to sleep in, to be clean and for the staff to be welcoming and helpful - and all that certainly applies to this Hilton. We didn't go to New York to watch TV in our hotel room, to use the microwave and so on. Decide what is important and let the hotel know that's what you need - anything else is not really that important.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, if the things I've highlighted are the things that matter to you.

Room Tip: If you want a view, you will have to select a higher floor (and probably pay more).
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have stayed at the Hilton Times Square, the DoubleTree and now the Hilton Garden Inn. The Hilton Garden Inn was in a great location on 8th Street with lots of shops and eateries near by. It was one street away from Broadway, so seemed a bit quieter. I loved the bed and had a nice view of the city.

A couple of quirks: Instead of giving me water in my room they had a voucher to turn in, that was a bit strange, I thought, but still better than nothing. Staff was very nice and check in a breeze. One star deduction because they were really slow in picking up the phone when I called to ask a question about taxis being available. First call was at 9pm, second at 10pm and finally they picked up when I called at 11pm. As these don't seem like busy check in times, I would have thought that they would have picked up their phones! And this was mid-week, not on a weekend.

Aside from that, everything was nice and the room was a nice size with a microwave and minifridge. Also free wifi, which I love. If I was a tourist, I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyDTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here for one night, thank god ! Room was messy, hairs on covers and dirty band aid on the floor! Air con didn't work and also the microwave didn't work. We spent most of the stay calling down to the reception and having cleaners technicians and maids in and out of the room! Terrible!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ym81tlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Ym81tlv

Thank you for the recent feedback about your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Times Square. It will give us opportunity to review the areas that need to be improved.
I am really disappointed to hear that the room did not meet your expectations. This is not the accommodations and service that we strive to deliver. I would love to get more feedback in order to make amends and turn things right in order to make you happy.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Joanna Butcher
Guest Experience Manager
212-581-7000
joanna.butcher@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Large beds, great (but expensive) breakfast, superb service! Location is very nice, in a quieter street, right next to Empire state building and Macy's. Only negative thing to say about the room is the Airconditioning that is (or at least was in our room) quite noisy..

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannu85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed 3 nites in the Marriott Marque and then 3 nites at the Hilton Garden Inn. Both were great locations, totally different atmosphere. We love the beds at the Hilton - room as a little older - but still had plenty of amenities. It did like coming in thru a lobby and people great you coming and going. Room was quiet and clean - staff was very pleasant and helpful. I would definitely stay again. The great advantage is the French restaurant next door - Pigalle - remined us so much of Paris. Great food - croissants like in Paris - different from US. We ate there every morning! Fantastic atmosphere - made the hotel stay even better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spidersuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 468 in New York City
11,493 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#183 of 468 in New York City
8,062 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#110 of 468 in New York City
6,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 468 in New York City
9,661 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#162 of 468 in New York City
5,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $172 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing