We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in a sauna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #271 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Living in a sauna”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We booked our room through Hotwire and as we have found with other Hotwire bookings, you get the substandard room with issues. Our issues were the tiny size of the room, the rock hard bed and the steam heat which you could not turn off. We had to run the air conditioning on high just to have the room a tolerable temperature. The good thing with having the air conditioner on was that it covered the noise from the street, being in the front of the hotel on the second floor. The prices were jacked because the marathon was the next weekend I guess. The staff were pleasant and the hotel was clean and the location was great but I would not recommend this to anyone. We did not complain, I feel no one should have to complain to get treated properly and at almost $300 a night.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in the front of the hotel on the second floor. The picture in the ads do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    768
    306
    112
    74
See reviews for
268
647
288
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a problem trying to decide on where to stay in New York for our whirlwind stop. Our priority was to be somewhere convenient to Times Square and the subway. In the end we took a last minute deal via tripwire and got a room at the Washington Jefferson.
We arrived mid afternoon and were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff at reception.
Our room was on the 3rd floor, at the back of the hotel which meant taking the very small (but quite functional) elevator. The room was small but clean and inviting. There were no bed side tables but there was a writing desk and about 2 yards of space at the end of the bed. The bathroom was also small but clean with pleasant decor. The towels were fairly new and fluffy, and there was a selection of toiletries available. The shower was good too. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep each night we stayed here. The free Wifi worked really well in our room.
The back of the hotel was definitely quieter than the front of the hotel, especially later in the evening when the 51st street restaurant and bar scene comes alive (as we discovered upon our return to the hotel).

It was an easy walk down to Times Square from the hotel and 8th Avenue is where we picked up the Hop On Hop Off bus. NYC is full of great eateries and you'll find no shortage of them near the Washington J.

We were kept pretty busy during the day and evening in NYC and the only time we actually spent in the hotel was to sleep, but considering the price of most hotels in NYC, we think we got a good deal and we certainly got a good nights sleep each night - so we were happy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had two rooms over four nights. We got in late and got the noisiest rooms on the 2nd floor. We complained straight away and the staff were very helpful. While we were out the next day they moved us to the third and fourth floors, round the back.

We spent very little time in the hotel, so this was ideal for us. We booked via hotwire and got what we paid for - $100/night is a rarity this close to Times Square.

The accommodation was comfortable, the shower was meager compared to other hotels we have stayed at, but it was enough to have a quick shower and be out in the streets of Manhattan.

There are plenty of deli's and diners as well as some reasonable restaurants.

The staff really made this hotel - a really friendly and conscientious bunch. Their remit is limited but they do stretch to the extremes to make sure they help in whatever way possible.

If you want a clean place to stay at a very reasonable cost and close to all the attractions, this place is it. If however you are looking to spend time in your room and want the bells and whistles like room service etc, then you need to put your hand in your pocket...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LothianArab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
532 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I know this hotel is not for everyone, but for me - the budget-conscious, location-aware younger traveler - this was the perfect spot. This property has personality and when I travel to NYC - I want everything to be memorable and this hotel helped in that endeavor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here because I got a good rate and let's face if you are spending too much time in a hotel in New York, then something is wrong! It's functional. Staff are extremely helpful and kind. The wifi is free and works well. My room was to the back and was extremely dark. The shower worked well and good supply of shampoo etc. The fitness room is tiny with one treadmill and one weight machine. Two is a crowd, as I discovered. No food service worth talking about but you are right beside 8th avenue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ducking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I will preface this review with a warning to Timeshare owners - if you are from RCI and got a "deal" to come to this hotel, don't accept it!! It is a huge rip off. I overpaid for the travel certificate to stay at this hotel. The room we got vs. their on line rate was far cheaper. Avoid all timeshare deals to stay here! Timeshare rip offs aside - here is our review.
We were in room 385 - very small room right on 51st street - we read past reviews that said this hotel was off Time Square on a quiet street. Location is great - you can walk everywhere and all subway lines are near by but 51st is not a quiet street. There are several nearby restaurants and bars, so the crowds are out late and the garbage and delivery trucks come at all hours of the night. If someone double parks, you will hear the car horns non - stop. I had to buy ear plugs on our second night just to try and get some sleep. The hotel has been refurbished. Rooms were modestly modern and clean. Bathrooms have been re done. The elevator holds maybe 4 people, so take the stairs. Rooms are small! You have a bed, wall tv and small desk - maybe two feet from the bed to the door and that's it!! If you want space and big comfort, this hotel is not for you. Beds were comfortable with nice linens. Bathroom was tiny - sink was the size of a facecloth but it was fine for two nights. Staff are nice in the lobby but the hotel doesn't offer any extras if you are looking for them. If you plan to stay, splurge for the "bigger rooms" and ask for the courtyard or back rooms - should be quieter. With so many hotel options in NYC, I'm not sure I will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the back or facing the courtyard. You do not want your windows on 51st. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RanleighReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The bed was so small that my feet hung over the end
There was no power in the plug sockets
The TV was angled so you couldn't watch from bed
The room was TINY
The room was dirty
The corridor was a complete mess with paint peeling off the walls
There were no amenities in the room

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lizzy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjhotel, Director of Sales at Washington Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us.
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our accommodations.
We offer a number of different room categories, Petite, Standard, and Deluxe, at different price points. It seems like you’ve stayed in one of our Petite rooms.
For more spacious accommodations, please try our Deluxe or Superior room categories.
We hope you will be back soon in one of our other room categories.
Please stay in touch with us via our website and Facebook for best rates and customer service experience.
Thank you again for choosing the WJ Hotel for your NYC stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#364 of 468 in New York City
884 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#258 of 468 in New York City
1,215 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 468 in New York City
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 468 in New York City
4,987 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#76 of 468 in New York City
1,778 reviews
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#336 of 468 in New York City
3,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Jefferson Hotel

Property: Washington Jefferson Hotel
Address: 318 W 51st St, New York City, NY 10019-6499
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Business Hotel in New York City
#212 Family Hotel in New York City
#213 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Jefferson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone has a New York story. What will be yours?The Washington Jefferson Hotel beckons with comfortable, unpretentious accommodations, a warm staff and an exceptional, customer-oriented experience. Stay in one of our 135 rooms and suites equipped with complimentary wireless Internet access, Frette linens and towels, iPod docking stations, a daily copy of The New York Times, luxury bathroom amenities and flat-screen HDTVs.Discover an NYC boutique hotel that is both pleasantly tucked away and yet right in the middle of the action. The WJ is one of the most conveniently located hotels near Times Square, just steps from the best of Broadway shows and musicals, as well as Restaurant Row, Central Park, Rockefeller Center and various other attractions. Whether you are here to make big business deals or gaze upon the city’s legendary sights, the WJ Hotel is here to help write your ideal New York story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Washington Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Jefferson
Washington Jefferson Hotel New York
Washington Jefferson New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing