We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Ranked #146 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

We had a wonderful stay. Our room was clean and spacious, with a wonderful, fun, busy street view. Location is great, just a couple blocks from the part of Times Square you see on t.v. We were greeted as soon as we arrived from our airport shuttle by a very friendly and courteous sevice team. Charles, one of the service attendants, helped us with our luggage. He is one of the friendliest, kindest, most helpful service attendants my fiance and I have ever met! He gave us tips on where to shop and even which shoes would be more comfortable in the NY summer heat. We arrived too early to check in (around 8 am) and the staff was kind enough to hold our luggage for us until our room was ready. The housekeeping staff was also friendly and helpful, the restaurant is wonderful, and taxi cabs and convenience abound. We had a great stay overall. HIghly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santacruzsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,713
    2,397
    474
    124
    83
See reviews for
2,071
2,341
347
786
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed four night at the end of May. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful with sorting out everything from Broadway tickets to explaining the subway!! Bedrooms were very clean and cleaned to a high standard throughout our stay. Bed was very comfortable and perfect for recharging ready for the next day. The only down side we found to the room was that the curtains did not actually shut! there was voile inbetween but this ment it was quite light. For us this was not really a problem as we were up early each morning anyway. Location was amazing, so close to times square but far enough away to not have noise. Lots of subway stops within 2 minutes walk providing easy access to all of New York. Lots of shops resturants, pubs, and of course broadway right on the door step also. Would stay theer again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRobison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

My daughter and I stayed two nights here over Memorial Day weekend and there is nothing about the stay I would change. Before our arrival, the guest services folks emailed me and asked if there was anything in advance they could help us with. Upon arrival from a red eye, they held on to our bags and provided a key to the restroom so that we could change and then go explore the city. Several hours later our room was ready and we received a phone call giving us the thumbs up to check in. Here are a few highlights of the hotel:
- Great location. You are only a couple of blocks from Times Square [this is a GOOD thing because Times Square is NOISY and CROWDED. If you want some peace, don't stay directly IN Times Square].
- The hotel sits near the Hell's Kitchen area which is home to EXCELLENT restaurants [don't eat IN Times Square with the tourists or you'll be eating at chain restaurants]. Hit the Five Napkin burger - we heard it's great but couldn't make it over there. If you want a 15-20 minute morning stroll hit La Grainne in Chelsea for breakfast [French crepes, etc]- yumm!
- The hotel was perfectly clean and fresh - NO sign of bed bugs at ALL. The rooms were clean, the linens were fresh, and the amenities in the bathroom were great [shampoo, conditioner, mouthwash, etc]
- You are a 20 minute walk from Penn Station [or $10 w/ tip for a cab]. You are also a 15 minute walk from 5th Avenue and Central Park [same about $10 for a cab w/ tip]. A smidge shorter to Rockefeller Center.
- You are 3 blocks from Wicked, 1 block from Book of Mormon, and 1-4 blocks from other Broadway shows
- Room has a fridge, microwave, coffee pot.
- 100 ft out the door is a small market. Perfect for a snack or grocery items
- Wireless internet IN the room - perfect for my fellow Ipad users
Don't pass this place up. They really want to make your stay awesome and they sure did for my daughter and me.

Room Tip: Higher floor = less subway noise if u care
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AZTrackMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

The Hilton Garden Inn in New York Times Square is an exceptional Hilton Family Hotel. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants, Lincoln Center, Broadway Show Scene, Central Park and much more. The staff is just exceptional. The restaurant in the hotel, Pigalle is excellent. Free Business Center with Internet, copier, fax and printer. Free coffee in the morning and cookies in the afternoon.

Every time I entered and exited the hotel a hotel employee would greet me with a Hello or Goodbye or "Can I help you?"

The rooms were impeccable and the service from the front desk to the bar to housekeeping was truly exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocomakai75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

I had to be in New York at the last minute, so with less than a week to make a reservation I braced myself to pay a stratospheric price for a broom closet (which had occurred a few weeks prior). But my internet search turned up $114 for the Sunday of Memorial Day weekend. This rate was offered in several places, including the hotel's website. Tripadvisor reviews eased my mind about cleanliness and security. I arrived at noon and was immediately checked in and given an upgrade to a king room facing 9th Ave. I'd like to say I did something to receive this treatment, but no, the front desk clerk was just that nice. The room was huge by New York standards. No, they don't have a magnifying mirror in the bathroom or a robe hanging on the door, but they do have free internet and I was given coupons for two bottles of water from the lobby store. How refreshing! No bottles of water in the room with $6 price tags. I was in and out at all hours over a 24 hour period, and the various employees were without fail courteous and helpful, particularly Charles at the Bell Captain's desk. Yes, other reviewers, this hotel is really clean! And as a single woman I felt absolutely safe, even coming in very late at night. I don't write many reviews, but the Hilton Garden Inn, Times Square is doing one heck of a job. It's my new go-to hotel in New York, and I would be inclined to pay more than double the ridiculously low price I lucked out with to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyjane326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

If you look for a solid hotel in midtown Manhattan, this one should qualify. It's very close to Times Square and in fairly easy walking distance to Central Park (for Europeans, anyway).
Our room (king, evol room - see their homepage) was spacious not just by NYC standards but looked out onto a brick wall. Try to get 9th Ave views. Bed was comfortable and both room and bathroom were as clean as you'd expect.
Though there are quite a few eating places in the vicinity (46th just 3mins away, a well-stacked "food emporium" across the street), you might as well try their own restaurant Pigalle. Judging by the terrific breakfast buffett we had (with some of the best French toast sampled so far) it's a good bet.
In the age of grade inflation, a four-rating is sometimes seen as a thrashing in disguise, but I mean the "decent hotel" in the headline in a good way.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steinbeck1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

For a first time trip to New York City and unsure what to expect, we were pleasantly surprised by the employees of this hotel. The staff was extremely helpful from the check in through our check out. They were very eager to assist us at every turn from things forgotten to reataurants and shows. The rooms were large enough to relax in and the beds were so comfortable we wanted to take one home.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,463 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,178 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,181 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,846 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Times Square

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Address: 790 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-7568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is a modern hotel with best Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Restaurant Row, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, famous 42nd Street and much more. Located on Eighth Avenue at 48th Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is in the midst of New York City’s best restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and shopping. Hilton Garden Inn Times Square is walking distance to all major subway lines, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Carnegie Hall, the Museum of Modern Art, Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 369 oversized, contemporary-styled guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include Pigalle Restaurant and Lounge (a 1950’s style Paris café that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner), XVI Rooftop Lounge (the only Hilton Garden Inn in Manhattan with a rooftop bar!), evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Manhattan
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn New York
Times Square Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing