We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #276 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were in town for the weekend to see the Rocketts, which was a short straight walk from the hotel. We were booked in the front of the hotel on the 6th floor. You did get street noise at night, but not to the point that it kept u awake. The rooms are small. We had one with 2 queen size beds and it was fine for two of us. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom is very small, but room enough to shower in. How big do you need the bathroom to be? The elevator was small and very quaint, but it worked. Again how big do you need it to be. The entire place was clean. The staff was amazing. They excel in customer service, especially Nady and Bobby. You were treated in A+ fashion. Recommend this hotel highly. The fitness room had a treadmill and bike, but we weren't there to work out.

Room Tip: If you need quiet to sleep and if old elevators scare you, ask for a room in the back and on the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

995 - 1,001 of 1,870 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

We booked our room through Hotwire and as we have found with other Hotwire bookings, you get the substandard room with issues. Our issues were the tiny size of the room, the rock hard bed and the steam heat which you could not turn off. We had to run the air conditioning on high just to have the room a tolerable temperature. The good thing with having the air conditioner on was that it covered the noise from the street, being in the front of the hotel on the second floor. The prices were jacked because the marathon was the next weekend I guess. The staff were pleasant and the hotel was clean and the location was great but I would not recommend this to anyone. We did not complain, I feel no one should have to complain to get treated properly and at almost $300 a night.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in the front of the hotel on the second floor. The picture in the ads do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duncan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a problem trying to decide on where to stay in New York for our whirlwind stop. Our priority was to be somewhere convenient to Times Square and the subway. In the end we took a last minute deal via tripwire and got a room at the Washington Jefferson.
We arrived mid afternoon and were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff at reception.
Our room was on the 3rd floor, at the back of the hotel which meant taking the very small (but quite functional) elevator. The room was small but clean and inviting. There were no bed side tables but there was a writing desk and about 2 yards of space at the end of the bed. The bathroom was also small but clean with pleasant decor. The towels were fairly new and fluffy, and there was a selection of toiletries available. The shower was good too. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep each night we stayed here. The free Wifi worked really well in our room.
The back of the hotel was definitely quieter than the front of the hotel, especially later in the evening when the 51st street restaurant and bar scene comes alive (as we discovered upon our return to the hotel).

It was an easy walk down to Times Square from the hotel and 8th Avenue is where we picked up the Hop On Hop Off bus. NYC is full of great eateries and you'll find no shortage of them near the Washington J.

We were kept pretty busy during the day and evening in NYC and the only time we actually spent in the hotel was to sleep, but considering the price of most hotels in NYC, we think we got a good deal and we certainly got a good nights sleep each night - so we were happy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intrepidkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had two rooms over four nights. We got in late and got the noisiest rooms on the 2nd floor. We complained straight away and the staff were very helpful. While we were out the next day they moved us to the third and fourth floors, round the back.

We spent very little time in the hotel, so this was ideal for us. We booked via hotwire and got what we paid for - $100/night is a rarity this close to Times Square.

The accommodation was comfortable, the shower was meager compared to other hotels we have stayed at, but it was enough to have a quick shower and be out in the streets of Manhattan.

There are plenty of deli's and diners as well as some reasonable restaurants.

The staff really made this hotel - a really friendly and conscientious bunch. Their remit is limited but they do stretch to the extremes to make sure they help in whatever way possible.

If you want a clean place to stay at a very reasonable cost and close to all the attractions, this place is it. If however you are looking to spend time in your room and want the bells and whistles like room service etc, then you need to put your hand in your pocket...

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LothianArab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I know this hotel is not for everyone, but for me - the budget-conscious, location-aware younger traveler - this was the perfect spot. This property has personality and when I travel to NYC - I want everything to be memorable and this hotel helped in that endeavor.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here because I got a good rate and let's face if you are spending too much time in a hotel in New York, then something is wrong! It's functional. Staff are extremely helpful and kind. The wifi is free and works well. My room was to the back and was extremely dark. The shower worked well and good supply of shampoo etc. The fitness room is tiny with one treadmill and one weight machine. Two is a crowd, as I discovered. No food service worth talking about but you are right beside 8th avenue.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ducking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I will preface this review with a warning to Timeshare owners - if you are from RCI and got a "deal" to come to this hotel, don't accept it!! It is a huge rip off. I overpaid for the travel certificate to stay at this hotel. The room we got vs. their on line rate was far cheaper. Avoid all timeshare deals to stay here! Timeshare rip offs aside - here is our review.
We were in room 385 - very small room right on 51st street - we read past reviews that said this hotel was off Time Square on a quiet street. Location is great - you can walk everywhere and all subway lines are near by but 51st is not a quiet street. There are several nearby restaurants and bars, so the crowds are out late and the garbage and delivery trucks come at all hours of the night. If someone double parks, you will hear the car horns non - stop. I had to buy ear plugs on our second night just to try and get some sleep. The hotel has been refurbished. Rooms were modestly modern and clean. Bathrooms have been re done. The elevator holds maybe 4 people, so take the stairs. Rooms are small! You have a bed, wall tv and small desk - maybe two feet from the bed to the door and that's it!! If you want space and big comfort, this hotel is not for you. Beds were comfortable with nice linens. Bathroom was tiny - sink was the size of a facecloth but it was fine for two nights. Staff are nice in the lobby but the hotel doesn't offer any extras if you are looking for them. If you plan to stay, splurge for the "bigger rooms" and ask for the courtyard or back rooms - should be quieter. With so many hotel options in NYC, I'm not sure I will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the back or facing the courtyard. You do not want your windows on 51st. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RanleighReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#264 of 470 in New York City
1,257 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#199 of 470 in New York City
3,464 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#230 of 470 in New York City
5,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Mansfield
The Mansfield
#349 of 470 in New York City
1,865 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#357 of 470 in New York City
4,460 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#370 of 470 in New York City
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Jefferson Hotel

Address: 318 W 51st St, New York City, NY 10019-6499
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#177 Business Hotel in New York City
#209 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $118 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Jefferson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone has a New York story. What will be yours?The Washington Jefferson Hotel beckons with comfortable, unpretentious accommodations, a warm staff and an exceptional, customer-oriented experience. Stay in one of our 135 rooms and suites equipped with complimentary wireless Internet access, Frette linens and towels, iPod docking stations, a daily copy of The New York Times, luxury bathroom amenities and flat-screen HDTVs.Discover an NYC boutique hotel that is both pleasantly tucked away and yet right in the middle of the action. The WJ is one of the most conveniently located hotels near Times Square, just steps from the best of Broadway shows and musicals, as well as Restaurant Row, Central Park, Rockefeller Center and various other attractions. Whether you are here to make big business deals or gaze upon the city’s legendary sights, the WJ Hotel is here to help write your ideal New York story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Jefferson
Washington Jefferson Hotel New York
Washington Jefferson New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing