We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #274 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Staff is wonderful - rooms were really nice and great location. Easy access to all the important locations and food/drinks are right across the street. The price and quality of room compliment each other well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

848 - 854 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

My room was very small, but comfortable. When I am in NYC, I am not there to hang out in a hotel room; I am there to see shows and sights. The room and price were perfect for me, and the location was great-- away from the crowdedness of Times Square but still convenient to all the theatres and restaurants. Plus, it's in Hell's Kitchen, which is great for gay night life!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Douglas J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was our first trip to NYC. My husband contacted a travel agent who recommended the Washington Jefferson Hotel. We were very happy with our accommodations! The room was perfect-king bed, full bath and a small couch and the price was affordable. We requested a mini refrigerator, told they couldn't guarantee it and it was in our room upon check-in. They graciously stored our bags prior to check-in, gave us a lunch recommendation and sent us on our way. The entire staff was pleasant and helpful! We had plenty of questions and the staff always assisted with directions or recommendations. I would stay here again and highly recommend it. There were only two downsides-1) the elevator was small, this was easily rectified-we always used the stairs! 2) some of the hotel patrons sat on the front steps of the hotel to smoke.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Lovely centrally located hotel. We walked to all the main Broadway and New York attractions from the hotel such as time square, central park, empire state building etc. Rooms are on the small side but that is expected in New York. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

WJ is close enough to times square to walk to plays at night, but no hustle & bustle outside of your door. 2 subway stations in a blocks walk on 8th. Very clean & will stay at again. Staff was helpful with transportation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

simple small clean rooms, central location - walking distance to times square. Nice and friendly staff - helped when we needed something.
No coffee machine in room but close to many cafes and bakeries. Small but functional gym and right next to many restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tarang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Nice clean hotel. Very small room, but clean bed & bathroom. Nice amenities & maid service every day. Only there to sleep & shower. Quiet street. Walking distance 10 min approx to Times Square & so many of the Theatres. Walked to Central Park too. Staff nice. Door men very pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waltdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#263 of 470 in New York City
1,255 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#200 of 470 in New York City
3,456 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#232 of 470 in New York City
5,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Mansfield
The Mansfield
#349 of 470 in New York City
1,864 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#358 of 470 in New York City
4,449 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#370 of 470 in New York City
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Jefferson Hotel

Address: 318 W 51st St, New York City, NY 10019-6499
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#177 Business Hotel in New York City
#207 Family Hotel in New York City
#209 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $120 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Jefferson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone has a New York story. What will be yours?The Washington Jefferson Hotel beckons with comfortable, unpretentious accommodations, a warm staff and an exceptional, customer-oriented experience. Stay in one of our 135 rooms and suites equipped with complimentary wireless Internet access, Frette linens and towels, iPod docking stations, a daily copy of The New York Times, luxury bathroom amenities and flat-screen HDTVs.Discover an NYC boutique hotel that is both pleasantly tucked away and yet right in the middle of the action. The WJ is one of the most conveniently located hotels near Times Square, just steps from the best of Broadway shows and musicals, as well as Restaurant Row, Central Park, Rockefeller Center and various other attractions. Whether you are here to make big business deals or gaze upon the city’s legendary sights, the WJ Hotel is here to help write your ideal New York story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Jefferson
Washington Jefferson Hotel New York
Washington Jefferson New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing