We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved By the Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #142 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2011

After, an horrible experience with a local hotel located close to Laguarda Airport (New York), I had to get a rescue hotel to rest. An that came in the form of the the Hilton. I was able to rest and de-stress. I also made up my mind to never pay for local hotel accommodations when I travel. But, I will only do American (4 or 5 stars), well known hotels like Hiton, Westin, etc...... And plan ahead, like 2 to 3 months out for better deals.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bondine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,185)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,659 - 4,665 of 7,185 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2011

Arrived at hotel after long flight from London and seemingly longer taxi journey from Newark airport to receive a very warm welcome from all staff at the reception. Check in was quick and we were offered the traditional cookies and also complimentary breakfasts - fantastic start to our three days in New York. Room was spacious, bed huge and very comfortable - usual Hilton standards. The location was brilliant for an easy walk (some in a matter of a few minutes) to the major attractions - Central Park, Times Square, Empire State, Grand Central, Rockefeller, Broadway etc. and the Gray bus line's offices and bus stop were just down the road. If I ever get to return to New York I would defintely stay here again.

DJR November 2011

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This was my first time visiting NYC and we wanted a place with a central location and this hotel was great. We were only a few blocks from Times Square, several broadway theaters and had several bars and restaurants nearby. Everyone we spoke to said the hotel rooms in NYC are usually very small but this one was great. The bathroom was a good size and we had THE most comfortable bed. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamaicaFan017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We had a weekend trip to NYC and decided to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn in Times Square based off of the reviews here and some good word of mouth. This turned out to be a wonderful hotel and I couldn't be more happy with our choice.

First and foremost; location location location! The hotel is on the corner of 48th and 8th and is very convenient to Times Square (only a block over) PLUS there is a subway stop at 50th street. That subway goes straight up to Central Park and straight down to the World Trade Center....it couldn't be any easier!

We were in room 1504 (top floor) and the room was in great shape. Very clean. Nothing fancy, but your typical HGI room. It's not huge, but for NYC standards it's actually a good size. I would recommend asking for as high of a floor as possible because there is some street noise from down below. We didn't hear much, only the occasional siren from a passing fire truck. It wasn't bad, but the room wasn't as soundproof as the Sofitel is (another excellent choice, but at twice the price). There is a in room safe, a microwave, fridge and coffee pot. Many NYC hotels don't offer coffee pots or a fridge, so that's a real plus here.

We didn't use the concierge but I did see him in action and listened to him help others and I was impressed. The bellhop was exceptional and did an amazing job helping us with our luggage and securing us a cab when we needed it.


Again, great location, very clean and solid hotel. Exceptional staff. Priced very reasonable for what you get.

Trust me, stay here...you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Highest floor possible, avoid the street noise...the rooms are totally soundproof.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freehike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We just returned from a wonderful holiday weekend in NYC. We can't say enough good things about the Hilton Garden Inn hotel and its staff. The staff was cordial, helpful and always willing to answer our questions and give assistance. If you want convenience, this is the place to stay - there's a subway station across the street, a small grocery on the corner, (there's a small fridge in the room) and lots of restaurants in the area and it's close to the theatres. We definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loves_snowflakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Stayed here in Nov 2011 for a friends wedding in NYC. Saw reviews on here and they spoke highly of the hotel. Was not let down, spotless rooms, all staff very polite and friendly and the breakfast buffet is fantastic value for money which we booked as part of our trip. A bit further out than we have stayed previously but only by a few blocks or so but with all the excess eating we do when we go over there the extra exercise was needed to keep the lbs off!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bern0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Guess not too great with family but great for a single traveller to be close to everything. didnt eat here, but could have, wanted to explore so ate at some good places close by... would most definitely recommend,

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anju2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 468 in New York City
11,503 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#184 of 468 in New York City
8,075 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 468 in New York City
9,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#114 of 468 in New York City
6,857 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#161 of 468 in New York City
5,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $165 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing