We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Bowl experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #266 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super Bowl experience”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was my third trip to NYC and my second to WJH. We came deliberately for the Super Bowl weekend and were not disappointed. The hotel was just as I remembered it to be and both my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    772
    307
    114
    74
See reviews for
274
650
289
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was our second stay at the Washington Jefferson Hotel and we will definitely return in the future. As many others have stated before us--the Location cannot be beat! It is close to the Subway (1 block away) which will take you Uptown or Downtown quickly. Broadway shows are as close as the next block up or 6 to 7 blocks away--all within walking distance. There are more delicious restaurants within walking distance than you can choose from; offering all types of cuisine. The downside of the hotel is the beds and the heat. The beds are harder than I would typically prefer, although after a busy day walking around New York City I have to admit I had little trouble falling asleep. Although it was cold outside, the heat inside of our room could not be controlled and it was unbearably hot. Luckily the windows opened slightly so we were able to control the temperature by keeping them open throughout the day and night. The upside---there are many positives. From the moment the bell hop opens the front door you are recognized warmly and welcomed to the hotel by an amazing staff. The front desk welcomed us, checked us in efficiently, answered all of our questions and upgraded us to a better complimentary room. We were grateful for the larger room during our 3-day stay. The cost was a HUGE plus--such a good deal to stay in nice accommodations, within close proximity to the things we wanted to do. Having stayed here before we received notice of "winter specials" which included February School Vacation week--we couldn't have been happier. Check-out was equally easy. Once again we were offered any help that we needed--luggage storage while we grabbed lunch, a call for transportation to wherever we were going, directions to get to Penn station on the subway etc.
In spite of the few "downsides" there were far more upsides. I would recommend this hotel to other's considering it and we will definitely be back to stay again the next time we visit NYC.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Music4U4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Fantastic friendly staff, perfectly situated hotel at a reasonable price. We were walking distance to almost everything. There is so much to do in NY that we will be back again and again. I am a big fan!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I took my husband away for the weekend on Feb 8-10. I found this hotel on Expedia and then checked it out further on Trip Adviser. The price, location and reviews sold me on it. We came from NJ, so we had hopped on NJ Transit train to Penn Station and then took a very short subway ride to 50th St. Station. The hotel was only 3 minutes away, walking distance from the subway entrance. VERY CONVENIENT! We were greeted so nicely by Naomi and she upgraded us from a standard room to a Jr suite. All of the other staff members were very friendly and helpful as well, (CUSTOMER SERVICE IS SO IMPORTANT) The room was super clean and very nice. Queen bed. Desk and chair. Another sitting chair in bedroom area. Flat screen TV on wall. Sitting Area had 2 comfy chairs. Table in between. 2nd Flat screen TV on wall. Closet with safe, ironing board, iron and hair dryer. Bathroom was very nicely done in tile. Super clean. Fluffy, soft, thick towels and the shower head's water pressure was like Niagara Falls. It was wonderful! The only things I would've changed about this hotel experience was the mattress on our bed. It was very firm, with little give and I'm used to being embraced by my mattress, but this is only a preference, not a negative. And there were no vending or ice machines in the hotel so you have to go to the Rite aid for water or snacks but its conveniently located only about a block away. We would definitely stay there again and probably will.

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor in the back of the hotel. Very quiet. Great room. Room number 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamPKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Just got here, rooms are very basic, no room to put clothes away, bed very hard, bathroom door doesn't close, windows don't keep road noise out. Overall not that impressed, hotel seems cheap and in my personal opinion missing some key features.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarkC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The WJH is very conveniently located in the Times Square vicinity--close to countless restaurants and tourist sites. My room was cozy and relatively quiet. The management and staff were top-notch--among the best--I really enjoyed meeting and getting to know them. Excellent Experience!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Very satisfied with everything!! Beds and pillows could be more comfortable. They were too hard for my comfort level!! Everyone was very helpful and courteous!! I would highly recommend to family and friends and will definitely stay there again!!




  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#255 of 466 in New York City
1,218 reviews
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#336 of 466 in New York City
3,177 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#135 of 466 in New York City
5,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#358 of 466 in New York City
893 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#196 of 466 in New York City
784 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#74 of 466 in New York City
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Jefferson Hotel

Property: Washington Jefferson Hotel
Address: 318 W 51st St, New York City, NY 10019-6499
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Business Hotel in New York City
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Jefferson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone has a New York story. What will be yours?The Washington Jefferson Hotel beckons with comfortable, unpretentious accommodations, a warm staff and an exceptional, customer-oriented experience. Stay in one of our 135 rooms and suites equipped with complimentary wireless Internet access, Frette linens and towels, iPod docking stations, a daily copy of The New York Times, luxury bathroom amenities and flat-screen HDTVs.Discover an NYC boutique hotel that is both pleasantly tucked away and yet right in the middle of the action. The WJ is one of the most conveniently located hotels near Times Square, just steps from the best of Broadway shows and musicals, as well as Restaurant Row, Central Park, Rockefeller Center and various other attractions. Whether you are here to make big business deals or gaze upon the city’s legendary sights, the WJ Hotel is here to help write your ideal New York story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Washington Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Jefferson
Washington Jefferson Hotel New York
Washington Jefferson New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing