We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #152 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Recently stayed two nights on Hilton Points. Received messages from the hotel staff ahead of time, asking about my needs and expectations. My requests were satisfied, no problems. Hotel staff were very accommodating. Everything worked in the room. Not total luxury, but very satisfactory, clean, and reasonable size for Manhattan. Hotel is in great location; short walk to Times Square, theatres, a zillion restaurants, subway, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,823
    2,511
    501
    132
    90
See reviews for
2,177
2,426
360
818
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Excellent location ... theater, restaurants, shopping, etc. just outside the hotel lobby. Great hotel amenities, including restaurant/bar, snack shop, and gym. Clean rooms and top-notch service. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

All staff was helpfull and very kind. Ms. Lopes contacted me before the arrival and had a gift bag for us in our room. She is one of a kind and made our stay a memorable one. Next to the hotel is a restaurant and the hotel breakfast is served there. They have an excellent selection on the buffet.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The hotel location is perfect and you can acces the metro stations or buses very easy.

I recommend this hotel and praise the personnel that work there.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Floresmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great location - near Times Square and most of the Broadway venues. Rooms on the smallish side, but we did get upgraded to an upper floor. Very clean, good beds, nice HDTV, and the staff were very courteous and friendly. Within walking distance of Rockefeller Center; we also walked to the Intrepid Museum where the space shuttle is housed, but it's quite a ways for those not used to walking.

TIP: There's a Food Emporium half a block away where we bought muffins and fruit and juice for our breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My boyfriend took me away to New York for a romantic weekend and it was fantastic!
The hotel was great, the staff extremely friendly and it just made for a great weekend.
Now we know where we will stay next time we are in the Big Apple!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vixmaclean78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Absolutely superb from the moment we walked in the door. We made a quick trip to NYC for our anniversary to see a Broadway show, and chose this hotel for multiple reasons - a recommendation from a friend, the location, and the outstanding deal (40K HHonors points).

We drove in - there is a valet parking garage right next door that is $30 per 24hrs ($45 without hotel validation). It's run separately from the hotel, so the desk won't call your car down for you, so upon our departure there was a slight wait.

I'd put a note on the reservation that this was our anniversary, and we were just overwhelmed by how the hotel staff responded. We were greeted by a doorman as soon as we walked in, and the front desk clerk was extremely friendly, efficient and helpful, wishing us a happy anniversary and making sure we didn't need any extra assistance. A HHonors associate welcomed us again as we walked to the elevator, and a bellman offered help with luggage. The hotel upgraded our room to a corner room on the 14th floor, and when we arrived in the room, we found a gift bag with a card, two champagne flutes, and a bottle of champagne! Now remember, we hadn't paid anything for this room except Hhonors points and parking.

The room itself was nice and on the large side for NYC. Not brand-spanking-new, but perfectly clean and in great shape. The bathroom was spotless. The view out the large windows was typical for the area - we could see a glimpse of the Hudson, but mostly the city. Street noise was apparent but not loud. Lower floors might be louder, but they may have more soundproofing down there as well. It's part of the city.

The previous month, our friends had asked the concierge for a recommendation for an Italian restaurant for a romantic pre-show dinner. That recommendation - La Masseria - was a knockout. It's right around the corner on 48th, and is some of the best authentic Italian we've had outside of Italy (their wine list is equally superb). From the hotel or the restaurant, the Broadway theaters are a 5 minute walk, so 6pm reservations worked great - we left just in time to walk up to will call as the doors opened at 7:30. No waiting in line for the box office, and we were given our tickets and shuttled inside within 30 seconds of walking up to the Majestic!

After the show, we walked Times Square for a while before returning to the hotel. Again, we were greeted cheerfully, and this time, a doorman was stationed at the elevators to check room keys for some level of security.

Our late checkout request (1pm) was granted without difficulty the next morning, allowing us a stroll through the streets (after picking up our complimentary Starbucks coffee in the lobby) to find a bagel maker and do some window shopping before heading out of the city. The housekeeping staff was very pleasant and each one we passed greeted us. Checkout was painless - our bill for $0 was slipped under the door early in the morning, so I called the desk, dropped our keys in the slot on the way out, and walked to the garage. Several staff members greeted us on our way out and asked us to return.

To top it off, the "Customer Experience" manager contacted us a few days later to make sure everything was OK with our stay. We'll definitely be back!

I can't rate the fitness center - we normally use them but this was a quick trip - or the restaurant, as we obviously ate elsewhere. If I was to change anything in the hotel, it would be to work out coordination between the desk and the parking garage, but that really wasn't a big deal at all.

This is my first review on tripadvisor - the over-the-top hospitality and courtesy we experienced drove me to join and comment.

Room Tip: Higher floors always are better in the city - every hotel in NYC is near a fire station, and sirens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We arrived early in the day and our room was ready! Microwave and fridge in room was a nice addition. It's a great location within a block of 3 subway entrances. Nice size room for NYC. There also was a bar across the street called "Social" that had $5 cosmos and $3 beer during happy hour which was until 10:00 pm

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_b_5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
11,337 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#109 of 467 in New York City
6,773 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#188 of 467 in New York City
9,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#177 of 467 in New York City
7,972 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#166 of 467 in New York City
5,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing